• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What budget flight?!

if book siow tien early, oso manyak murah binya ke? ... :confused:

Oi .... lu jangan suka suka chakap hor !!!:mad:

but seriously ST best lah joe ...... last week she wore pink g-string ... tak boleh tahan binya .....:p:p

Oi .... lu jangan suka suka chakap hor !!!:mad:

but seriously ST best lah joe ...... last week she wore pink g-string ... tak boleh tahan binya .....:p:p

tat g-string was originally white..... her menses came tats why turned pink :p

Can't understand how the budget airline business model works.
Perhaps some smarter or more knowledgeable chaps can explain.

Major costs that are similar to normal airlines:
-- cost of planes or depreciation
-- staff costs, e.g. pilots, flight attendents, ground crew, maintenance crew, cleaning crew, etc
-- recurring maintenance and overhaul costs
-- safety measures costs
-- advertising and marketing costs

Minor costs that are perhaps not incurred by budget airlines
-- food and beverages on board
-- costs to administer rewards program
-- costs to change bookings, reservations, etc.
-- costs to ensure timing of flights and customer compensation

Don't tell me the last item is the key which ensures that budget airlines can keep up with normal airlines, taking into account the lower ticket prices?

My hunch - we were grossly overcharged before budget airlines came into the picture.

Can't understand how the budget airline business model works.
Perhaps some smarter or more knowledgeable chaps can explain.

Major costs that are similar to normal airlines:
-- cost of planes or depreciation
-- staff costs, e.g. pilots, flight attendents, ground crew, maintenance crew, cleaning crew, etc
-- recurring maintenance and overhaul costs
-- safety measures costs
-- advertising and marketing costs

Minor costs that are perhaps not incurred by budget airlines
-- food and beverages on board
-- costs to administer rewards program
-- costs to change bookings, reservations, etc.
-- costs to ensure timing of flights and customer compensation

Don't tell me the last item is the key which ensures that budget airlines can keep up with normal airlines, taking into account the lower ticket prices?

They usually have less desirable flight times and berths which are far from the immigration counters.

My hunch - we were grossly overcharged before budget airlines came into the picture.
Probably true, but that still didn't prevent some normal airlines from going bust and some like JAL are still in the midst of restructuring.
That's worrying, as most budget airlines would have lower ticket prices and similar major costs compared to the normal airlines.
I forgot another major cost common to all airlines in my earlier post - fuel.

They usually have less desirable flight times and berths which are far from the immigration counters.
Yes, tks, less desirable flight times and berths would also contribute to lower costs for budget airlines compared to normal airlines.

But considering the common major costs of planes, fuel, staff, maintenance, overhaul, safety, marketing, advertising, I just wonder whether such cost savings for budget airlines + possibly higher passenger load can compensate for much lower ticket prices.

A no-brainer actually. A one hour turn-around flight can carry more than 1000 passengers a day for a 150 seater aircraft. Many budget airlines utilises the power-by-the-hour arrangements, pays much lower landing and parking fees. That is why, within a few years, these operators are so cash-rich, that they expand pretty fast. There are plenty of pilots out of job willing to work for lower wages, airline crews paid pittance (many from 3ed world nations), no frills, no services whatsoever. Many innocent budget travellers tend to have over-weight baggages when boarding and get heavily penalised, a windfall for the operator. Rather than having less than break-even point flight, budget airlines offer cheap fares for early bookings and on the day of flight, fares peak at a premium for latecomers. Therefore budget airlines normally tend to operate between airports that require short distances in order to make a quick retun trip. They also tend to land at times normally shun by bigger airlines, thereby paying lower landing fees.

Yes, tks, less desirable flight times and berths would also contribute to lower costs for budget airlines compared to normal airlines.

But considering the common major costs of planes, fuel, staff, maintenance, overhaul, safety, marketing, advertising, I just wonder whether such cost savings for budget airlines + possibly higher passenger load can compensate for much lower ticket prices.