• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What budget flight?!

dnmgh67

I booked a TR return flight from Guangzhou-Singapore. I paid by credit card. Then I realised the card will charge me in USD. And the US amount is RMB divided by 6.3, a rate far above 6.63. When I tried to call their “hotline" 40 0120 2090 I found out it is a burnt line - no answer except voice recordings.
Next I found out for the same departure time (ie early morning) China Southern's price is USD 12 more only, but the latter includes in flight meals.
I feel fooled and realise that the son of a super international national airline cannot be "cheap" (my synonym for budget).
So don't be fooled, no budget flight from Tiger Airways.

in order to lower price, one ceo was heard behind closed door saying _ one pilot is enough woh, since the plane can be on auto fly by itself

don't quote me hor, and don't ask who's the ceo :eek:

in order to lower price, one ceo was heard behind closed door saying _ one pilot is enough woh, since the plane can be on auto fly by itself

Who is the CEO ? :rolleyes:

kukubird

shit, again : The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.

kukubird

shit, again : The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.

nabeiii...uncle botak, don't be lazy lah.....
kukubird58 is just nice 10 characters

Tiger is one of if not the worst of the budget airlines.

Their cock ups are legendary & typical of a govt linked company :D
If you don't believe just look at the past threads in this forum.

This kind of comment would normally comes from someone with engineering background.

right?:D (just guessing)

This kind of comment would normally comes from someone with engineering background.

right?:D (just guessing)
me can oni c dat kind of comment cum from sum1 wif a botak head ... :(

I booked a TR return flight from Guangzhou-Singapore. I paid by credit card. Then I realised the card will charge me in USD. And the US amount is RMB divided by 6.3, a rate far above 6.63. When I tried to call their “hotline" 40 0120 2090 I found out it is a burnt line - no answer except voice recordings.
Next I found out for the same departure time (ie early morning) China Southern's price is USD 12 more only, but the latter includes in flight meals.
I feel fooled and realise that the son of a super international national airline cannot be "cheap" (my synonym for budget).

Walau the co. name Tiger already indicated that they going to eat you up like a tiger liao, you still go and become their prey :D:D

5% spread on exchange rate,that is standard.

I fond UOB the best in terms of exchange rate,their spread is the min,the killer is CITI,cheating all the time!

budget air is only cheap for limited seats and early booking only,,,

last min booking sometimes price is more expensive than standard airline.

friend paid $350 for a one way ticket from hcmc to singapore,,,,,

Try jetstar next time, u will find your dollar is more worth the spend....

totally agreed with that. Its only cheap when booked months before departure. If emergency, I rather u go for other airline..........:)

budget flight =/= lowest flight.

Why do people assume budget airlines are the cheapest?
If they bother to shop around...... they'll find that many regular carriers often have fares that are cheaper than the budget airlines. :D

Spot on. Only budget if booked very early.

the problem is they suka-suka cancel, without much advance notification. cannot be trusted :rolleyes:

Tiger is guilty of that...

Cannot blame...tigers are endangered species...sighting one is far and between. Same for the airline named after it.

Can't understand how the budget airline business model works.
Perhaps some smarter or more knowledgeable chaps can explain.

Major costs that are similar to normal airlines:
-- cost of planes or depreciation
-- staff costs, e.g. pilots, flight attendents, ground crew, maintenance crew, cleaning crew, etc
-- recurring maintenance and overhaul costs
-- safety measures costs
-- advertising and marketing costs

Minor costs that are perhaps not incurred by budget airlines
-- food and beverages on board
-- costs to administer rewards program
-- costs to change bookings, reservations, etc.
-- costs to ensure timing of flights and customer compensation

Don't tell me the last item is the key which ensures that budget airlines can keep up with normal airlines, taking into account the lower ticket prices?