We should love our country - with no strings attached

Maximilian Chua-Heng

Nov 19, 2010
We should love our country - with no strings attached

LIKE Ms Zhong Heng ('I too know what I am fighting for'; last Saturday), I have a diverse heritage as well.

I am an 18-year-old Singapore and American citizen, born and raised in Singapore, with Scottish, English, German, Hokkien, Cantonese and Hakka ancestry.

Ms Zhong's article was in relation to a Nanyang Technological University (NTU) student's remarks that he did not know what he was defending any more with the influx of foreign talent into Singapore. A point raised by Ms Zhong, who is American-born, was similar in tone, though about the United States.

She said: 'After my stint in the US, I no longer had any illusions about the country.'

Her comment perturbed me. Sure, the US is going through tough times now economically, but for better or for worse, it is my country.

I did not choose to be American, I just am. And as long as I am American, I have the obligation to love and serve my country - not because I expect something in return, but because America is my country. Similarly, Singapore will always be my country, and I will never hesitate to defend it. No circumstance could make me consider disowning my nation.

My ancestors settled here and I was born here. As Singaporeans, we may have differing opinions about Singapore becoming a global city, but we must agree on one thing: that this will be our nation, for better or for worse.

Robert William Straughan

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/STIStory_604816.html

KNN ... if I top ten bracket economically .... I also love this country !!!:mad:

reading tis kind of comment on 1 fella's comment on another fella's remarks ...

iz damn confusing man! ... :(

I think the thread starter missed the point and has a brain the size of a pea. Everyone loves their country, it's the ruling party with their policies that cause hardship which people have a problem with. People leave Singapore not because they dislike the country, but they have issues on how it's run. The US is a BIG country with state laws, federal laws...etc. Policies are not felt in the same way as in Singapore, a small citystate.

Poor editing on the part of the ST I must say.

Here's what I gather from the letter.

NTU Student = Sinkie ( not patriotic )
Ms Zhong = American-born Sinkie? ( not patriotic )
Mr Robert = Singapore-born Sinkie-American ( patriotic )

reading tis kind of comment on 1 fella's comment on another fella's remarks ...

iz damn confusing man! ... :(

I think the thread starter missed the point and has a brain the size of a pea. Everyone loves their country, it's the ruling party with their policies that cause hardship which people have a problem with. People leave Singapore not because they dislike the country, but they have issues on how it's run.

I think your're probably talking about pple from another forum. What you just described doesn't apply here :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Why is this ang moh so special,america as well as Spore citizen???

She is Sing PR and American citizen is it? Cannot have duel citizenship...

dual citizenship? the guy not over 22 yet?

i think Robert is trying to say there's country and there's nation.

He should learn the motto of the best this country has to offer

"ASK NOT WHAT YOU CAN DO FOR YOUR COUNTRY BUT HOW MUCH YOUR COUNTRY CAN PAY YOU"