Actually think of 2 scenariosYes I asked my doc to stop doing annual PSA. All it did was stress me out. I had a reading of 1.9 to start off with. Then a couple of years later it went up to 2.5 and I started to get anxious. The next reading was 2 so I relaxed a bit. Then came a reading of 3 and I started freaking out. Turns out it was because I fucked a broad the night before which elavates the readings.
After a few years I decided that it was affecting my quality of life so I don't check anymore. What will be will be. The majority of prostate cancers are slow growing with no symptoms so what the hell. If it does kill me then so be it. After all the end of life bill has been passed in NZ so I can avoid the last few weeks of a cancer death if I so choose.
1. Dr chow kiasu say yes check PSA check DRE. Do transrectal US of prostate. refer Urologist maybe even biopsy. Patient clear no cancer. Or patirnt yes cancer. Can kena sued? Maybe if with biopsy got some urinary incontinence and retrograde ejaculation or pain and urologist didnt warn of these risks when taking consent yeah maybe can sue the surgeon. Will ever SMC or college discipline for being too cautious? Do too many tests? Nah.
2. Dr say follow data. Cocksure. Dont do means dont do. Strong advocate dont screen for prostate cancer. No symptoms. 3 months later symptoms. Biopsy shows high gleason score prostate cancer. Urologist says why didnt do PSA 3 months ago? Current PSA 69. Can sue the GP? Sure can try!
As a dr I prefer to be first one lah.
I can share that not all the patients who encounter Dr James Dickinson are happy with his EBM approach to everything. Some say he isnr listening to them. Impersonal.
In SG i remember being taught we treat patients ie people not numbers and tests ie data.
I agree.