• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

We are not a lion city because other country crest also using lion - Alex Tan

tomychua

12341112_1685007025045115_3235621989077721386_n.jpg

The lion is a common charge in heraldry. It traditionally symbolises bravery, valour, strength, and royalty, because historically it has been regarded as the king of beasts.

Wah lau Alex Tan, you should learn the history on why do lions always appear on crests all over the world before making stupid assumptions like the lion signifies England or Singapore uses it because we are a lion city leh! So much fail sia!

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lion_(heraldry)#Lions_vs._Leopards

Agoraphobic

Doesn't anybody here ever wonder about the animal that the prince saw? Was it really a lion? There are/were no lions in this part of the world. Never was. What the prince saw was something else! Has this ever crossed anybody's mind? Or does everybody readily accept that the animal was a lion? Or a Merlion? (lagi cockup!)

The story I heard was that the animal was atop a rock, and ran away or fled when the people approached. If this event happened, it must have been an animal afraid of humans, large, tannish coloured. My guess, the animal was a Dugong. The city-state could be renamed Dugongpore. Anyone wishing to bring up their own version, please.

it was a mistake by sang nila utama. he did not see a lion on the island. he saw a red mane monkey.

image.jpg

Agoraphobic

That's a tamarin - a member of the New World Primates, not found here either. Monkeys found in Singapore are of the Macaque species (two varieties). Long ago, there may have been Gibbons. And also the legendary Bukit Timah Man, Singapore's sasquatch. If it was a feline that the prince saw, it was more likely a tiger, but again, this was unlikely because the stripes will clearly identify the animal. Or he could have been hallucinating from ingesting some magic mushrooms.

it was a mistake by sang nila utama. he did not see a lion on the island. he saw a red mane monkey.

Agoraphobic

I would describe Singapore as a city-state, however a short while ago, some Taiwanese politician called Singapore as Peesai. Looking around, he is not wrong.

Lion City? Singapore is actually a city or a country? or an orphan island?:biggrin:

He must be hallucinating or high cause singapore is locust city or roach city depending on whichh flavour u prefer.