We are moved up to 5th spot in the world!

We moved up to 5th spot in the world!

SINGAPORE - The Republic has moved up two spots to become the fifth-most expensive city in the world for expatriates, and the second-most pricey location in Asia.

The city-state's high cost of living is due to its strong currency and expensive rental market, according to findings from Mercer's 2013 Cost of Living Survey.

Using New York as the base city, the research ranks 214 cities around the world based on the comparative cost of over 200 items - including housing, transportation, food, clothing, and entertainment.

Mercer has shared the rankings for only the 10 costliest cities.

Because the cost of expatriate housing is typically the biggest expense for employers, Mercer said it "plays an important part" in determining the rankings, accounting for almost a quarter of the overall cost of living basket.

knn .... the poorer segment of society here will bound to suffer !:mad:

It is still AFFORDABLE compare to X Y Z & whatever, we are still CHEAP, we are this, we are the world, we are...very soon, the Shit Times will Leeport & sha port!!

The issue is not how expensive but what you are paying for.

We are paying high price for poor products. Example, packed trains that break down everyday for $2-$3 per trip vs Thailand's empty trains that do not break down for S$0.50.

compliants complaints and more complaints

Singapore is still one of the luckiest places in the world.

Yes, it is still affordable considering the peace,the harmony, the security and the conveniences.

Singapore is still one of the best cities in the world to live in.

5th in the worst possible category.

Actually it should be 1st in most expensive country, considering the fact that there is no social or welfare benefits in this country. One can argue about lower taxes, but then we will be looking at no minimum wage to raise overall wages, high inflation etc.

...and add salt to the wound, they with-hold OUR hard earned CPF money at age 55 !:oIo:

good morning scrooball , how are you? I hope you are good today TGIF!!!

yes, no matter, Singapore still rocks and still ranks as one of the best cities to live in....

good morning scrooball , how are you? I hope you are good today TGIF!!!

yes, no matter, Singapore still rocks and still ranks as one of the best cities to live in....

Good morning to you too. Are you the resident pest that everyone enjoys fucking?

yah lah you and everyone lor
your intellectual prowess damned terkong wan
I very scared of your power
but jw5 seems to hunt you like a prey
you scared or not...are you a pest too?
TGIF! Bless you...Love Not War ok

PM Lee has the naive tot that all our citizens have some mystery sources of income,therefore can live like him,he is still quite stupid in this aspect although very high IQ = some serious problems,according to Brother TonyChat