• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Watching NDP on TV now

SotongMee

My citizenship happens this same day 44 years ago, every birthday is a public holiday, some envy eh?

My 44th birthday is a mixed one, waiting for the casino to start some that I would gainfully employed again. And in the 45th year, economic defense will feature CASINO COWBOY CITY from now, how's that for progress.

Long live the Sinkapoor dream.

same age as SINK CITY???
you are so lucky

so you seen the singapore from kampong to metropolis. call say the great harry lee.

end of NDP, so what do you guys rate the show?

BAD

AVERAGE

GOOD

EXCELLENT?

remember like from 60 to 80's , it was super boring.
then somewhere in late 80 they change for the better

My citizenship happens this same day 44 years ago, every birthday is a public holiday, some envy eh?

My 44th birthday is a mixed one, waiting for the casino to start some that I would gainfully employed again. And in the 45th year, economic defense will feature CASINO COWBOY CITY from now, how's that for progress.

Long live the Sinkapoor dream.

yeah i being to las vegas twice and i dun think sinkies casino will do anything

only 2, and in 2 location

not like the strip or vegas centre

even if you have a job there, it might not last til your retirement.

you heard of internet gambling?

SotongMee

It is a temporary measure, I don't want to make $inful monies for the rest of my pathetic life you know.

Internet gambling is like internet sex, no shiok. Can never beat the real thing.

yeah i being to las vegas twice and i dun think sinkies casino will do anything

only 2, and in 2 location

not like the strip or vegas centre

even if you have a job there, it might not last til your retirement.

you heard of internet gambling?

mercbenz

This year's NDP must be one of the worst in NDP history.

-There's no proper close up on the MCs when they spoke,
-the whole PARADE does not give the viewer a sense of watching a PARADE, -there are too many close up frames instead of a wide angle shot of the whole event
- the 'director' didn't coordinate well the cameras, certain shots were like taken with a personal digital camera
- the commentator keep saying how 'excited' the crowds are, but every time the camera turn to the crowds, it only show semi-interested faces
- how can they not include JBJ's picture and keep sprinkling Older Lee and Ass Loong here and there? Let's face it, how many faces do us Singaporean remember in local politics? Benjamin Shears? David Marshall? JBJ is definitely one that all of us will remember for years to come.
- the TV commentators seems to be at a lost most of the time, last minute find one?
- it got so boring that most of us at the party missed the grand finally, was there one?
- Comedy should belong to 1 or 2 segment, but it's everywhere in the first half of the show.

Verdict: EPIC FAIL!

i_am_belle

don't understand something leh ... why sinkies must shout 'happy birthday singapore' ! hysterically with their mouths open so wide that a full-grown typical singapore cockroach can fly in ?

why can't they just say 'happy birthday singapore' in an upbeat but sensible manner ?

this only happened in recent years - after yr 2000 (yep, when governance started going downhill), never in the 80s or 90s (when PAP was still a good govt) ...

'happy birthday singapore' shouted hysterically ...

sometimes they just shout 'ahhhhh '! is it bcos like typical sinkies their brains are empty and they have nothing to say except 'ahhhhhh' ! ?

i_am_belle

actually a parade shd be a happy joyous RELAXING occassion, but all NDPs look like a display of military might, something north korea would do ? which developed/democratic country display fighter planes, helicopters, parachuters etc to celebrate a happy occasion ? its as if singapore is ruled by military power like burma ...

this, together with the citizens shouting 'happy birthday singapore' like lunatics ... put me off ...

mercbenz

It's really a mystery that a celebration that takes one year to plan and carry out can be this bad.

Are NDP planned by the military? Or by Mediacorpse?

It's really a mystery that a celebration that takes one year to plan and carry out can be this bad.

Are NDP planned by the military? Or by Mediacorpse?

what do you expect? 1 year is very short.

olympic plan for 4 years.

i_am_belle

as usual my annual boycott of NDP ... now watching chinese news and wow ... the mrt stations kallang/citihall/raffles was packed with sweaty smelly bodies, ha ha ...moi was jogging along tree-lined park between 7pm to 8pm ... keeping healthy and breathing fresh air ... how nice ! as global citizen, i don't sing anthem or recite pledge ...

boring

as usual my annual boycott of NDP ... now watching chinese news and wow ... the mrt stations kallang/citihall/raffles was packed with sweaty smelly bodies, ha ha ...moi was jogging along tree-lined park between 7pm to 8pm ... keeping healthy and breathing fresh air ... how nice ! as global citizen, i don't sing anthem or recite pledge ...

i also just finished jog. during the jiby ndp wayang i was watching track & field world tour at cable vision

Didn't expect much actually, but really below standard.

yes it is better to have low expectation
everyone is happier in the end

think of the bright side
we are not like japan,taiwan ,philiphine or china, we dun have massive rain and wind falling on us now.

angry_one

Things i noticed:

The cheers that accompany key segments are not from the crowds, but pre-recorded speakers. Found out when i went to watch NDP rehearsal last time. The crowds don't cheer much.

The silly commentators keep stressing "he crowd is getting excited" "the president is well loved'.... but the images tell another story.

The contingent leader for St John's Ambulance Brigade is very hot!