• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vivian: we bring in FTs to help Sinkies

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>10:33 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>21235.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD>Vivian reassures poly students at dialogue
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Maria Almenoar
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->THE much-discussed topic about Singapore's policy towards admitting foreign talent was raised again at a forum between polytechnic students and Community Development, Youth and Sports Minister Vivian Balakrishnan.
When a male student asked why foreigners were being allowed to compete with Singaporeans for jobs, Dr Balakrishnan shot back - would Singaporeans be willing to be taxed heavily to support the country's ageing population in 20 years' time?
This would be the case, said the minister, if Singapore did not bring in foreign talent.
Speaking to a 300-strong student audience at the Singapore Polytechnic, he said that Singapore needs to remain an open society, just as it was when our ancestors settled here.
He posed a counter-question to the audience on whether Singapore should become a closed society and not allow hardworking and talented foreigners in. If this happened, in 50 years the population will shrink between 20 per cent and 40 per cent, he added.
Dr Balakrishnan reassured students that the Government's duty was to give Singaporeans a headstart by investing in their education, equipping them with the right values and attitudes and giving them opportunities.
He said: 'You have a birthright. Everything we do is for your long-term benefit. Foreigners are here to help make Singapore more viable and competitive and to help us create more job and opportunities but it's all about Singaporeans.'
In the hour-long dialogue, he also took questions about euthanasia, social mobility and political apathy among youths.

[email protected]

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

I reassured students that the Government's duty was to give Singaporeans a headstart by investing in their education, equipping them with the right values and attitudes and giving them opportunities

Foreigners are here to help make Singapore more viable and competitive and to help us create more job and opportunities but it's all about Singaporeans.'

• 404.jpg
    404.jpg
    10.3 KB · Views: 262

annexa

When our ancestors settled here, this was no country. It was just and island.

Does Mr Vivian lalalalan wants Singapore to become just another island and not a country, nation state?

This type of material who vote in for ministar one?

When our ancestors settled here, this was no country. It was just and island.

Does Mr Vivian lalalalan wants Singapore to become just another island and not a country, nation state?

This type of material who vote in for ministar one?

I think no one voted for him - he walked-over all his elections.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Dr Balakrishnan shot back - would Singaporeans be willing to be taxed heavily to support the country's ageing population in 20 years' time?[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]
This would be the case, said the minister, if Singapore did not bring in foreign talent.

But why should Singaporeans be taxed heavily to support the aging population when the aging population has their CPF?

Oh, is it because the aging population spent all their money on their HDB and renovation and upgrading that they cannot afford to care for themselves.

But why is the HDB flat so expensive. Oh, I see it is because of demand and supply right? Oh and there is a lot of demand from the FTs right?

So FTs help to bring HDB prices up so that we have to have FTs to help us support the aging population????

And is it correct that only a small percentage of FTs pay CPF. So what the heck is vivienne all about?

Well, Vivienne is intellectually dishonest!

Getloud

Let see in how many years or months time, PAP is going to up which tax.
No need to wait for 20 years.

dupersuper

don't bullshxt when u have no idea how the real world works lah, vivian.
once the foreigners come, they only hire their own kind unless bo pian.

the outsourcing company i went to, HR, managers, seniors all FT. during interview, the ones before and after also FT.
then why i got selected? luckily the client's manager insisted want a local.

cowbehcowbu

ViVi imply that we are starting sinkapus 2...a new one...the old one built up fot last few decades is no good...so start a new one ..n only FT can help VIVI to achieve that n ensure his few millions salary...he he he ...you morons just dont get it eh?

SamuelStalin

I reassured students that the Government's duty was to give Singaporeans a headstart by investing in their education, equipping them with the right values and attitudes and giving them opportunities

Foreigners are here to help make Singapore more viable and competitive and to help us create more job and opportunities but it's all about Singaporeans.'

Who is that handsome dude?

chinkangkor

Foreigners depress our wages and this has made it harder for us to save up enough to finance our retirement.

Immigration is good up to the point when it complements the local workforce. But when it starts to take away jobs that locals can do, then immigration becomes harmful and does not benefit the majority anymore.

By letting many medicre foreigners becoming citizens, we are in fact downgrading our gene pool. This will have long term disastrous impact on our economy.

in other words, if you are poor, unskilled and old, sg is not meant for you. sg wants young, cheap labor that will not be an extra burden to society. but if you're rich yet old, it's ok, just park your wealth and money in sg. otherwise, get lost and be a burden somewhere else, such as in johor or timbuktu. this also applies to young, cheap imported workers who finally have no choice but to get old.

when you hit 40, you don't need to worry about patterns of migratory birds, they will harvest your organs or show you the door.

Brightkid

Can Vivian, and all other MIW who'd expounded this theory of FTs are here to help sinkies, specifically detail how this is going to work ?

All we witness on the ground, in work place, in coffee shops, etc, we only see FTs taking jobs from sinkies at ALL levels, besides creating social problems/tensions all around !!

How then are sinkies going to pay for the VERY high cost of living AND to support the older generations ? I rather be taxed heavily than not to have income at all.

I think the only help FTs gave is to chou-bo-lans like him to justify his humongous pay !