• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Various Hospitals COVIDed Thread

Loofydralb

Some people are very hardworking and if the illness is not serious, will choose to continue working instead of taking MC. :wink:

Anyway, if he was wearing a mask, no one should be afraid... not even the doctor who attends to him. If you believe masks offer protection. :cool:
Funny how we treat healthcare workers with tender loving care unlike police officers who are caught breaking the law will have their penalty double.
We should treat the same for healthcare workers who flout the rules on health requirements and penalize them severely because they should know better and behave better than the layman.

Funny how we treat healthcare workers with tender loving care unlike police officers who are caught breaking the law will have their penalty double.
We should treat the same for healthcare workers who flout the rules on health requirements and penalize them severely because they should know better and behave better than the layman.

According to the CDC if both wear masks the chances of transmission are almost zero.

Ralders

Ng Teng Fong, Changi General Hospital take precautions after staff test positive for Covid-19

SINGAPORE - Changi General Hospital (CGH) and Ng Teng Fong General Hospital (NTFGH) have stepped up their defences and put out messages to assure the public after one staff member at each hospital tested positive for the coronavirus on Monday (May 10).

Both cases were announced by the Ministry of Health (MOH) on Tuesday night.

The first staff member, case 63,073, is a 42-year-old Malaysian man who works as an operating theatre technician at NTFGH.

Ralders

Ng Teng Fong, Changi General Hospital take precautions after staff test positive for Covid-19
One staff member each at Changi General Hospital and Ng Teng Fong General Hospital tested positive for Covid-19 on May 10, 2021.
One staff member each at Changi General Hospital and Ng Teng Fong General Hospital tested positive for Covid-19 on May 10, 2021.ST PHOTOS: MATTHIAS CHONG, KUA CHEE SIONG

• PUBLISHED
    1 HOUR AGO

SINGAPORE - Changi General Hospital (CGH) and Ng Teng Fong General Hospital (NTFGH) have stepped up their defences and put out messages to assure the public after one staff member at each hospital tested positive for the coronavirus on Monday (May 10).
Both cases were announced by the Ministry of Health (MOH) on Tuesday night.
The first staff member, case 63,073, is a 42-year-old Malaysian man who works as an operating theatre technician at NTFGH.

He returned to Singapore on Jan 10 after a trip to Malaysia, and served his stay-home notice until Jan 24.
He tested negative on Jan 23 but later developed a cough on April 21. However, he did not seek medical treatment until almost three weeks later on May 10, after his cough worsened.
He was tested at NTFGH's staff clinic and his result came back positive the same day.

In a statement on its Facebook page on Wednesday, JurongHealth Campus, which NTFGH is a part of, said the man is now warded in an isolation room in NTFGH.
The campus added that he was last at work on May 10 and is likely shedding minute fragments of the virus from a past infection, which is no longer transmissible nor infective to others.
In addition, he had no contact with any known clusters or staff from Tan Tock Seng Hospital, which is currently Singapore's biggest active Covid-19 cluster.
However, JurongHealth Campus added that as a precaution, his household contacts have been swabbed for the virus.

All areas where the man had been in have also been disinfected.
"We will continue to provide full support to our colleague and continue to enforce strict precautionary measures and infection control protocols to keep our patients, visitors and staff safe," said the statement.
The second staff member, case 63,061, is a 43-year-old Chinese woman who is employed by EM Services and worked as a housekeeper at CGH.
She lives in the same household as case 62971, who is part of the Changi Airport cluster.
As she had been identified as a close contact of case 62971, she was quarantined on May 8. She developed a cough the next day, and reported her symptoms to MOH.
She was tested for Covid-19 and her result came back positive on May 10. Preliminary findings show that she was infected with the B1617 variant of the virus.

millim6868

Stop ceca from coming in, all eateries takeaway only ,fxxx the buffet, they still let them operate ,we r fxxx, CB braon of PAPigs

However, he did not seek medical treatment until almost three weeks later on May 10, after his cough worsened
KNN moh and ntfh did not penalised him for not getting medical help during the 3 weeks that he still leeported to work and putting others at risk? KNN

capamerica

According to the CDC if both wear masks the chances of transmission are almost zero.

Wrong. Again. Call it 0 for 202 tries.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/your-health/effective-masks.html

Improve How Your Mask Protects You
Updated Apr. 6, 2021
Languages
Print
Correct and consistent mask use is a critical step everyone can take to prevent getting and spreading COVID-19. Masks work best when everyone wears them, but not all masks provide the same protection. When choosing a mask, look at how well it fits, how well it filters the air, and how many layers it has.

Two important ways to make sure your mask works the best it can
lite icon
Make sure your mask fits snugly against your face. Gaps can let air with respiratory droplets leak in and out around the edges of the mask
lite icon
Pick a mask with layers to keep your respiratory droplets in and others’ out. A mask with layers will stop more respiratory droplets getting inside your mask or escaping from your mask if you are sick.
Image of Lady wearing mask

For more information on science behind improving how your mask protects you, see Improve the Fit and Filtration of Your Mask to Reduce the Spread of COVID-19.
For more information on wearing a mask and personal protective equipment in healthcare workplaces, see Interim Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations for Healthcare Personnel During the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic.

Do
Choose a mask with a nose wire
  • A nose wire is a metal strip along the top of the mask
  • Nose wires prevent air from leaking out of the top of the mask.
  • Bend the nose wire over your nose to fit close to your face.
Lady wearing red facemask

Use a mask fitter or brace
  • Use a mask fitter or brace over a disposable mask or a cloth mask to prevent air from leaking around the edges of the mask.
Man wearing blue facemask

Check that it fits snugly over your nose, mouth, and chin
  • Check for gaps by cupping your hands around the outside edges of the mask.
  • Make sure no air is flowing from the area near your eyes or from the sides of the mask.
  • If the mask has a good fit, you will feel warm air come through the front of the mask and may be able to see the mask material move in and out with each breath.
illustration of person cupping hands on the sides of mask

Add layers of material
2 ways to layer
  • Use a cloth mask that has multiple layers of fabric.
  • Wear a disposable mask underneath a cloth mask.
    • The cloth mask should push the edges of the disposable mask against your face.
Make sure you can see and breathe easily
Layers of masks

Knot and tuck ear loops of a 3-ply mask
  • Knot the ear loops of a 3-ply face mask where they join the edge of the mask
  • Fold and tuck the unneeded material under the edges
  • For instructions, see the following https://youtu.be/GzTAZDsNBe0external icon.
knot and fold

Other things to consider
Certain types of facial hair, like beards, can make mask fitting difficult. People with beards can do one or more of the following:
  • Shave their beards.
  • Trim their beards close to the face.
  • Use a mask fitter or brace.
  • Wear one disposable mask underneath a cloth mask that has multiple layers of fabric. The second mask should push the edges of the inner mask snugly against the face and beard.
Masks designed for people with beards are being evaluated, and information will be provided when it becomes available.
COVID-19_Masks_and_Beards_disposable_fitter

COVID-19_Masks_and_Beards_disposable_cloth

Do NOT
Combine two disposable masks
  • Disposable masks are not designed to fit tightly and wearing more than one will not improve fit.
Man wearing two disposable masks

Combine a KN95 mask with any other mask.
  • Only use one KN95 mask at a time.
Man wearing N95 and disposable masks

Download PDF Version of This Page pdf icon[974 KB, 1 page]
Alternative languages: Arabicpdf icon | Frenchpdf icon | Portuguese (Brazil)pdf icon | Russianpdf icon | Spanishpdf icon | Urdupdf icon
Related Pages

Ralders

Siao liao skh turn liao.

Sengkang General Hospital operating theatre nurse C19 +ve

Case 63096

Case 63096 is a 33 year-old male Philippines national who works as an operating theatre nurse at Sengkang General Hospital.

He developed a runny nose on 9 May night, cough on 10 May night, and subsequently fever, sore throat, shortness of breath and loss of taste on 11 May. He was tested for COVID-19 on 10 May as part of Sengkang General Hospital’s proactive testing of staff and his test result came back positive for COVID-19 infection on 11 May. His serology test result is positive. Case 63096 received his first dose of COVID-19 vaccine on 19 January, and the second dose on 8 February. He has tested preliminarily positive for the B1617 variant, and is pending further confirmatory tests.

covertbriar

Case 63096

Case 63096 is a 33 year-old male Philippines national who works as an operating theatre nurse at Sengkang General Hospital.

He developed a runny nose on 9 May night, cough on 10 May night, and subsequently fever, sore throat, shortness of breath and loss of taste on 11 May. He was tested for COVID-19 on 10 May as part of Sengkang General Hospital’s proactive testing of staff and his test result came back positive for COVID-19 infection on 11 May. His serology test result is positive. Case 63096 received his first dose of COVID-19 vaccine on 19 January, and the second dose on 8 February. He has tested preliminarily positive for the B1617 variant, and is pending further confirmatory tests.

https://www.moh.gov.sg/news-highlig...ly-transmitted-covid-19-infection_12MayUpdate