• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

URgent Advice Needed >> DDR3 RAM ........1066 / 1333mhz same as 1060 / 1333mhz ?

how ah, bros ?

my pc using Kingston DDR3 RAM 1066 / 1333 mhz but i can only find 1060 / 1333mhz at Sim Lim Sq and elsewhere leh..................

the shop people say can use...............

but the RAM in my pc is bigger in size (height only) compared to those at the shops ?

so can really use 1060 / 1333 mhz ???

*** lastly hor, do i need to change the battery on the motherboard ? older pc using DDR2 need to change battery but what about the newer pc using DDR3 leh ?

thank you very much hor......................

If you are uncertain iif the memory will work in your system, maybe you should consider getting memory from Memory World. They have branches in Sim Lim & Funan. They have a database of products that work with their memory.

http://www.memoryworld.com.sg/

my pc using Kingston DDR3 RAM 1066 / 1333 mhz but i can only find 1060 / 1333mhz at Sim Lim Sq and elsewhere leh..................
but the RAM in my pc is bigger in size (height only) compared to those at the shops ?
*** lastly hor, do i need to change the battery on the motherboard ? older pc using DDR2 need to change battery but what about the newer pc using DDR3 leh ?

you can use different specs and brand of rams together. but it's advisable to use matching specs rams ( same speed, not brand ). if the rams speed are different, the motherboard will have to clock down to the speed of the slowest module. different speed rams will not run in dual channel.
what, different height? if the length are same, can use.
regarding battery. don't know lah. :o

i suggest you ask PC questions at HWZ, not here. those peoples there are the experts and too eager to help. forummers here are dumbass at PC. :D

For RAM spec same and pin same can be use no need to worry card height due to IC/memory mounted on the card.
As long as spec same as motherboard required OK.
For the battery on motherboard is for clock about 10 cent size. Chance it during power on if not time/clock will reset.
U need no to change if the clock/time no problem.
Dont waste money use the RAM back. RAM is the most lasting component in PC.

cannot like that see one, just look at the handbook of your motherboard see what it can support

Clockspeed the same can work lah.

Just plug it in and see loh.

And pray to God to double make sure it works loh.

GOD IS MY DOG said:
*** lastly hor, do i need to change the battery on the motherboard ? older pc using DDR2 need to change battery but what about the newer pc using DDR3 leh ?.

Battery ensures that the bios setup is stored even when the PC is powered down. Probably this is not changed whatever the RAM change. In doubt, just change the battery which does not cost much.

so you saying there's no need to change the battery at all ?

or is it a must to change the battery every few years ?

it'll run out of power, right ?

If you are uncertain iif the memory will work in your system, maybe you should consider getting memory from Memory World. They have branches in Sim Lim & Funan. They have a database of products that work with their memory.

http://www.memoryworld.com.sg/

thanks, bro.............

i emailed the agent for Kingston liao.............since the RAM in my pc from them.............

make sure the number of pins are correct and you have enough ram slots on your motherboard to accomodate the new memory.

and whoever is trying to sell you "1060" doesn't know nuts about computer parts! you either buy 1066mhz or 1333mhz.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR3_SDRAM

GOD IS MY DOG said:
so you saying there's no need to change the battery at all ?

or is it a must to change the battery every few years ?

it'll run out of power, right ?

The battery can last a long time, about 3 to 4 years. Thereafter the PC goes harewire and cannot boot because it is on a wrong setting. If you can wait for this to happen, don't change now but if you are onto something where the PC is mission critical and the battery has been unchanged for some years, just change it.

thanks, bro.............

i emailed the agent for Kingston liao.............since the RAM in my pc from them.............

You don't need to get original Kingston memory. Just have to make sure it's the correct specification to what your computer is using. Going to places like Memory World is to ensure you get the right spec product. If they provide the wrong part you can always back to them. The Transcend memory that they sell carries a lifetime warranty, I think they still do. Not like some ah beng companies in Sim Lim which often disappear .

The battery can last a long time, about 3 to 4 years. Thereafter the PC goes harewire and cannot boot because it is on a wrong setting. If you can wait for this to happen, don't change now but if you are onto something where the PC is mission critical and the battery has been unchanged for some years, just change it.

When my iBook battery died I still continued using the laptop as normal. Just that the date & time info included in my emails & files were incorrect:o Other than that my iBook worked fine.

so if pc haywire, change battery then everything okay again is it ?

make sure the number of pins are correct and you have enough ram slots on your motherboard to accomodate the new memory.

and whoever is trying to sell you "1060" doesn't know nuts about computer parts! you either buy 1066mhz or 1333mhz.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR3_SDRAM

the RAMs are all 1333mhz but the model like different..............1060/1333mhz and 1066/1333mhz............

1060/1333Mhz RAM is DDR3. therefore you can use it.
yes older ram are bigger, newer ram with same capacity are smaller, because new node are used in semiconductor fabrication plant.
you can mix the ram, unless you encounter problem when you test the ram, then change all your old ram with new one.

just change the battery of the motherboard until you need to change, dun change right now. you need it when your BIOS settings are lost.

1060/1333Mhz RAM is DDR3. therefore you can use it.
yes older ram are bigger, newer ram with same capacity are smaller, because new node are used in semiconductor fabrication plant.
you can mix the ram, unless you encounter problem when you test the ram, then change all your old ram with new one.

just change the battery of the motherboard until you need to change, dun change right now. you need it when your BIOS settings are lost.

so you saying as long as RAM is DDR3 sure can fit in the slot ?

difference in height of the RAM is okay ?

1066/1333mhz and 1060/1333mhz can mix and use with no issues ?

so don't change battery until it's out of power ? what you mean i need it when bios are lost ?

johnny333 said:
When my iBook battery died I still continued using the laptop as normal. Just that the date & time info included in my emails & files were incorrect:o Other than that my iBook worked fine.

Probably you were using the laptop in its default setup mode. I have used computers that were overclocked or having a higher end CPU. When the battery went flat, the PC booted up according to the default mode and it did not work for what was installed.

GOD IS MY DOG said:
so if pc haywire, change battery then everything okay again is it ?

You would have to redo the setup of the bios for the CPU that was installed and the clock speed used.