• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Updated News/Gossips/KNNBCCB PAP Never Solve Haze Problem Thread

Re: Bargain Hen tells stoopid sinkies to stop scaring themselves over 3-hour PSI aver

Hen is right. Sinkies must look long term, like refering to the last 12 months average, in order to determine in they should stay indoors.

Re: Bargain Hen tells stoopid sinkies to stop scaring themselves over 3-hour PSI aver

Refer to 24-hour PSI, not 3-hour: Ng Eng Hen

SINGAPORE: Defence Minister and Chairman of the Haze Inter-Ministerial Committee Ng Eng Hen on Friday urged the public to refer to the 24-hour Pollutant Standards Index (PSI) reading rather than the three-hour reading.

Does anyone stay outdoor for 24-hr? Nope. But people do stay outdoor for 3 hour or more. What dumb logic he has!

[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR]He said this was because the effects of exposure to pollutants are based on a "continuum" rather than a "threshold".

How dumb can he be? He is saying that if you are outdoor when the psi reading is at dangerous level, it is okay as long as the 24-hour psi reading is not elevated! Why are we paying him $68 millions????????

Speaking at a media briefing on Friday evening, Dr Ng said the effects of the pollutants "are not like bugs" and are based on factors such as the length of exposure, the density of the pollutants, and individual variation.

When you are out there when the reading is at a dangerous high level, it is okay as long as the the 24-hour psi is normal? Even the Ah Beng will tell him he is siao ah!

The guidelines state
if the 24-hour PSI goes above 300, healthy people should also stay indoors to reduce exposure. Those who need to work outdoors should limit their exposure to pollutants by using an N95 mask.

Who will inhale the pollutants - the one who stays outdoor when the 3-hr reading shows PSI is high or the one who stays indoor?

It is obvious the PAP government doesn't give a damn if sinkees are killed by the haze. It doesn't cost the PAP government anything ...the people have to pay the hospital bills for any treatment, not the government.

To demonstrate their belief, the ministers should conduct their business outdoor for the duration of the haze problem.

palden

Hen is right. Sinkies must look long term, like refering to the last 12 months average, in order to determine in they should stay indoors.

12 month average above 888. Then we can see the effect la. If not more than 3 mil death, still acceptable. By the way, Muar MP higher pay or his mother hen?

he is right, if you cannot do anything about the situation, best not to scare yourself with the index.

griffin

Haze and our utilities bill

To reduce the ill effects of the haze, many households have to keep their air-cons switched on longer than they usually do. Inevitably the electric bill is going to shoot up. As the cause is Indonesia can our govt request the indon govt to compensate. Alternatively, PowerGrid could give a hefty discount on our electric bill.

Re: Haze and our utilities bill

YES, my air con bill has gone up 10 folds......

Because I also turned on my Sharp air purifier, my air cooler and my fan to blow off to circulate the stale air.

To reduce the ill effects of the haze, many households have to keep their air-cons switched on longer than they usually do. Inevitably the electric bill is going to shoot up. As the cause is Indonesia can our govt request the indon govt to compensate. Alternatively, PowerGrid could give a hefty discount on our electric bill.

50 percent discount on electricity tariff for the duration of the haze is totally reasonable. Ask your MP.

Re: Action Plan Millionster, Action and not talking and smiling.

Dr. Hen is stupid. How could he even blare out such stupidity?

He is telling sinkees it is okay to breathe in the pollutants as long as the 24-hr psi reading is normal. Are sinkees that stupid to believe him? If they are, then they deserve to die from respiratory illness.

If the reading is high in the 3-hr psi reading, you stay indoor. If you follow the 24-hr reading, you would have inhaled too much off the pollutants.

after reading 3 posts on this thread, i look down on sinkies even more..

you bunch of losers are trying to take advantage of the situation to pay less. no different from the sinkie fucker who sell the mask at $10 each..

so if the govt dun gives a shit about your sinkie demands, are you going to gather into groups and protest for it? If not, then go suck thumb and bend down to get screwed by an even greater bill come to you.

Beijing is excused, they aren't a democracy. Singapore suppose to be--in theory

I retract my previous comment after Dr. Hen's latest statement that is okay to go outside even when 3-hr psi reading is high as long as the 24-hr psi reading is normal. Dr. Hen wants sinkees to die.

palden

How can you not believe Defence Minister and Chairman of the Haze Inter-Ministerial Committee Mother Hen? Look, his title is already so impressive. Name card must at least be A4 size. He doctor some more. I am sure at least 60% believe in him. Again the garment still taking only. Haizzzz.

Dr. Hen is stupid. How could he even blare out such stupidity?

He is telling sinkees it is okay to breathe in the pollutants as long as the 24-hr psi reading is normal. Are sinkees that stupid to believe him? If they are, then they deserve to die from respiratory illness.

If the reading is high in the 3-hr psi reading, you stay indoor. If you follow the 24-hr reading, you would have inhaled too much off the pollutants.

Kohliantye

Its just a passing haze. It will clear in a day or two. Why so sensitive?

I agree with your statement but what worry me most is people will die.

No one knows who they would be for death knocks at doors without looking at wealth and affiliations.

Dark Knight

By now this Ah Hen still doesn't realized that spending a huge budget on Sillypore's defence is of no use.
All our neighbours need to do is think of ways to attack Siilypore's economy and we are doom.

No need to have terrorist attack or suicide bomber.
This haze crisis is one of the most effective strategy executed by the Indo Chief.
All it takes is to make use of the right wind direction and set fire on their palm field to tarnish Sillypore's economy for days, weeks or months.

It precisely the fact that there s nothing PAP gov can do to the Indonesian authority on this issue. But we are exposing gov incompetence on it.

Things in politics are not always that straightforward.

In asking opposition parties to close rank with PAP, the idea is to work up the emotion of the people and at the same time, ride on the moral high ground that we are not politicizing the issue instead we are 'assisting' the gov. ( Isn't this better compare to to KJ who only knows how to criticize and make himself look like a fool?)

When everyone be it opposition supporters or PAP supporters want gov to step up pressure on Indonesia, PAP will be forced to step into the ring facing this 300pounds gorilla which they have no chance of winning. And if they refuse to step into the ring, it looks bad on them. It like pushing them to the edge of the cliff and asking them to jump. Either case, PAP are going to be the loser while oppositions gain more credit.

We want to tell our neighbours how to run their country yet the PAP reject all criticisms from overseas.

The blame lies totally on the PAP. The PAP messed up on the relations with Indonesia to the point that we have ZERO clout there. This haze problem has been around for years. Why can't a solution be found? Well, it is a trade-off that sinkapore doesn't want to make. The Indons want sinkapore's help to clam down on Indons hiding wealth in sinkapore but sinkapore won't do anything. Well, Indons are not going to do much on the haze problem too.

This is not an issue with the Indons ...it is with the PAP. Moreover, the PAP can do alot more to help sinkees cope ...for example, giving out free N95 masks, provide free air cleaning systems, reduce electricity tariffs and reduce hospital fees. But the PAP just don't want to spend the money to help.

Direct your anger at the PAP, not the Indons.

I doubt that the Indonesian gov't is in any position to help their neighbours because they are removing the fuel subsidies in indonesia.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/premium/indonesia/indonesia-raise-fuel-prices-tomorrow-20130621

Indonesia to raise fuel prices tomorrow

No to hike: Thousands of Indonesians have held protests around the country this week to demonstrate against the fuel price rises. - PHOTO: AFP

[JAKARTA] Indonesia will carry out a big increase in fuel prices on Saturday, settling months of agonising over the politically divisive issue that was damaging confidence in South-east Asia's biggest economy and sapping the state's finances.

Fuel subsidies, which the government argues largely benefit the rich, cost around US$20 billion last year and have been pushing the former Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (Opec) member's current account deeper into deficit as oil imports rise to meet the insatiable demand for cheap fuel.

"The fuel hike will be announced on Friday at midnight, and effective after it is announced," Industry Minister Mohamad Hidayat told reporters yesterday.

Even after the increases - expected to be 44 per cent for petrol and 22 per cent for diesel - Indonesia will still have some of the cheapest prices in the region.

ChaoPappyPoodle

I retract my previous comment after Dr. Hen's latest statement that is okay to go outside even when 3-hr psi reading is high as long as the 24-hr psi reading is normal. Dr. Hen wants sinkees to die.

The mass extermination of sinkies has reached an advanced stage. This is a good way to remove opposition voters and replace them with new citizens.

Just when we need the singapore flyer shit to fan the haze away, it decided to stop operating.

jan_31_0864_singapore_flyer.jpg

he is right, if you cannot do anything about the situation, best not to scare yourself with the index.

The index helps you to plan your activities. Why would you want to be outdoor when the 3-hour index is high? If you listen to silly hen, you will go out and about as if everything is hunky dory. Who is breathing the pollutants?

As the Minister with the largest budget and a highly lethal force, why can't he try to be pro-active instead of making crappy statements? Why bother to buy F-35s when Indonesia kills citizens so easily

Lots of money is being made in arms deal.