• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Under the rule of LHL

greedy and cunning

If you wish to give money to the poor, the money has to come from somewhere. In Singapore, the money comes from GST and other government incomes. In Europe, money for pension and welfare comes from borrowing from the people via government bonds. Bonds will mature and have to be paid back eventually with interest. And European governments don't care about that. They simply borrow more money to pay existing debt. Think of it like a guy charging more money to his new credit cards to pay off existing credit card bills. That's why Europe has been in austerity for so many years.

Doing charity is good. But the money needs to come from somewhere. And so far, only the PAP is prudent. We paid for all our infrastructure without external debt. Countries like China once had to swallow their pride and plead with their historic enemy, Japan, for soft loans to build their initial modern infrastructure.

Is that the path you want Singapore to follow - to beg foreigners to lend us money to build our MRTs and highways?

europe and U Ass A garberments issued bonds to keep things running.
so these gavberments are in bad debts.
sillypoore garberment think they beri smart , like u said. think their fiscal policies are the bestest.
if U Ass A and europe currency which are the cuntries affected the most ?
one of them is definitely sillypoore.
remember this : silypoore currency , like most other countries,
reserve are mostly in US$ and Euro$ and Sterling.
hope you can the link from here. :confused::confused:
now who is clever ?

soikee

Yesterday I went to Shell petrol station to top up my car's lubricating oil.

I paid $14.50 for a litre of low grade oil. The cashier commented that it was $6.50 and now $14.40

Four months ago at the East Coast Lagoon food center, the beef noodle soup vendor and a few others raised their selling price per serving to $4 and $5.

A fortnight ago they again raised their selling price to $5 and $7.

How can those folks who are wage-earners cope with this kind of runaway inflation?

TracyTan866

Four months ago at the East Coast Lagoon food center, the beef noodle soup vendor and a few others raised their selling price per serving to $4 and $5.

How can those folks who are wage-earners cope with this kind of runaway inflation?

Leng Kee Beef Noodles?

Have you forgotten what LHL said? :wink:

LIVEBLOG: Ask PM Lee 2014
8.00PM PM Lee answers questions on cost of living in Singapore: Expectations have changed. Today people have fewer children, but people put more pressure on themselves and for their children. Cost of living is on many people's minds. Yes, things have become more expensive, but incomes have gone up faster than prices.

Your income didn't go up? It's your fault lah! Don't blame the govt. :biggrin:

Seee3

If you wish to give money to the poor, the money has to come from somewhere. In Singapore, the money comes from GST and other government incomes. In Europe, money for pension and welfare comes from borrowing from the people via government bonds. Bonds will mature and have to be paid back eventually with interest. And European governments don't care about that. They simply borrow more money to pay existing debt. Think of it like a guy charging more money to his new credit cards to pay off existing credit card bills. That's why Europe has been in austerity for so many years.

..........And so far, only the PAP is prudent. We paid for all our infrastructure without external debt.

Is that the path you want Singapore to follow - to beg foreigners to lend us money to build our MRTs and highways?
Now that you are on this topic, hope you can help explain more. Sg debt to GDP ratio is 105. Compared to other countries, only Japan, Portugal, Greece, Italy, Ireland have higher debt ratio. Why is our debt to GDP ratio so high? It looks scary as the countries above us are all facing economic crisis now. Even Belgium is lower.

TracyTan866

Yes it is.

Even the CCC Chairman of M P who is our cycling khaki, he also felt that it's getting out of hand.

Not just beef noodles, everything is getting out of hand.

If PAP ministers demand to be paid four times Obama's pay, they have lost the moral authority to tell other singaporeans not to be greedy

I'm curious as to why they need so much money, do they have the lifespan to spend them all. ANy human with bit of heart will give back after taking from the nations.

TracyTan866

I'm curious as to why they need so much money, do they have the lifespan to spend them all. ANy human with bit of heart will give back after taking from the nations.

Greed.

There was a survey done in USA among millionaires with more than US$25m. Most said that they don't feel they have enough to retire. When asked what was enough, they replied that another 25% wld be just right

Now that you are on this topic, hope you can help explain more. Sg debt to GDP ratio is 105. Compared to other countries, only Japan, Portugal, Greece, Italy, Ireland have higher debt ratio. Why is our debt to GDP ratio so high? It looks scary as the countries above us are all facing economic crisis now. Even Belgium is lower.

Our debt is due to internal borrowing, such as the government borrowing against the CPF to fund HDB and infrastructure construction. Our government makes good on our debt repayment through ERP tolls, increased tax from more economic activities thanks to the improved infrastructure. Only a dumb ass european government would think of perpetually spending much more in public funds than what they can collect from tax.

Singapore built its MRT and further expanded it without any external debt. Same for HDB construction, which is built on a massive scale. This is something beyond the abilities of the simpletons from the SDP and WP, who are only thinking of raiding our reserves for their populist harebrained schemes.

Greed.

There was a survey done in USA among millionaires with more than US$25m. Most said that they don't feel they have enough to retire. When asked what was enough, they replied that another 25% wld be just right

I am also greedy, people are all greedy, but a line should be drawn. After siphon enough have to stop, else i will fear i will die fast also being too greedy. WHities are simply too greedy till black hearted. They shall be punished !

blissquek

Thanks to LHL...My can of Coke is $1.80

Very soon it will be $2...