• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tun Dr M: I am only a Temp PM, and so is Loong!

tun_dr_m

http://www.asiaone.com/malaysia/mahathir-i-am-only-temporary-pm

Mahathir: I am only a temporary PM

20181231_mahathirspeech_thestar.jpg

PHOTO: The Star/Asia News Network

Zakiah Koya and Clarissa Chung

The Star/Asia News Network

Dec 31, 2018

Facebook Twitter Google+
Email

PUTRAJAYA - Recognising that his promise to make way for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim after two years is a cornerstone of the Pakatan Harapan alliance, Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad says he will keep his word and will only be a temporary PM.
This is despite calls from within Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia that he keeps the post until the next general election.

“There is a plea for this old PM to continue (the full tenure). When we were in the opposition and wanted to get rid of the kleptocrats, we knew we could not do it with only the Malay votes. Without the other parties (in Pakatan), we would not succeed.

“We only won because we had a coalition and to have this coalition, we discussed with our partners (DAP, PKR and Amanah). One of the conditions then was that the PM, who was their enemy, can only be temporary. At that point of time, the main thing was to get rid of Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

He said this in his winding-up speech at the annual general meeting of Bersatu at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre yesterday.
Read also

Only Malays can save the Malays: Mahathir
During the AGM which ended yesterday, some delegates called upon Dr Mahathir to stay until the next GE.
Prior to GE14, the Pakatan component parties agreed that if the coalition won, he would be the PM for two years before handing over the reins to Anwar, who is now PKR president.
“That sacrifice that we made then (to accept that condition) bore fruit. In a struggle, we have give and take. If we are stubborn and insist, we will be destroyed and we will not get what we want,” said Dr Mahathir, likening the situation to countries in the Middle East that are constantly at war because of their refusal to compromise.
He also said in his speech that he was at times “famous” for not knowing how to choose the right people for government roles. He added that he had been criticised for naming Tan Sri Musa Hitam (now Tun) as deputy prime minister in the 1980s and for appointing certain ministers from Bersatu.
In a press conference later, when asked whether he would make a mistake in his choice of a successor again, Dr Mahathir said: “I will tell you my answer two years later.”
To questions of when he would step down, he said: “I also have to take care of my health. I have had dinner with Anwar and we did not talk about it. He seemed comfortable that I will pass the baton to him.”
About 2,000 delegates and observers nationwide participated in the three-day AGM.

Where got temporary? False modesty and humility! Both have served as PM for so many years at a stretch and amassed great wealth but with little or no legacy to show; esp the adik PM. Both are way past their prime and with expired shelf life. Good riddance!

M is a shrewd politician, downplay his tenure and ambitions for now. He still got 20 more years in his tank to play. :laugh:

One person does temporary work for two years but create shit for millions of people to clear in don’t know how many man-years.

Hehe....how abt One party does permanent work since independence day and make millions of people pay and pay and pay till kingdom come.:whistling:

Seriously I think the way he changed to using Malay instead of English really affected millions of people until now. I met old Malaysians can speak fluent English but the young ones can’t, especially Malay. And thinking win lose instead of win win with neighbours like what najib did is another sign of poor leadership. In these years here I can see so much progress in johor with roads being redone, new roads etc that only come up during najib years.

The Malays in Msia have to change their attitude. Like Tun said if ceena bother to speak 3 languages, why cant the Malays. Look at Japan. So the garment have to push them one way or another. Bilingual...Malay and English.

Ehhh...i tot its the young ones tat speak fluent English nowadays.:wink:

The Malays in Msia have to change their attitude. Like Tun said if ceena bother to speak 3 languages, why cant the Malays. Look at Japan. So the garment have to push them one way or another. Bilingual...Malay and English.

Ehhh...i tot its the young ones tat speak fluent English nowadays.:wink:
No. It’s a fact that many young malays I met in JB working in restaurant or doing sales in shops can’t speak English. They can’t explain their own product or service in English. Only in Malay. So it’s quite bad and sad that Malaysia is the only country in the world that degenerated from good English to poor English. I mean no other country is like that right? So it’s very telling of the ugly truth of how poor leader he is to cause harm to population that will take many man years to solve.

...they will never progress like Sinkie land if those bumi policy still in place...n i hope it stay that way so that we will enjoy the exchange rate...thank u ajib kor

Oh...sales assistants ya. That one most of them cant speak proper english. But i do come across some who spoke above average English. Those educated one i met in masjid, neighbours and some at restaurants. Actually cant totally blame him. U go read the book "The Malay Dilemma".

Ya but the sad fact is the older ones can speak English well. Those around 60s and above. I have met before salesman and petrol station attendant, all can speak English well, no need to be highly educated. Why did he change from English to Malay medium education when it’s doing well? Big mistake.

@whoami do you know who is the leader that started this everything pun boleh thing in mudland? I think that is the reason for mudland people to degenerate in the last few decades to lawless barbarians instead of progressing to better people. From timing wise, it should be started during Mahathir time.

...they will never progress like Sinkie land if those bumi policy still in place...n i hope it stay that way so that we will enjoy the exchange rate...thank u ajib kor
Actually they did achieve progress under najib but just that the people are becoming less educated due to failed education policy and become lawless barbarians due to everything pun boleh policy or mindset.

Strange. I travelled to Msia very often. I mean other states. I have relatives all over msia. Not just Johore. I find youngsters spoke English better than the older ones. Just to share. Sm of my relatives chdn are doctors, teachers, engineers...can speak English fairly well. But my bro in law...teruk. Enlish like pri 1 standard n hes 58 yrs old. I supp we cant really lump all in one n start generalising young speak better than old or vice versa.

Anyway (my experience) i also cm across jiuhukia unable to speak English at all. Cant even speak coloquial but broken Malay. Only speak mandarin. Esp those at Johore. In Spore i met jiuhukia..also cant speak proper Malay. Wat more English. Only spoke Mandarin.

Actually we must always rem. Their nat language is Malay. So English is secondary. Having said that i too agree tat fluent in languages...not just English, is always an asset.

@whoami do you know who is the leader that started this everything pun boleh thing in mudland? I think that is the reason for mudland people to degenerate in the last few decades to lawless barbarians instead of progressing to better people. From timing wise, it should be started during Mahathir time.

Who? Tun?

Strange. I travelled to Msia very often. I mean other states. I have relatives all over msia. Not just Johore. I find youngsters spoke English better than the older ones. Just to share. Sm of my relatives chdn are doctors, teachers, engineers...can speak English fairly well. But my bro in law...teruk. Enlish like pri 1 standard n hes 58 yrs old. I supp we cant really lump all in one n start generalising young speak better than old or vice versa.

Anyway (my experience) i also cm across jiuhukia unable to speak English at all. Cant even speak coloquial but broken Malay. Only speak mandarin. Esp those at Johore. In Spore i met jiuhukia..also cant speak proper Malay. Wat more English. Only spoke Mandarin.

Actually we must always rem. Their nat language is Malay. So English is secondary. Having said that i too agree tat fluent in languages...not just English, is always an asset.
Ya jiuhukia same can’t speak English well, especially those from Johor. But I can speak to them in mandarin so no issue. And in recent two years, I noticed those real young mudland chinese in Johor like those below age 20 students can listen and speak English. Oh your brother in law is 58 years old and speak English like primary one standard means I am correct those around 60 and below can’t speak English while those around 60 and above can. It must be due to the education policy switch by Mahathir from English to Malay medium.