• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TPL is PM poison for SM to kick SM out of PAP

RealSingaporean

Hahaha, read today ST, PAP selection last round is done by PM. All these while we hear about SM and PM not seeing eye to eye with each other, so PM want to kick SM out but cannot la, so give TPL to SM. when Marine Parade is lost, so SM is out of PAP.
How you people think?

rusty

Why the fck we need a SM when we already have a PM.

It only right Marine Parade goes to NSP !

Welcome to parliament - Nicole.

Char_Azn

It's actually not that far fetched and totally plausible. Now it all depends on whether NSP can do good. They seriously need to get rid of the warehouse assistant though

karmabear

Last election, he was asked to campaign in Potong Pasir. Now kena poison chalice TPL to tompang into Parliament. This reminds me of office politics when its not expedient to fire a old time staff. You just kena a lot of sai until you retire. GCT is like boxer in animal farm, if he still tee kee, can expect to become glue...

Varuna

Hahaha, read today ST, PAP selection last round is done by PM. All these while we hear about SM and PM not seeing eye to eye with each other, so PM want to kick SM out but cannot la, so give TPL to SM. when Marine Parade is lost, so SM is out of PAP.
How you people think?

If this is the case, should bring MBT into Marine Parade team on top of TPL, this formula is more potent. :smile:

aurvandil

How you people think?

For this election, LHL did more than that to GCT.

In redrawing the boundaries, he put all the shit and crap from other GRCs into Marine Parade. Good examples of this is the bar strip of Joo Chian (yes Joo Chiat SMC does not include Joo Chiat road !), the happening lower lorongs of Geylang (while all the licensed brothels are) and of course the Aljunied constituiencies that showed strong results for WP.

TPL and Nicole Seah will of course weigh GCT down further.

The firing of Lim Boon Heng and the retiring of all GCT era Ministers was the next step to weaken GCT further. Right now other than MBT, there is no one left who was a Minister in GCT's cabinent. With MBT having his hands full in Tampines, GCT can therefore exepct to fight this election ALONE.

I would dare say that with these "little actions" that LHL has taken against him, he will be lucky to get more than 60% of the vote.

yellow_people

For this election, LHL did more than that to GCT.

In redrawing the boundaries, he put all the shit and crap from other GRCs into Marine Parade. Good examples of this is the bar strip of Joo Chian (yes Joo Chiat SMC does not include Joo Chiat road !), the happening lower lorongs of Geylang (while all the licensed brothels are) and of course the Aljunied constituiencies that showed strong results for WP.

TPL and Nicole Seah will of course weigh GCT down further.

The firing of Lim Boon Heng and the retiring of all GCT era Ministers was the next step to weaken GCT further. Right now other than MBT, there is no one left who was a Minister in GCT's cabinent. With MBT having his hands full in Tampines, GCT can therefore exepct to fight this election ALONE.

I would dare say that with these "little actions" that LHL has taken against him, he will be lucky to get more than 60% of the vote.

GCT is very popular in Marine Parade GRC in case you are unaware. If there is a reason behind why the boundaries are redrawn as you claim to "put all the shit and crap from other GRCs into Marine Parade", mostly for the benefit of the other GRCs, that is because the PAP is confident GCT can carry all that weight and still win by a comfortable margin.

All you need to do is take a look at how well maintained and swanky Marine Parade is. It has the latest of everything you can hope to find in a town council. New Indian citizens are falling over each other to buy properties there. Your average HDB apartment in Marine Parade is worth at least $500k.

GCT certainly isn't telling his residents he will remove the first time buyer's housing grant.

GCT will very likely win by a 70% margin at the very least.

-

aurvandil

GCT will very likely win by a 70% margin at the very least.-

NSP and SDP obviously have very different assessment of the ground in the redrawn Marine Parade GRC. Which is a good thing otherwise we will have yet another 3 corner fight to resolve.

ivebert

NSP and SDP obviously have very different assessment of the ground in the redrawn Marine Parade GRC. Which is a good thing otherwise we will have yet another 3 corner fight to resolve.

I hope you GMS lose all the deposit in Marine Parade hehe

ScarFace

Miss TPL's selection as a potential candidate riding on the PAP ticket is anything but the thread headline. In fact, it only reveals the thinking behind the chess player(s). In my opinion, Miss TPL's selection highlights the insecurity, exasperation, desperation, and misguided political philosophy that constantly plagues the chess player(s). These plagues have been festering for a long time and have been allowed to polarise our society and indeed within the regime and some of its members.

So Miss TPL is nothing more than a red herring. We would do better than to be sidetracked from the main issues that are truly plaguing our society, and we have this narrow window of opportunity to do so in the coming weeks.

How you people think?

Can see that Goh Chok Tong now very disgusted with Lee Hsien Loong & team. He has stopped helping PAP crticise other oppositions members outside his GRC. He bluntly told reporters that he wanted to leave criticism to LHL and his cronies while keeping himself quiet since he has no control over PAP movements now. He wanted to stay away from assassinating opposition members (knowing TPL is not a good candidate for him). He is resigned to either he lose or win this election because of TPL in his GRC and wanted to stay out of other PAP matters.

yellow_people

TPL's entry into parliament is a mere formality as she's going to ride the coat-tail of GCT. That's what the GRC was designed to do anyway. The debate will be about GCTs winning margin. The supposedly match-up between Miss Kate Spade vs Angmoh-named Ah Lian is just an interesting side show for Ah Beng to speculate with his pants around his ankles.

-

The words used in Wooden Goh's response about other constitutencies certainly reflect the fact that he is one unhappy camper. According to one reasonably well-placed source, Wooden actually wants to retire but because of LKY, got to stay on. I mean, with his millions (not to mention his son's too) and the daughter away in UK and the Peanuts Seller a "consultant" with Lee and Lee, there is no reason to want to continue working hard, unlike the old ladies cleaning the tables.

Which reminds me of a ST article many years back when walking Marine Parade, he asked one old woman-cleaner why she was working and not at home looking after grandchildren. This just shows that this guy does not know the real world.

70% margin at least?
No need to dream, the 70% margin have since long gone with the days of Tan Cheng Bock.

GCT is very popular in Marine Parade GRC in case you are unaware. If there is a reason behind why the boundaries are redrawn as you claim to "put all the shit and crap from other GRCs into Marine Parade", mostly for the benefit of the other GRCs, that is because the PAP is confident GCT can carry all that weight and still win by a comfortable margin.

All you need to do is take a look at how well maintained and swanky Marine Parade is. It has the latest of everything you can hope to find in a town council. New Indian citizens are falling over each other to buy properties there. Your average HDB apartment in Marine Parade is worth at least $500k.

GCT certainly isn't telling his residents he will remove the first time buyer's housing grant.

GCT will very likely win by a 70% margin at the very least.

-

yellow_people

70% margin at least?
No need to dream, the 70% margin have since long gone with the days of Tan Cheng Bock.

Marine Parade GRC worst showing by far was 72.9% in 1992. Understandably since then no opposition had wanted to contest at Marine Parade. So 70% is not a stretch given GCT's popularity there.

-

aurvandil

Marine Parade GRC worst showing by far was 72.9% in 1992. Understandably since then no opposition had wanted to contest at Marine Parade. So 70% is not a stretch given GCT's popularity there.-

The key difference is that in 1992, GCT was PM. He drew the boundaries and put all the choice constituiencies into Marine Parade. The strong electoral showing created the perception that GCT is widely popular and liked.

Forward to 2011 and LHL is PM. He has redrawn the boundaries so that all the shit and crap is in Marine Parade. He has also taken out choice constituiencies like Mountbatten which has been carved out into a SMC.

It is because of these demographic changes more than anything else that makes NSP want to contest in Marine Parade.