• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Today's S'pore school children: The Lost Generation

I read with dismay about the tragic suicide of the 10 year old student recently, and after some thought and discussions with friends including teachers, it dawn on me that this generation of school kids are really in it tough and are on the way to being a truly lost generation without their realizing it.

We start with a primary and secondary school system that is highly competitive and which already causes a fair number of suicides. Kids are under pressure to get good grades and get into good schools or the right stream. Parents, family members, teachers, principals etc. all put the pressure on them. Many do not know what a normal childhood is other than what is spend in school, doing ECAs in schools on the weekends, tutoring after school and on the weekends, etc. On top of that, they have to compete at the primary level for spots in good schools with FTs who are sending their children to school in S'pore. At the secondary level, they also start meeting competition not from their own countrymen, but also from FT secondary students given scholarships to Singapore schools.

After secondary school and the tremendous push for good O levels, they have a just as much pressure to get into the Poly or Pre-U of their choice and again fighting off the now increasing number of scholarship students from abroad. Those who are males failing to progress to the next level will risk their health and life in 2 years of national service. The rest will face the same long hours, sacrifice and mental torture in the hopes of going to a local university. By this stage in their young lives, they have lost their childhood to the books and exams. Of course, the kids will all indulge in recreational activities on the side, but the pressure will be there in the background. Too much indulging will bring on feelings of guilt over lost time that could have been spend studying.

Finally, the survivors will go to university. But what and where they want to study is not decided for them. E.G. Even if they have the fantastic grades and want to study science, they might end up in law. So, after all the years of studying very hard, their life career is arbitrarily decided for them by someone else with no regards to their input. However, places in the faculty that they want to enter but could not, have been given to scholarship FTs from PRC, Vietnam, etc. who can barely string together a coherent sentence in english. Apparently, these FT's lack of english quality and non use of the A levels results can get them scholarships while singaporean born students cannot.

But lets say after all this, they manage to graduate from university, you would think they can now enjoy and reap the benefits of all the hard work in their studies. guess again. They now have to look for jobs in an economy flooded by 2 million FTs in all sectors. There is not one sector that is protected for singaporeans. Not the civil service, not law enforcement, nothing is sacred for native born singaporeans. Into this monstrosity of an economy created by the PAP, they have to fight FTs for jobs that are rightfully theirs and for which they have worked very hard. If they do get a job, it is of a lower wage due to the FTs depressing the wage structure of that segment of the economy. Couple this with the rising cost of everything from food to flats, and its not hard to understand that their lot in life after schooling is just as tough.

In other words, they can't catch a break any where. If students were truly aware of their future as described above, they would be even more depressed. We do we thank for this sorry state of affairs. The PAP for sure, for creating the system that they have to play in. The parents for pressuring their children to play it. For the educators for making sure they play it and punish them for not playing. All of us for not speaking out.

Japan has many lost generation.generation of hikikomori,generation of suicide,generation of otaku.

Lost generations usually result from people realizing they are failures and cmi in the world of reality.sinkies certain qualify in the daft and stupid cmi department.but I feel Singapore will never be the same level as Japan.in Japan people take pride and shame to a extremely high level.almost to an obsession.to them even being a outcast a degenerate a freak a weirdo is an art.depression is a

Japan's education system is only stressful when you take the entrance exams for the better universities. After that it's completely relaxing.

Sinkieland's education system is a pressure cooker at all stages.

Japan also has national health insurance with full coverage and you can make a decent living by simply working at a restaurant.

the lost children
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/ZRJ6ImfK1IA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Japan's education system is only stressful when you take the entrance exams for the better universities. After that it's completely relaxing.

Sinkieland's education system is a pressure cooker at all stages.

Japan also has national health insurance with full coverage and you can make a decent living by simply working at a restaurant.

yup, that is right. Singapore is a pressure cooker all the way.

In switzerland, they never discuss about grades to the parents. They only mention the child's behaviour and if he has any problrms communication or interacting with others. Bur that is what you would expect in a country train drivers probably get as much as a typical pilot.

sinkie is already lost back in 1992 when it started flooding with matlaysians. now even the matlaysians complain about too many tiongs and nehs and flips

From cradle to cremation, pressure cooker all the way. If there is a next life, hope it is something better.

For the older folk also.....

Die then they can relieve the pressures on their families when the cpf is finally released........

One thing for sure, the services of psychologists will be in demand about 20 years or so when all these broken childhood ones grow up and need all the couch-time.

Seriously though, something should be done about this. I am in Europe at the moment and watching my friends spend real quality time with their kids in the weekends makes me reflect what the children in Singapore are missing.

Used to know a number of national swimmers. Training starts at 6 am, then school, then back to the pool again after dinner.

Their life sucks. However, they still did well in their studies. Are they smarter. I think they are above average. However, they are way above other kids in terms of drive and determination. Most important, they have the financial support to engage the best tutor.

Now for the average kid next door. They don't have the

1 parental support and training at young age to build determination and perseverance like the swimmers
2 the money to engage top tutors

However, there are also normal kids who survived the system quite comfortably. They play hard but knows when to stop. They can go without sleep for weeks to get things done.

Therefore, parents and the quality of school teachers seems to be the main culprits when kids can't cope. Rightfully, there should be no need for tutors. Unfortunately, most kids now depends more on tutors than their teachers to do well. Isn't it ridiculous that a tutor who spend only about 1 hour plus a week can be of so much help to the kid as compared to the teachers whom they meet every weekday. Something is definitely very wrong. Teachers seems to be good only in making headlines for sex and molest.

When students don't do well, teachers will be quick to condemn them as stupid and lazy. It never occur to them that the teachers themselves could be the real problem as they can't teach in a way that the kids can understand and enjoy. When challenged to changed their teaching method, their immediate excuse would be that moe dictate the way of teaching and they are not allow to deviate from the prescribed norm. Well, at the end it is just plain laziness and lack of passion from the top in moe to the teachers on the ground that have caused all these mess. If tutors can do it in 1 hour per week then given 1 whole week, we expect a more decent output from the teachers.

I think the need for a tutor these days is not related to how well a child does in school. I know of kids that do well anyway regardless of having tuition but their parents force them to go tuition anyway.

Its really due to the kiasu self-fulfilling need of the parents that thinks their child will left out as "others are doing it so I cannot be left behind". The ultimate one that pays the price will be the child when he/she grows up socially/psychologically damaged.

I think the need for a tutor these days is not related to how well a child does in school. I know of kids that do well anyway regardless of having tuition but their parents force them to go tuition anyway.

Its really due to the kiasu self-fulfilling need of the parents that thinks their child will left out as "others are doing it so I cannot be left behind". The ultimate one that pays the price will be the child when he/she grows up socially/psychologically damaged.

I think that its a condemnation of an education system when such heavy use of tuition is going on. Says that the teachers cannot teach or teach badly, such that students have to go outside for help in their school work. There are hardly any tuition going on in Amercan schools unless its those kiasu asian parents that send their kids there, yet you walk among any US uni campus and you see many white kids that have never had tuition in their lives, yet have performed well enough to get into a good US uni. Fucking teachers in Singapore just heap home work upon homework for the kids. If they don't do it, their principals will get on their case. Or some stupid parents will complain. More homework assigned means more hours for the teachers to spend at home marking hw. Its a stupid vicious unnecesssary cycle. They should just keep the homework to a minimum and let the kids enjoy their lives. They are not giving out homework for knowledge, and the kids are not getting tutoring for subjects they are weak in. They are doing it for speed. So, they can asnwer questions faster and complete the exam with spare time to review their answers. I believe that if the kid already knows the subject, giving him 50 extra homework questions to do does not in any way improve his exam score. I am afraid this is a theory that is lacking in MOE.

Its because of all this so called stress that many Singaporean parents opt to leave to ang mor lands so the kids will be less pressured,,,,some of them even leave their high paying jobs and businesses so their kids will have a future.

But I also know of kiasu parents who leave for ang mor lands but make their kids take A levels so the kids will have an option to study in singapore again at a later date, Particularly if the kids are gals as no need to serve NS. I really dont know what to say....but hey kia su and kia see sticks with a singkie where ever they go,,,particularly the hokkeins,,,

Hypocrisy from this bugger.
i feel sorry for the present generation of school kids here in spore.at a very young age they were all judge whether they can make it or not.
this coming june holidays i wanted to bring my nephews and nieces to msia for a short break,a few can't make it cause the school has got extra class for them for the year end exam..wtf.
the whole thing of naming the top schools and students is sickening.:oIo:

Hypocrisy from this bugger.
i feel sorry for the present generation of school kids here in spore.at a very young age they were all judge whether they can make it or not.
this coming june holidays i wanted to bring my nephews and nieces to msia for a short break,a few can't make it cause the school has got extra class for them for the year end exam..wtf.
the whole thing of naming the top schools and students is sickening.:oIo:

Yup, I was quite shocked at the amount of time kids spend in their schools. i would say more than they spend at home. I don't agree with these shit about bringing the kids in for extra lessons during the school holidays because there is upcoming exams. Its not voluntary either for the kids. The teachers also have to burn their holidays. No one is the winner. Its just kiasu principals want to see their school get higher ratings in the exam.

Its because of all this so called stress that many Singaporean parents opt to leave to ang mor lands so the kids will be less pressured,,,,some of them even leave their high paying jobs and businesses so their kids will have a future.

But I also know of kiasu parents who leave for ang mor lands but make their kids take A levels so the kids will have an option to study in singapore again at a later date, Particularly if the kids are gals as no need to serve NS. I really dont know what to say....but hey kia su and kia see sticks with a singkie where ever they go,,,particularly the hokkeins,,,

I have not seen or heard of sinkies overseas sending their kids back to study in singapore. What would be the point of that?. If they are overseas and study hard, they can get into any number of local unis there at a subsidized rate or even on an easily obtained scholarship. Why bother coming back here for useless slogging and than have to compete with FTs on free scholarships? makes no sense to me.