• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Today's Scripture Reading

IR123

Dear IR123,....

I have read through your points carefully and try to understand if I will reach the same conclusions as you.

First, I am glad you attended the Alpha Course. It offers the basics and tenets of the faith.

Now, the following conclusions reached by you:

1) obedience to church (God is just their carrier).
2) More you give more you receive (again God is just their carrier)
3) recruitment for new members so 2) will profit more.

Somehow I feel that those are not what was taught. The Alpha Course touches on the things of God and our attitudes to it.

A quick clarification:

obedience to church is not right because the wheat and the chaff is not yet separated and who knows if the pastor is there for his own wealth? The issue is obedience to God and to work together as The Church to further the kingdom of Christ on earth as it is in heaven; In this respect, we accept the structure of the church we are in whilst not giving up the biblical command to test every spirit, especially those who claimed they are anointed;

more you give more you receive often relates to tithes; this statement is given in numerous ways and guises; but all the Bible requires you to do is to give what you determined in your mind to give, to give with a cheerful heart and to practice generousity of spirit because in doing so, you will be blessed;

recruitment of members so that can earn more tithes: this sounds like the local church is a business entreprise and therefore you need to be careful in examining the business model of the local church you are in; if it is controlled in the hands of a few people and all the money and power are retained by them, then be careful. This type of arrangement is evident in many areas: pastors will ordain their wives as co-pastors; control of the finances; money passed out to corporate company away from government governance; use of church resources to promote their books, dvds and their wives' career. Holding church services in a casino. However what does all these prove except that we are living in an imperfect world and the Bible always tell you to test every spirit and that even good spirits can fall under temptation. Is this localized only to the church? Look at politics.

Having said this, do i agree that recruitment is a means of getting more tithes? No. Absolutely not. For example, if you are to accept Christ, then I am glad. Not because of your tithes but because of your soul in the afterlife for you and hopefully all your ancestors and descendants and your life on earth - to live in dignity, guided by your Creator (your ancestors did not create you; God created you and loved you; He send his prophets to no avail and finally He sent His Son who was there with Him at the time of Creation). What for I care whether you pay tithes and add to the membership?!!!! If you need further evidence, I am taking time to write this to you and my time, frankly, is expensive.

If tithes are a major issue for you, go to the Anglican, Methodist or Catholic churches where they are more interested in your soul than your tithes. All you need is a local church to worship God in. The importance is knowing God and not wearing a brand.

To conclude, I am glad you attended the Alpha Course. Take your time to think through your thoughts, separate your ideas FROM the local church which you see as trying to dominate and exploit you TO the God who created and loved you.

I read through the post again and just want to answer one point: "Where is the relevant important of making a dead man (died 4 days ago) to alive? Question yourself why does Jesus want to bring a dead man alive? It does not prove God exists, agree?"

This incident recorded in the Gospels is one of the most significant. Who has power over Death? Throughout the life of a human being, he will undergo and overcome many trials and difficulties. Ask anyone and if they trust you, they may share their problems and challenges with you. No one ever has a straight road and for many, they overcome them and live successful lives. Yet all Men cannot overcome this enemy - Death.

Who has power over Death? Only God Himself. If Christ can raise a person from the dead, then Death cannot keep a hold over those He loves.

But what if Death claimed Christ? Can He still defeat Death? He did. Three days later He rose from the dead.

G

Goodnews

IR123,

My aunty, a tang kee, also can do that. She will write you a 'hu' and you burnt the 'hu' and mixed with a bowl of water and drink it. It's done. Good luck.

Tanwahtiu,

You kept introducing so many philosophers, religious 'leaders' and who knows which ‘god’, philosopher, you are going to introduce next. You don’t seem to run out of gods, hor

In one of replies, you have asked me to stop mentioning about your tang kee aunty and now you yourself again tell readers about your tang tee aunty! Your words really meant nothing!

This reminds me about seeking help from God. One writers who wrote in support of your comments has made a comment that even when Christians have sufferred from constipation, we still can be bothered to go and seek help from Jesus. He was belittling my Dear Lord. Let me tell you that whether we suffer from constipation or diarrhea, Jesus is ever-ready to help even the smallest discomfort, and on the other hand, nothing is too big for Him. Whether we have a toothache or a heartache, just reach out to Jesus and He is always ready to listen and to help. When a prostitute was brought to Jesus by the religious leaders and condemning her and wanted her dead, Jesus told them, “whoever has no sin, cast the first stone”. On hearing this, they left and Jesus told the prostitute, “Your sin is forgiven. Go and sin no more!” (John 8:7-11). You see, even if you are a prostitute, Jesus cares and He wants to heal you, regardless of who you are and what you did. He does not even bother to find out why…Just let Him knows of your needs, and He will do everything to help. We are serving a great God, not tang kee, hor.

Now about your tang kee aunty since you mentioned her again. Can you let us know whether when someone have constipation and went to see her for help, what was her attitude? Did she ready to help or tell them that his/her problem was too small because your aunty was a ‘high-class’ tang kee and only looked after people who were wealthy? In this world where money talks, you can classify all kinds of services into classes – one for the rich, one for the not so rich and one for the poor….which category your aunty tang kee belongs to….Sorry, actually, I have already forgotten all about your aunty tang kee, but your latest posting just reminded me…and so..please reply to the questions here and also the one I posted several days’ ago.

You still have not told us where is your great philosopher, Zarmarus now? After he went round teaching about the his belief, about God or no God, did he just leave this earth with a bye-bye and goodbye and leave all his disciples wondering where they will be going when they died?

Before Jesus died and went to heaven, He has promised us to come again and to receive us to His Heavenly Kingdom. Jesus did not leave this world and just say bye-bye and goodbye to His children. He left to be our High Priest, interceding for us in Heaven. He left to prepare for us a heavenly home and He will come to take us to the heavenly home that He is preparing for us.

So, where is Zamarus now? Please tell us.

Also, you still have not answered me why would such a great emperor like the First Emperor of China who built the great wall of China to protect his country from attack by barbarians so that he could bring peace to his country still considered himself not good enough to go to heaven. Instead, he thought that the only place for him was hell and he was on a one-way ticket there bringing along thousand of clay soldiers.

Please answers my questions before you label people with low IQ. But I want to admit that as Christains, the answer is an affirmative "yes". In the eyes of the world we are fools and this is exactly what the Bible says. You see, what the Bible tells us is also true. We are fools in the eyes of the world but the good news is that we are wise in the eyes of our Saviour, Jesus Christ. That's the most important thing because God has said: The fools has said that there is no God. In God eyes, it is the opposite from the world. In fact, just about everything, what is happening to the world and what the world likes, they are just diagonally in opposition to God.

The tomb of Jesus is empty. The Bible has said, we come into this world bringing nothing and we will leave bringing out nothing. Jesus is truly the reflection of what is being taught here. He left this world with absolutely nothing but only His spoken Word, His Gospel, the Gospel of Good News, the Gospel of Himself, Jesus Christ. All the teachings that He has taught us were by His spoken words and were recorded by His disciples. He has never written anything on paper unlike many other sages who had written volumes and volumes but alas many are left in the libraries collecting dusts. Jesus left the world with absolutely nothing - even the tomb that His body was buried with was a borrowed tomb. The only possession He has was the clothe that He worn at the very last minutes of His life and has become so torn because He was so grossly whiped and pierced that no one would want to have that piece of clothe. It's worst than a rug you can find in any street in Calcutta. Jesus left the earth with completely nothing in every true sense of the word. No one has ever left this world the way Jesus did. What a great God we serve!

Although Jesus has never written a single word on paper, but His Gospel is now translated into more than 2,200 languages! When you are telling the true, people will just listen because within us, we are always yearning for truth especially God's truth. When it comes to language translations of books, there is no close second. I don't think I have known of any books being translated to more than 50 languages let about 2,200! Even a book is translated to 100, 200 or even 300 languages, compared to the Bible, it's really peanut and rightly so...sadly some books that are translated into many languages but only for "monkeys" to read as we can see some in novels, etc.

But the Gospels of Jesus, the Bible is read by, studied at and researched into by people from all diversities, all nations from farmers to Nobel Prize scientists! Every nation from the biggest nation to the tiniest nation, you will inevitable find some Bible-believing Christians. The Word of God, the Bible is certainly not written for monkeys and for that matter, monkeys will never read the Bible let alone understand it. It is written only for the children of God, for His people, the precious souls of His Kingdom.

God bless

Last edited by a moderator:

IR123

......For example, if you are to accept Christ, then I am glad. Not because of your tithes but because of your soul in the afterlife for you and hopefully all your ancestors and descendants and your life on earth - to live in dignity, guided by your Creator.....

Just in case my points above gives rise to misunderstanding i wish to clarify that if you believe Christ, your change of character will make you become a living example of godlly, moral and responsible behaviour that those you love: parents, children and perhaps grandchildren may want to know Christ too.

A united family, with faithful spouses, responsible and obedient parents and children, guided by Almightly God, will be an oasis in today's world.

Again take your time to think through what you had been taught in the Alpha course - who is God, who is Christ, the evidence for Christ as God the Son. If you are convinced, then pray to Christ to forgive your sins and to come into you and your life. Then walk to the local church of your choice and begin a new life.

wrcboi

Just in case my points above gives rise to misunderstanding i wish to clarify that if you believe Christ, your change of character will make you become a living example of godlly, moral and responsible behaviour that those you love: parents, children and perhaps grandchildren may want to know Christ too.

A united family, with faithful spouses, responsible and obedient parents and children, guided by Almightly God, will be an oasis in today's world.

Again take your time to think through what you had been taught in the Alpha course - who is God, who is Christ, the evidence for Christ as God the Son. If you are convinced, then pray to Christ to forgive your sins and to come into you and your life. Then walk to the local church of your choice and begin a new life.

hey if i write a book of tales...would u believe in it????

Goodnews

Now about your tang kee aunty since you mentioned her again.

Sama Sama Matt 10:20 20 For it is not ye that speak, but the Spirit of your Father which speaketh in you.

It is not my aunty that speak but the 'spirit of you father' which speak to you. herein faher can be ancestor(s) or first ancestor speaking to you.

Can you let us know whether when someone have constipation and went to see her for help, what was her attitude?

You cannot pang sai you want God to help? You get horny you want God to screw you you or you screw God?

You still have not told us where is your great philosopher, Zarmarus now? http://www.jesusneverexisted.com/buddha.html

Before Jesus died and went to heaven, He has promised us to come again and to receive us to His Heavenly Kingdom. Jesus did not leave this world and just say bye-bye and goodbye to His children. He left to be our High Priest, interceding for us in Heaven. He left to prepare for us a heavenly home and He will come to take us to the heavenly home that He is preparing for us.

Matt 22:32 32 I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob? God is not the God of the dead, but of the living.

Look cloasely at this verse which end with a question mark? It is a sceptical question even Jesus can't comprehend.

So He said God is God of the living, not God of the dead. Dead man tells no lies nor story. So when Jesus said about his kingdom of heaven (Son of David hypo make up), perhaps it was his own palace in heaven with many mansion (John 14:3) , not God's place. There is no God for the death, so when you are dead you become a carcass (a static timeless and motionless) as Ron Hubbard, founder of scientology, said in his scientology theory.

So whatever Jesus said is true, what is your take on this?

The Bible has said, we come into this world bringing nothing and we will leave bringing out nothing. Jesus is truly the reflection of what is being taught here. He left this world with absolutely nothing but only His spoken Word, His Gospel, the Gospel of Good News, the Gospel of Himself, Jesus Christ. All the teachings that He has taught us were by His spoken words and were recorded by His disciples. He has never written anything on paper unlike many other sages who had written volumes and volumes but alas many are left in the libraries collecting dusts. Jesus left the world with absolutely nothing - even the tomb that His body was buried with was a borrowed tomb. The only possession He has was the clothe that He worn at the very last minutes of His life and has become so torn because He was so grossly whiped and pierced that no one would want to have that piece of clothe. It's worst than a rug you can find in any street in Calcutta. Jesus left the earth with completely nothing in every true sense of the word. No one has ever left this world the way Jesus did. What a great God we serve!

.....to the tiniest nation, you will inevitable find some Bible-believing Christians. The Word of God, the Bible is certainly not written for monkeys and for that matter, monkeys will never read the Bible let alone understand it. It is written only for the children of God, for His people, the precious souls of His Kingdom.

If Jesus is God, the Jews will tell you so, Jews are God hand make people starting with Adam. If Jews says no how you as Gentile beleive Paul (the Roman prosecutors of jews) version of Jesus is God.

You are Gentiles and not circumcised either. So there is nothing you can do but just beleive and hope Mr Jew (Jesus) will accept you into his kingdom of heaven.

Noe more gentle reminder from Word of God:
Matt: 22: 32 I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob? (is it?)

God is not the God of the dead, but of the living.

G

Goodnews

hey if i write a book of tales...would u believe in it????

To begin with, you think you know how to write one meh!!!! And how many you think you can sell???? Don't overestimate yourself, hor.

As what IR123 has said, we respect your own tale (and sometime we call tale as 'cock and bull story') and your belief of the tale that you have, that you intend to write. But the big question is: Are there are people want to believe your tale, let alone reading it. How many languages you think your tale will be translated into?

The life history of Jesus is no tale. It can be fully substantiated through historical and archelogical records! Can a book that is just a 'tale' and is translated into over 2,200 languages? Which angle and perspective you look at it - it is a Book that is worth reading it and believing it. And we don't just read for entertainment. This Book of all books, the Bible, has transforming power - healing of relationship, healing of people's character and more importantly, this God-inspired Book, the Bible, tells us how much God loves us and wants to reconcile us to Him.

Good luck to your tale (or your 'cock and bull' story) writing effort, hor. Let us know when it's ready, may be I will buy one. So, in the meantime, you should stop writing in the thread here and concentrate on your tale-writing...who knows, hor, you many get a lot of royalty out of the sale....keep dreaming hor...it may come true, leh.

The Bible, the KJV version is not copyrighted. Anyone can go and print one and you don't need to pay any royalty because God's Word is free for anyone who believe. That goes the same for the Hebrew Bible (that is the Old Testament) and the Greek New Testament. Print what you want the Hebrew Bible and the NT Greek Bible and 'sell' or distribute them whatever way you like. You don't need to pay royalty for that. God's Word is free for everyone who cares to read and to believe.

It's a real miracle that God has given the English Bible (the KJV) that is not copyrighted. English language has been one of the most widely spoken language on the earth and God' truly wants as many people to read His Word - without the need to pay for it because His Word is free, His mercy is free and His grace is free - and are ready to give to whoever want to receive them.

After the KJV Bible was translated and printed, only then the copyright laws in UK were enacted....that was in 1700s. The KJV was written and published in the early 1600. There wasn't any copyright laws during this time! Everything that God does, He has the reason and that including the time of His action. So, don't live like there is no tomorrow because tomorrow may not come. Make no mistakes about it...come to Jesus now! Repent and be saved!

God bless.

IR123,

What for I care whether you pay tithes and add to the membership?!!!! If you need further evidence, I am taking time to write this to you and my time, frankly, is expensive.

Why bother to write and participate here if your time is expensive. Go away.

To conclude, I am glad you attended the Alpha Course.

......through the post again and just want to answer one point: "Where is the relevant important of making a dead man (died 4 days ago) to alive? Question yourself why does Jesus want to bring a dead man alive? It does not prove God exists, agree?"

This incident recorded in the Gospels is one of the most significant. Who has power over Death? Throughout the life of a human being, he will undergo and overcome many trials and difficulties. Ask anyone and if they trust you, they may share their problems and challenges with you. No one ever has a straight road and for many, they overcome them and live successful lives. Yet all Men cannot overcome this enemy - Death. .....

Matt 22: 32 I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob? God is not the God of the dead, but of the living.

Look closely at the question mark? It represent something sceptical! It could mean dead Abraham is not with God and either Issac or Jacob. Abraham, Issac and Jacob, once they had died there is no God with them - as Jesus said God is not God of the dead. So God is only for the living, like a rabbi telling you to be rigtheous.

Then Jews has tuaght you the wrong thing. Death is part and parcel of life. Death is not your own enemy, where you get that from? Perhaps God give you the power to choose when you want to die, but it was the man made law that stop you from do so. If you try to kill yourself unsuccesfull it become a crime and go to jail for that.

Death, od dead, give you the ultimate choice of ending your painful terminal illness and be free from the pain and suffering from theat viruses in your body. Simple.

Who has power over Death? Only God Himself.
You have the power over death, but can only do it once successfully, failure become a crime, a criminal law. Perhaps, God give you a ace card to free you from pain and suffering from illness. Most mircales Jesus performed were medical, not fortune and gambling.

If Christ can raise a person from the dead, then Death cannot keep a hold over those He loves. But what if Death claimed Christ? Can He still defeat Death? He did. Three days later He rose from the dead.

Jesus death and Las death were 2 different scenario. One is a dead carcass (Las) made alive and can breath, eat and walk again. Jesus death was no carcass found and he rose again not in human form but in tang kee spirit form. Jesus rose again is sceptical, a fairly tale story. Perhaps it is like you loved a person so much you keep thinking of him, and also dream of him often.

Matt 22: 32 I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob? God is not the God of the dead, but of the living.

So let's confirm here that there is no God for the dead, but God for the living. So no God (of the dead) waiting for you after you died and as such no heaven or hell will be waiting for you. No God means no I/C waiting to you judge you (Judgement time). Your carcass is left to be buried or burn. Simple.

commoner

I love the discussion of bible.

the premise of using the best seller book of all time and being translated into many languages is such a desperate attempt to say what th bible said is true. Did the bible sell faster than any of the harry's potter's book of the same period? or even dan's brown da vinci code. The argument is so cliche.

This historical jesus and biblical bible. He existed because? In actual fact, which historian actually record formally about the existence?

In a circular argument, all scripture is god-inspired, and this statemet is from scripture. See the problem?

In selection of which books should become part of the bible, even when there were criterias set, but they do not have the advantage of computer to do cross check thus the selection and some passages were not so cohesive.

Imagine, in the bible, it says whoever add or subtract etc etc,,,,,, Mark last few verses were missing from the old text, but was in the new text, who add or subtract?

what about those with missing words in between, whereby the scribes add in to make them looks more cohesive. Who adds and wo subtrs and who amends. There are no software to track any amendments to the text.

The Bible? Not much different from the Quran regarding its authenticity

G

Goodnews

the premise of using the best seller book of all time and being translated into many languages is such a desperate attempt to say what th bible said is true. Did the bible sell faster than any of the harry's potter's book of the same period? or even dan's brown da vinci code. The argument is so cliche.

Comparing Bible to Harry Potter's book! What a plain insult. Harry Potter's books were sold to kids (or many of them are) and after reading, they just put away to collect dust. Yes, Harry Potter's book was popular, but for only a season. Nobody seems to be talking about it anymore. But Bible is sold and read by many people for ages (in every true sense of the word) from average person to great scientists. Many don't just read, they studied at and research into and also just as many have spent all the lives reading and sharing the good news that are recorded in the Bible. It is not just a question of being the most popular book. But it's the sustainability. The Bible has sustained being the most popular book, the best seller for hundred of years till this day! Why? It transforms lives for those who read it to become more Godly, more Christ-like, yearning more to be holy. There are many, many popular books, but sadly just as many of these books deform the lives for those who read them; many of the readers become more worldly, more self-centered and they are pulled by these books to participate in witchcraft and all kinds evil practices. That's the big difference! By the way, do you know who is one of the riches women in the world.....the author of Harry Potter! Thanks to all those who have bought her book and watch her movie!

IR123

Hi Goodnews,

The points have been made. Arguments cannot change minds. Let's move on.

Have a good day :smile:

Cheers

G

Goodnews

Comparing Bible to Harry Potter's book! What a plain insult. Harry Potter's books were sold to kids (or many of them are) and after reading, they just put away to collect dust. The Bible is sold and read by many people from average person to great scientists. Many don't just read, they studied at and research into and also just as many have spent all the lives reading and sharing the good news that are recorded in the Bible.

commoner

does translation and read by many = truth? ah?

scientist and researchers do read and studied, so it makes the bible true?

So should one day, the buddhist sutra became most translated, studied and believed, so it must be true?

comparing harry potter's book and bible is definitely an insult to JK Rowlings because harry potter's claimed to be a story book whereas bible claims to be true. I read the bible cover to cover 5 times, I read the final book of Harry Potter more than that, and some of Jin Yong novels 10 times.

Life transformation from the bible? I met money grabbing pastors, I met devout christians in brothels. Of course I,too, met nice christians, the same goes to buddhists, muslims and atheists. Life transformation because of bible? maybe yes maybe no?

I know may places in ulu ulu area, Michael Jackson, Madonna is more well-known than Jesus.

I write for your benefit.

Since you have made up your mind regarding Christ, I will take my leave.

This is no corporate report where you are paid, expensively, and the marktet see fit to pay you. So using money to guage this Chritianity serve no benefit if you think you must be paid for writing in this forum.

G

Goodnews

does translation and read by many = truth? ah?

scientist and researchers do read and studied, so it makes the bible true?

So should one day, the buddhist sutra became most translated, studied and believed, so it must be true?

comparing harry potter's book and bible is definitely an insult to JK Rowlings because harry potter's claimed to be a story book whereas bible claims to be true. I read the bible cover to cover 5 times, I read the final book of Harry Potter more than that, and some of Jin Yong novels 10 times.

Life transformation from the bible? I met money grabbing pastors, I met devout christians in brothels. Of course I,too, met nice christians, the same goes to buddhists, muslims and atheists. Life transformation because of bible? maybe yes maybe no?

I know may places in ulu ulu area, Michael Jackson, Madonna is more well-known than Jesus.

You can read Bible 5,000 times. That wouldn't make you a Christian. Only we come to receive and acknowledge that Jesus is the Savour, accept His blood and He will redeem us to reconcile with God, the Father, and only when we repent of our sins. You read 5 times, 500 times, 50,000 times of the Bible if you are not right with God that's no use. In fact, since you have the knowledge about God and continue to refuse to accept Him, you will face greater judgment on the Judgment Day!

wrcboi

You can read Bible 5,000 times. That wouldn't make you a Christian. Only we come to receive and acknowledge that Jesus is the Savour, accept His blood and He will redeem us to reconcile with God, the Father, and only when we repent of our sins. You read 5 times, 500 times, 50,000 times of the Bible if you are not right with God that's no use. In fact, since you have the knowledge about God and continue to refuse to accept Him, you will face greater judgment on the Judgment Day!

when is judgement day?? your god seems to be very petty from your words above

commoner

you believe jesus died for your sins because the bible tells you so,,,, if the source is unquestionable, where does your faith stands?

you can believe jesus died for your sins, and hallujah all the way, and at the end of the day, that still does not make the bible factual.