Today 5 Sept is Teacher's Day in Singapore. We follow India Teacher's day instead of UNESCO which is on 5 October .

Teachers' Day origins vary globally, but the internationally recognized World Teachers' Day is October 5th, established by UNESCO in 1994 to celebrate the anniversary of a 1966 intergovernmental conference on teacher status.

In contrast, India's Teachers' Day on September 5th commemorates the birthday of its second President, Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, who suggested observing the day to honor teachers rather than celebrating his own birthday.

World Teachers' Day (October 5)

• Origin:
    UNESCO established this day in 1994 to acknowledge teachers' achievements and importance.
  • Significance:
    It marks the anniversary of the 1966 UNESCO Recommendation Concerning the Status of Teachers, a document outlining teachers' rights and responsibilities.
  • Focus:
    The day raises awareness of the teacher's role in shaping minds and society, and addresses challenges facing education globally.
Teachers' Day in India (September 5)

• Origin:
    The day is observed to honor Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, a philosopher, politician, and the second President of India.
  • Significance:
    When Radhakrishnan became President in 1962, his students asked to celebrate his birthday.
  • Reason for Celebration:
    He requested that his birthday be observed as Teachers' Day instead, a privilege he felt would honor the efforts of teachers in shaping the nation's future.
Other Notable Teachers' Days

• Pan American Teacher's Day (September 11): This day in Argentina and other American countries is in memory of Domingo F. Sarmiento, a former president who championed universal education.

I was once a playful boy in both primary and secondary school before I woke up from my slumber before the O Levels. I went onto JC and NUS because a particular teacher in Sec 4 believed in me. Her encouragement and kind words spurred me on to greater heights.

Is she a chiobu?

A woman was sitting in the waiting room for her first appointment with a new dentist. She noticed his degree on the wall, which bore his full name. Suddenly, the patient remembered a tall, handsome, dark-haired boy with the same name had been in her JC class 35 years ago. Could he be the same guy that she had a secret crush on, way back then? Upon seeing him, the woman quickly discarded any such thought. This balding, grey-haired man with the deeply lined face was way too old to have been her classmate. After he examined her teeth, she asked him if he had attended the same JC. "Yes, I did" he said with pride. "Why do you ask?" "You were in my class!", the woman exclaimed. The dentist looked at her closely. Then, that old, bald, wrinkled faced dentist asked: "What subject did you teach"?

Wait a minute, they change the month for teacher's day?

in the past, teacher day occurred around September.. what cock shit are you spewing.. then after that ,the next month is children's day.

Teechers are also ceevil servants. I don't see why they have to have a 'Day'. Some of these idiots cannot even teach. Principals rule over their schools like feudal lords, probably get kicks from their power trips

Papayas are raised and taught by Neh Neh to become banana angmoh-pai scholars last time ... now they government and control MOE .... of course make Cecapore people all follow Neh Neh Teachers Day lah .... prease understand their filial piety in blood .... :whistling:

Greater heights ? And come to this forum ? Not very high then

Forum is for Sinkie losers. Accept the truth and the truth will set you free. No one from Uptron is here.
Except for you. Many Samsters are here sharing their vast knowledge, experience and expertise. We are either retired, semi-retired or in senior management who have delegated more responsibilities to subordinates because we no longer need the money. Many of us are proud graduates of NUS and not a counterfeit educational institution like your alma mater, Uptron.

Unfortunately the villagers have set up base & now uni of Bombay, uni of boleh...Kick out grads of uni of sinkie. Thanks to blank checks 65%.

The National University of S'pore (NUS) vs Uptron Academy in New Delhi, India. Hahaha!

c4938c16-4f42-4dd6-8837-c9ff5d860475_Foto%20met%20logo.jpg
img_6917.jpg

The National University of S'pore (NUS) vs Uptron Academy in New Delhi, India. Hahaha!

c4938c16-4f42-4dd6-8837-c9ff5d860475_Foto%20met%20logo.jpg
img_6917.jpg
Over the last few decades, higher education has become more accessible and widespread to S'poreans. The SG govt promoted university degrees as the primary pathway to success, leading to a significant increase in the number of grads entering the workforce each year. Instead of creating jobs for these degree holders, the PAP has gone for short term gains by growing our population through the importing of 650,000 CECAs and other foreigners. As the no. of degree holders has grown, the no. of jobs traditionally requiring a university degree has not kept pace. To compound matters, the govt is absorbing unemployed and underemployed grads from 3rd world countries like India.
Sinkies lost 650,000 jobs to uptron.....