• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TOC Forum FR Summary Communique

<DIR>dr chee want hdb to sell at cost
chiam think the hdb is making $
gms disagree with hdb as a notion of investment
ctl want hdb price to be more affordable by shortening the lease to 50 yrs
</DIR>

Multi-Opposition Round Table...

CTL : I propose shortening HDB lease to 50 years to make flats cheaper.

GMS : You don't know economics also you know law. That'll make mortgages more expensive at the risk of old age homeless and penniless.

CTL : What are you talking about? How can 50-year lease be more expensive than 99-year lease?

GMS : All mortgages must have 30 years remaining post mortgage. Your 50-year lease would qualify for a maximum 20-year mortgage only for new flat, even shorter or outright disqualified for older resale flats. You think what? Shopping centre lease is it? This is home mortgage.

CST : (Looking at GMS and thinking, that's a nice tie.) Whatever and however, according to my experience, HDB is always making money.

KJ : GMS is right. Home mortgage must have tail end free allowance. It's not really free but commuted upfront. Otherwise, mortgagee would simply stop paying when there's less than 30 years left and buy another home. Where to find buyers for under-30 leases? The bank would repossess something without resale value.

CST : I propose selling new HDB flats at cost price.

GG : (Quietly thinking, 80% already owned flats with 20% looking to buy flats. Crashing the resale market is not such a good idea whether socio-economically or politically, but diplomatically commented...) No comment.

How come they so poor .... drink only plain water ..... I thought should have heineken or chivas ??:eek:

Because Equalisation the R&R Officer never go pay the bill! :oIo:
Food also don't have, don't talk about Heineken or Chivas. :mad:

How come in Facebook, GMS don't label CST? He named KJ, CTL and GG but not CST.

GST no friend with CST?

Multi-Opposition Round Table...

CTL (thinking): Must report whatever I see and hear to make myself visible to voters.

GMS (thinking): Quick, must say something to sound clever so people think I am clever.

CST (thinking): When can we go back? Let's get this over with. I need to rest.

KJ (thinking): What in heaven's name am I doing here with people that are not up to my intellect!

GG (thinking): I better not open my mouth, otherwise people will know I stupid. Wahlau, they put the menu so close to me some more. ... they expect me to blangah them is it?

http://yfittopostblogsg.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/600yahoo_group.jpg

The ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) skipped a major political forum on Thursday evening which was attended by the leaders of Singapore’s political parties.

Organised by socio-political website, The Online Citizen, the event which was held in a packed ballroom at the Quality Hotel in Balestier was attended by over 350 people, made up mostly of the public, party activists and the media.

Leaders of the various political parties including Kenneth Jeyaretnam of the Reform Party (RP), Chia Ti Lik of the Socialist Front and Secretary-General of the National Solidarity Party, Goh Meng Seng (NSP), were guest panellists.

Chee Soon Juan of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), Chiam See Tong of Singapore People’s Party (SPP) and Gerald Giam representing The Workers’ Party (WP) were also present during the 2-and-a-half-hour dialogue.

However, as the political leaders took their seats, a chair was conspicuously empty — the PAP was the only political party who chose not to send a representative.

Before the forum began, moderator Mr Choo Zheng Xi, 25, addressed the “elephant in the room” and said, “We did actually invite the PAP. We sent an email to the Secretary-general of the PAP, Mr Lee Hsien Loong, and reached out to an MP who said was keen to come. He asked for clearance but did not get it.”

Yahoo! SEA understands the MP in question was Mr Zaqy Mohamad, who is Vice-Chairman of the young PAP and head of the party’s media subcommittee and new media engagement.

In an email reply to Yahoo! SEA, the MP for Hong Kah GRC declined comment and suggested we contact PAP HQ for an official comment.

When asked about the PAP’s absence, Reform Party chief Mr Jeyaretnam said “it was a definitely a huge loss for PAP itself. It was an opportunity to engage those in the forum just like the debates held in the US or the UK.”

Forum moderator, Mr Choo, a 25-year-old law graduate added, “It was not just plain debate, it was a debate of substantive quality. Real, significant issues were profoundly discussed tonight and the PAP missed out on it.”

A member of the public who called himself Chetan said the PAP missed a chance to connect to their constituents ahead of the next General Election.

“They missed an important process of dialogue with other political figures. Perhaps they are still suspicious of the new media, ” said the 30-year-old engineer.

However, a blogger who was present, Donaldson Tan, said that although their absence was disappointing, the party actually did not have much to lose.

“It’s not much of a loss for the party. The PAP conducts its own forums and meetings with its activists to gain feedback from the ground. But their absence did mean that there was no robust debate between the ruling party and the opposition,” said the editor of the New Asia Republic.

<DIR>dr chee want hdb to sell at cost
chiam think the hdb is making $
gms disagree with hdb as a notion of investment
ctl want hdb price to be more affordable by shortening the lease to 50 yrs
</DIR>

Dr Chee's notion will go well with the people, because people want houses sold at cost. But it will not go well with the govt. A bit like the malaysia govt where they give a lot of subsidies for petrol, and basic necessities and when 1 day they want to give less which in this case is to increase the cost, people will not be happy when costs go up and at their expense.

Chiam's notion that hdb is making $, is not wrong. But hdb will tell you aren't these home owners making money also by selling their flats in the resale market?

GMS's disagree on notion of investment in hdb flats will not go down well with home owners. GMS sold his hdb flat and did he make a profit out of it? Sell a flat at value for 400K is also overvalued when it was bought for 200K. There is a return of 200K so will anyone be foolish to sell at 200K when market is selling at 400K? Will people be willing not to earn a single cent from selling their flat in resale market? People will say siao, when they hear this.

CTL suggestion of reducing to 50yrs lease. C'mon, people are already complaining its 99yr pigeon hole lease and still want to reduce. So let me ask once that hdb flat reaches 30yrs old with only 20yrs of lease left, who will loan money. It would make hdb flats become a liability if it is reduced to 50yrs.

I think its best they have to reassess whose suggestion will be the best suggestion which most common people want to listen. Having a suggestion which people will not accept is tantamount to suicide before winning an election. Politicians will lose a lot of votes from home-owners where they are trying ways and means to bring the value of their homes down.

I really think CST should retire and enjoy family life. He has already done a lot.

GMS should publish his resume online so Sinkies can decide whether or not to trust this person.

Without a knowledge of his past, how can you place Tampines GRC in his hands???

GMS should publish his resume online so Sinkies can decide whether or not to trust this person.

Without a knowledge of his past, how can you place Tampines GRC in his hands???

He will never do that, it is equivalent to suicide!

But he calls for transparency and accountability leh

How come he dare to calls for these two terms when he is not honest and forthcoming with his work experience and personal history?????

Another double-headed snake