• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TKPS Deaths - MOE COI?

On the subject of risk management I've just returned from Bangkok.

The traffic there is chaotic but there is almost zero road rage. You see whole families on motorbikes with no helmets. Some mothers are carrying 3 month old babies on pillion sitting side saddle.

By right there should be carnage but I did not come across a single accident during my whole week there. It's because the inherent danger has heightened the survival instincts of all road users. There's no such thing as "right of way" there. It's more like "I need all my wits to survive".

The net result is society where survival skills are honed to a far higher degree.

Exactly ! If we are so protected ( this can't do, that don't try and please don't go out , the sky might fall down ) , how do we know what risk is ? How do we even know how to respond if we see danger ?

Now you know why Singapore are also refer as nanny state ? Those anti-PAPs actucally wants the government to control their every move at the same time they want to criticize the government for being busybody ;)

SG is known as a nanny state because the govt wants to control every aspect of Singaporeans' life eg refusing to allow senior citizens to get back their CPF monies

Now you know why Singapore are also refer as nanny state ? Those anti-PAPs actucally wants the government to control their every move at the same time they want to criticize the government for being busybody ;)

SG is known as a nanny state because the govt wants to control every aspect of Singaporeans' life eg refusing to allow senior citizens to get back their CPF monies

Exactly ! If we are so protected ( this can't do, that don't try and please don't go out , the sky might fall down ) , how do we know what risk is ? How do we even know how to respond if we see danger ?

Do you have this "how to respond if you see danger" predicament?

TracyTan could well be the insurer for the school teachers and children... huge payout for so many deaths. So, need COI to mitigate premium payout.

Or perhaps , there is some personal affect on Tracy from the Sabah 's quake that she can't accept loss and is in a state of denial ?

She chained her bike to the lamp post at the foot of the mountain ;)

Do you have this "how to respond if you see danger" predicament?

it's not surprising that sinkie critics of gov highhandedness are the same morons who are spontaneously demanding for the same gov highhandedness that they detest on every tragic event and incident that cruelly expose the ignorance and powerlessness of the find-someone-to-blame sinkie psyche.

it's a walled-garden psyche, where nothing must go wrong in the comfort of a cocoon, including unforeseen natural calamities and disasters. otherwise, hellish heckles shall be unleashed unceasingly, until cows come home and the dead is resurrected. it's akin to a spoilt brat throwing tantrums, and that behavior is allowed to be carried through adulthood.

to learn how to respond to danger, sinkies need to be thrown into danger. there's no other way to learn it and hone one's instincts to deal with it. otherwise, sinkies can stay within their walled garden. that's what a predictable coi will recommend. why waste time when the outcome has already been decided?

image.jpg

Now some of you want the government to control school activity when nature disaster strikes ? Why the double standard ? Which group of people making noise when the government wants to banned the sale of alcohol in little India ? It's the same group of people who kpkb and wanting the goverment to control school activity !!

it's not surprising that sinkie critics of gov highhandedness are the same morons who are spontaneously demanding for the same gov highhandedness that they detest on every tragic event and incident that cruelly expose the ignorance and powerlessness of the find-someone-to-blame sinkie psyche.

it's a walled-garden psyche, where nothing must go wrong in the comfort of a cocoon, including unforeseen natural calamities and disasters. otherwise, hellish heckles shall be unleashed unceasingly, until cows come home and the dead is resurrected. it's akin to a spoilt brat throwing tantrums, and that behavior is allowed to be carried through adulthood.

to learn how to respond to danger, sinkies need to be thrown into danger. there's no other way to learn it and hone one's instincts to deal with it. otherwise, sinkies can stay within their walled garden. that's what a predictable coi will recommend. why waste time when the outcome has already been decided?

Yes, return what belongs to Singaporeans when they reach 55 years old. Don't be a nanny state. Allow Singaporeans to live the lives they choose. If they want to take risk, so be it

Now some of you want the government to control school activity when nature disaster strikes ? Why the double standard ? Which group of people making noise when the government wants to banned the sale of alcohol in little India ? It's the same group of people who kpkb and wanting the goverment to control school activity !!

All I asked for is a COI to get to the truth of this tragedy. MOE must not deny truth from coming out.

Yesterday, MOE corrected themselves and said that the students took an easier route and not the route MOE had said earlier. How many more untruths have been told. If MOE is true to their mission, it must convene a COI without delay

Better to trust someone working in Sim Lim.

Sad but true! Imho, any COI to be effective must be fearlessly independent and un-beholden to the government. From independence till this day, one can easily count the no. of COIs convened by the government. Many a times, despite strong public clamouring for COI to be convened, it has been rebuffed by the government based on spurious and self-serving grounds. Further, the kind of people appointed to the various COIs and their findings do not generally inspire any confidence and trust except for the very people who had appointed them in the first place. Quite simply put, thus far, those who are appointed to sit in the COIs have to be more than just being qualified in terms of their academic/professional pedigrees, they also have to be politically correct. No point then in convening this type of COI. It is just a form of wayang to placate the masses.

Yes, return what belongs to Singaporeans when they reach 55 years old. Don't be a nanny state. Allow Singaporeans to live the lives they choose. If they want to take risk, so be it

In the next discounts booklets sent to the 700,000, would be "subsidised" vouchers for those 55-64 years old, 25% off, 65 - 74, 35%.....75 & above.....they pay only 10%, but insurance will cost $1,000 plus half price burial fees...or bury or cremate at trade prices....for active & aging...in the Omega Challenge to climb Mt. Kinabalu using the safest route...:D

Sad but true! Imho, any COI to be effective must be fearlessly independent and un-beholden to the government. From independence till this day, one can easily count the no. of COIs convened by the government. Many a times, despite strong public clamouring for COI to be convened, it has been rebuffed by the government based on spurious and self-serving grounds. Further, the kind of people appointed to the various COIs and their findings do not generally inspire any confidence and trust except for the very people who had appointed them in the first place. Quite simply put, thus far, those who are appointed to sit in the COIs have to be more than just being qualified in terms of their academic/professional pedigrees, they also have to be politically correct. No point then in convening this type of COI. It is just a form of wayang to placate the masses.

Fully agree.

A COI is only as useful as the independence and integrity of its Chairman and members.

A govt which tries to influence a COI is a bad govt. Likewise a govt which tries to influence the independence of the Judiciary is also a bad govt. Do these sound familiar in SG?

The 60% better wake up to what's killing SG

In the next discounts booklets sent to the 700,000, would be "subsidised" vouchers for those 55-64 years old, 25% off, 65 - 74, 35%.....75 & above.....they pay only 10%, but insurance will cost $1,000 plus half price burial fees...or bury or cremate at trade prices....for active & aging...in the Omega Challenge to climb Mt. Kinabalu using the safest route...:D

hahahaha...Singaporeans better wake up and know what's good for SG

All I asked for is a COI to get to the truth of this tragedy. MOE must not deny truth from coming out.

The last COI has unjustly stopped me from having a late night beer at coffeeshop.
The police probably used the same excuse to install many CCTVs at my flat. Feel like a prison.

Please no more COI. :)

hahahaha...Singaporeans better wake up and know what's good for SG

Don't worry, it is safe, pre-existing illness is ok...if they know what is good for SG...they should have voted wisely, thinking of a future for their descendants..