• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TikToker says Jumbo is crap. Overpriced, Over-rated.

Will those losers come out kpkb again?
The local trend now is can it give bad reviews
You slap my back I slap yours

Try the Jumbo at Dempsey Hill. I believe there's one at Sentosa too, near the casino lobby. :biggrin:

Just use ChatGPT & they will advice you

The creation of Chilli Crab is widely credited to Madam Cher Yam Tian and her husband, Mr. Lim Choon Ngee, in Singapore during the 1950s.

Their son, Mr. Lim Kwee Hiong, later helped grow the business into the now-famous Palm Beach Seafood Restaurant (and later Roland Restaurant).

https://maps.app.goo.gl/E8v74KQX8JctGzj18

Since time immemorial Jumbo restaurant has always been known as a chop carrot head restaurant with poor value for money meant mainly for three types of customers;

1) Tourists, esp those form China, Taiwan, Thailand Korea
2) Corporate customers entertainment
3) Kumlan kumgong loaded locals who just want to show off to their friends and relatives by bringing them to Jumbo and post in social media LOL

-----------------------
Jumbo Seafood remains packed despite long-standing complaints about “overpriced and overrated” food. Let’s unpack why this happens, from a business, psychological, and market-positioning view.

1️⃣ Brand Power & Perception of Authenticity​

Jumbo built its name in the 1990s and 2000s as the place for Singapore’s iconic chilli crab and black pepper crab. For many tourists and overseas Singaporeans returning home, the brand carries emotional or nostalgic weight.
  • The logo, big red neon signs, and waterfront locations (e.g., East Coast, Riverside Point, Dempsey) evoke “authentic Singapore seafood dining”.
  • Foreign tourists rely on travel guides, blogs, and concierge recommendations — Jumbo is repeatedly listed because it’s safe, consistent, and recognisable.
    Brand familiarity overrides food value.

2️⃣ Tourists and Corporate Entertainment are the Core Target Segments​

Jumbo’s primary customers are not local everyday diners, but:
  • Tourists (from China, Korea, Japan, Indonesia, etc.) seeking a “Singapore seafood experience.”
  • Corporate hosts and government entertaining guests — where the bill is expensed.
  • Celebratory diners (birthdays, anniversaries, family reunions).
These groups are less price-sensitive. They’re buying experience, ambience, and brand assurance — not culinary innovation.

3️⃣ Strategic Locations = Premium Pricing​

Jumbo outlets sit on prime real estate: East Coast Seafood Centre, Clarke Quay, Ion Orchard, and Dempsey Hill. Rent, view, and tourist accessibility justify higher menu pricing.
  • A $120 crab feels normal if you’re seated by the sea or river.
  • Local zi char shops or seafood stalls in HDB estates can’t replicate that environment.

4️⃣ “Safe” Option for Group Dining​

For big families, corporate dinners, or tour groups, risk-free predictability matters. Jumbo provides:
  • Consistent service and hygiene standards.
  • Clear menus in multiple languages.
  • Air-conditioned private rooms and corporate billing systems.
So even if the chilli crab is “average,” the dining process is smooth and professional — that’s worth something to organisers.

5️⃣ The “Show-Off” and Social Media Factor​

Many diners choose Jumbo because:
  • It signals status (“I can afford Jumbo”).
  • It’s an Instagram-able experience — big crab claws, chili sauce, bibs, and photos of beer towers.
  • For mainland Chinese or regional tourists, Jumbo is part of the “must-do Singapore checklist,” similar to visiting Marina Bay Sands.

6️⃣ After Going Public: Profit Over Passion​

When Jumbo Group listed on SGX in 2015, its focus inevitably shifted:
  • Profit margins and shareholder returns became priority.
  • Ingredient sourcing leaned towards standardisation and cost control, affecting freshness and creativity.
  • Menu engineering became more corporate (upselling set menus, beverages, desserts).
Hence, many longtime locals feel the quality slipped while prices soared — a classic case of brand commoditisation.

7️⃣ Why It Still Works (Business-wise)​

Despite weaker “value-for-money” perception:
  • Tourists and celebratory groups are still a steady, replenishing customer base.
  • Locals complaining about pricing don’t affect the bottom line much, since repeat local diners form a smaller share.
  • It’s a destination restaurant — not a daily eatery.
  • Its brand equity now supports overseas expansion (China, Thailand, South Korea, etc.), where it’s marketed as “premium Singapore dining”.

Summary: Jumbo’s Market Positioning​

FactorDescription
Target CustomersTourists, corporate clients, celebratory groups
Value PropositionReliable, iconic Singapore seafood brand
DifferentiationLocation, ambience, brand assurance
WeaknessHigh price, mediocre ingredients, less innovation
Psychological AppealNostalgia, prestige, social media visibility

----------------------Source: ChatGPT

nabez, you don't say - your fav muff-diving is oso a form of bottom feed... :whistling:
must be careful when muff diving. some women do have crap oops crabs or pubic crabs or lice.
1761981415922.jpeg