Those who live at "Ang Sali" Serangoon Garden Way come in! Fond memories for you

You also Farrer Park pool, track and field fan, that's nice. Many national swimmers, runners and footballers are groomed from there. My school then sedikit atas, track and field competition at National Stadium, football games at Jalan Besar Stadium and swimming competition at Chinese Swimming Club.

But in sparetime swimming I always liked to go Farrer Park or River Valley.

My time no National Stadium. Before 1973.

was there at chomp chomp for dinner during my short stay. good food! rojak and satay bagus!

Ok, noted with thanks. Hope Stoke City help me cut loss later. Bad day betting.

Wish you all the best and win $$$!

was there at chomp chomp for dinner during my short stay. good food! rojak and satay bagus!

I was Chomp Chomp regular at weekends in schooldays when I stayed over at my classmate's bungalow at St. Helier. But haven't been there for a long time since.

Why named "Ang Sali"? Anyone nows:confused:

They used red coloured zinc roof for their bouses, that was why it was called 'ang sali'. This was way, way, before our time, way before the houses at Serangoon Gardens was built.

Yes, one of my two favorite swimming pools in childhood and teenage. The other being River Valley Swimming Pool. Only these two have the classic style 9ft. pool, one shallow end and one deep end, unlike new Olympic standard pools that have two shallow ends with the deepest 6ft. in the middle, i.e. V-shaped.

Been a long time since I've been to Farrer or River Valey:eek:
Notice that the pool at Farrer Park is still open but is the one at River Valley still open:confused: Read that Yan Kit ia now history:( Actually I liked the swimming pool at Mt Emily but anyone know if it is still open:confused:

Wish you all the best and win $$$!

I was Chomp Chomp regular at weekends in schooldays when I stayed over at my classmate's bungalow at St. Helier.
But haven't been there for a long time since.

If you had been there in 1968 you would surely remember the gunning down of the Notorious Gunmen, Lau Ngut Fong by Police.

It happened early in the morning.

The gunman also threw a few grenades which landed in the longkang close to the police.

Fortunately, the grenades were not primed and as such did not explode.

Do you remember Jalan Teck Kee, next to Plantation Avenue that led to a rubber plantation towards Lorong Chuan.?

Then you must be old enough to remember the old Kallang airport before Paya Lebar opened :o

Yes sir. I visit the said location more often the past few months compared to younger days. Bring charbor saboke there after 3am.

I was very young then & so have only hazy memories of that place as an airport :)
My memories of kallang are more about how that place was used to hold exhibitions, Wonderland Amusement Park, Kallang Roar,...

It's sad that older Sporeans must look to the past for their happier memories. Even LKY is always looking to the past:eek:

Farrer Pk brings back fond memories. Primary school track and field competitions always there coz nowhere else suitable. Soccer fields there unearthed lots of past national players. Makan stalls there best.
Anyone recalls Farrer Park United? The number team back them before there was even S-league.

I was very young then & so have only hazy memories of that place as an airport :)
My memories of kallang are more about how that place was used to hold exhibitions, Wonderland Amusement Park, Kallang Roar,...

It's sad that older Sporeans must look to the past for their happier memories. Even LKY is always looking to the past:eek:
Airport was before my time but remembered its was PA HQ for the longest time. Then all the 2nd hand car dealers, Coast guard was there.....Oasis up till recently. Yes. and Wonderland. They used to have go carting and weekend racing outside the National Stadium carpark.

Paiseh, what's that in England? My China very bad. Can only speak basic to sien tiong kok bu. Can't read.
Hokkien call Lao Puay.....:D

Sorry got nothing to contribute to Ang Sali.....din venture until so far last time

hahaha.....Seasons Greetings to everyone....

ang sali refers to Serangoon Gradens Estate.
I stand corrected on how it got the name......it is not direct translation from hokkien as suggested.
the name came about because of the red color of the roof tiles of the landed houses and not because of zinc roof coated with red primer.

Chia Keng (confirmed), the area around YCK road; landmark is the row of shop; prominent one is the Crab Party restaurant. I lived in the kampong where the swimming pool is located now.

There was a rambutan plantation (Confirmed) in Plantation Ave.
(I plcked rambutan there as a boy)

There was also a rambutan plantation (confirmed) in Charlton estate area.
(I attended Arrozoo Primary School)

Yes, yes, yes. I remember Wonderland now. Knna, my memory fading liao.