THIS is the true HARD TRUTH story, my countrymen. You know it.

Just then, another lady, perhaps in her 60s, came up to Lim and thrusted a S$10 note into her hands. "Aunty, take this," the lady said to Lim. But the older woman would not accept it.

"No, no! I cannot take this." The lady insisted as she continued to push the note into Lim's hands. After some to-ing and fro-ing, the elderly madam finally had no choice really but to accept the S$10.

"Thank you," she said to the other lady who quickly took her leave without saying much.

As it turned out, the lady who gave Lim the S$10, as my friend observed, was a cardboard collector. She had parked her trolly, which is evidently used for collecting card boards, outside the food court before approaching Lim to give her the money. Indeed, after having handed the note to the older woman, she went back to her trolly and left, pushing her trolly with her.

Just then, another lady, perhaps in her 60s, ca to push the note into Lim's hands. After some to-ing and fro-ing, the elderly madam finally had no choice really but to accept the S$10.

- http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/legs-now-tired-weak-135610822.html

You want you give her money lor.

Just then, another lady, perhaps in her 60s, came up to Lim and thrusted a S$10 note into her hands. "Aunty, take this," the lady said to Lim. But the older woman would not accept it.

"No, no! I cannot take this." The lady insisted as she continued to push the note into Lim's hands. After some to-ing and fro-ing, the elderly madam finally had no choice really but to accept the S$10.

"Thank you," she said to the other lady who quickly took her leave without saying much.

As it turned out, the lady who gave Lim the S$10, as my friend observed, was a cardboard collector. She had parked her trolly, which is evidently used for collecting card boards, outside the food court before approaching Lim to give her the money. Indeed, after having handed the note to the older woman, she went back to her trolly and left, pushing her trolly with her.

Just then, another lady, perhaps in her 60s, ca to push the note into Lim's hands. After some to-ing and fro-ing, the elderly madam finally had no choice really but to accept the S$10.

- http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/legs-now-tired-weak-135610822.html

Hard Truth. Ah Mah lives in HOUGANG!!!!!!! What is the MP doing?????

The government ought to help out this people more. Increase in welfare for them etc. Housing and Food-stamps. With all the money that is being generated for the government daily etc. Gst, erp and other taxes.. Its high time more help be channeled towards this segment of society.. We the commoners can help but its temporary, the government can help them long-term + its good for their moral... Its defiantly feels like a cock sucker to be begging and we dont want other humans to be feeling shitty about themselves.. COME ON PAP ... MORE CAN BE DONE.. Being the Highest paid politicians in the World, You ought to make sure your elderly citizens arent pushing carts and picking up cans or living on the Beaches.. We do have alot of money but its either being locked up or god knows into whose pocket.

Looks like the PAP lap-dogs are out in force trying to lick their master's scrotum.

The government ought to help out this people more. Increase in welfare for them etc. Housing and Food-stamps. With all the money that is being generated for the government daily etc. Gst, erp and other taxes.. Its high time more help be channelled towards this segment of society.. We the commoners can help but its temporary, the government can help them long-term + its good for their moral... Its defiantly feels like a cock sucker to be begging and we dont want other humans to be feeling shitty about themselves.. COME ON PAP ... MORE CAN BE DONE.. Being the Highest paid politicians in the World, You ought to make sure this kind of issues is dealt immediately.

I brought up the following point in another thread. Very simple question. Did the author of that article bother to direct the Ah Mah to help like going to Charitable Org, MCYS, NCSS, whatever??? Was help given??? If not why in the world of F are you condemning the government?

This is something very basic. How does one know if others need help if they never ask for help. It's nothing to do with PAP or WP or SDP or whatever P. Whoever is the government will not be able to know who needs help unless the person is identified. If you really want to blame, shouldn't we blame the MP first since he is the one taking care of the area and should be the first to identify who needs help. Oh wait it's not a PAP ward, it's Hougang!!!!! Should we blame Yaw Shin Long? Of coz not that's moronic, U think he is omnipotent can be everyone and know every single person in his ward?!?!?! If the MP taking care of 1 ward cannot be expected to ID every needy in his ward can we expect it to be done nation wide???? Of coz not. Seriously politicizing something and stop politicizing everything like that is just stupid

If you want to politicize it, at least of it after the Ah Mah look for help and none was given. Gives one a very good reason to shoot the ruling party.

Lanjiao la, Dont talk your bullshit and read what i said. The government is not doing much to help those that seek welfare. Yes you might be correct that the author should or if he directed her to the ministries.. What im talking about is pretty straight forward. OUR WELFARE SYSTEM SUCKS, and all this people who seek welfare and are on welfare usually have to go looking for charity organization to seek help as well, Cos they government isnt giving them enough. More can be done.

PAP have always maintain that family and then charity should come first before the state. Or would u prefer having and unsustainable system like Europe and US where they tax more then 50% and still manage to find themselves using imaginary money to fund their welfare and on top of that still continue to have homeless and beggers. I do wonder if you have actually met pple on SG government welfare. I do, one of them is my own uncle and another works for the family and yes it actually exist

We all know who in Spore comes first. It is the old leaf & his family. That's why they are known as the 1st family:rolleyes:

Hougang ? So what ?

gerard-ee2.jpg

eh...........have u always been a PAP-dog ?

Sigh ... As usual, a typical PAP supporter. He thinks that Hougang MP should provide monies to poor folks there. He doesn't even have FOUR MILLIONS OF DOLLARS to help. By the way, what is that Gerald Ee doing huh ? Still mum, is he ?

scan0006.jpg

I read the article. Somehow, I was numbed. Seems like that are so so many of this Ah Pek, Ah Mah outside selling tissues for a living. One thing for sure, I am sure the government is not sincere to help these long forgotten people. To the governement, it's just like "Tried to get rid of these ugly sights!".

Forget about this heartless government doing anything for them. On our part, please try to support this Ah Mah and Ah Pek whenever possible, Even there are some small minority who pian chia, at least we can try to help a little. Honestly, sometimes, people can spent so much money on 4D, LV and Iphone but cannot spend a dollar to help Ah Mah and Ah Pek.

Re: Hougang ? So what ?

Sigh ... As usual, a typical PAP supporter. He thinks that Hougang MP should provide monies to poor folks there. He doesn't even have FOUR MILLIONS OF DOLLARS to help. By the way, what is that Gerald Ee doing huh ? Still mum, is he ?

Please kindly point out to the part where I said Hougang MP should give money to the poor. I started quite clearly the MP's should be the ones to help identify the poor to the government so that they can receive help and also stated quite clearly it's ridiculous to blame the MP. Who do U think are one of the first the pple will look for if the need help. the MPs of coz. They are not going to MCYS directly, they are not going to look for CCS and demand money, they will look for their MPs or first. Since YSL is the MP for Hougang should be blame him? Of coz not. If the Ah Mah doesn't ask for help, how in the world of Ass is he going to know. Same applies for the Charity or Government dep in charge of this. How in the world of fuck are they suppose to know someone needs help if she doesnt go seek help. At the end of the day pple who can direct the needy should stand up and point them to where to get help. U think flaming the government and scaring them in front of these group is going to change their lives? Of coz not, they just become scared and not go out and ask for help. If U are really concern about these pple you should be educating them on where to get the help they need. And if they approach the government and no help is given, go flame them for whatever U want.

I hve alwiz been taught not to ask a hungry man if he wants to eat,
just buy the food and he will eat it. Dont hve to wayang abt walfare
and all the avenues provided for the poor and helpless.:mad:

Many a time I have seen people blaming the govt that not enough help is given but I very much like to ask. Has the people and the govt made known to these people in need the different avernues they can take to receive help and if the people in need went to these charity orgs to seek help? Once in a while I do volinteer in a charity org. ( since I am retired and nothing to do at home ) and many a time I actually have to go out to inform these people in need that there are such bodies set up in SG to help them. Sometimes I really get pissed at some govt charity org. with all the red tape that some of these poor folks just gave up asking them for help ( And you wonder why the present govt became so unpopular. ) There are times I too see people misused these charity. With workfare, CDC, Mendarki and RC I know of one family staying in a 3rm flat. Both husband and wife working part time taking home 5k+ and still get subs of over 1.2k/mth from all these organisations just for a family of 4.

Wow work part-time can bring back 5k+ + get subs of over 1.2k... Are they conning the Government?

Pro Active !

Please kindly point out to the part where I said Hougang MP should give money to the poor. I started quite clearly the MP's should be the ones to help identify the poor to the government so that they can receive help and also stated quite clearly it's ridiculous to blame the MP. Who do U think are one of the first the pple will look for if the need help. the MPs of coz. They are not going to MCYS directly, they are not going to look for CCS and demand money, they will look for their MPs or first. Since YSL is the MP for Hougang should be blame him? Of coz not. If the Ah Mah doesn't ask for help, how in the world of Ass is he going to know. Same applies for the Charity or Government dep in charge of this. How in the world of fuck are they suppose to know someone needs help if she doesnt go seek help. At the end of the day pple who can direct the needy should stand up and point them to where to get help. U think flaming the government and scaring them in front of these group is going to change their lives? Of coz not, they just become scared and not go out and ask for help. If U are really concern about these pple you should be educating them on where to get the help they need. And if they approach the government and no help is given, go flame them for whatever U want.

What you have been saying is actually NOT helping the poor. These people would rather keep mum than to seek 'help' sometimes. With the fake policy in place which 'tries to help' the poor and homeless. See for yourself the uphill task that these folks have to face. What was Nicole Seah yelling at the fascist for during the election period ? Do you think people are too free to get people like Reform Party to get involve with their flats' compensation done ? Duh !

Quite incredible how this type of incidents can happen and bureaucracy cannot make exceptions. Its amazing people apply rules like robots and some of these rules are so obscure that people neither expect they exist or can possibly guess they are there. Yet, when they violate them unintentionally, the penalty can be hefty - in this case, it cost the woman a new flat in the SERS programme. She was happily and legally living in her flat until the govt implemented SERS for hlock triggering a chain of events that left her without a home and under compensated for her flat - she was paid $192K for her flat based on 2004 housing price and disallowed from buying the replacement flat under SERS. The whole idea of SERS was to knock off old flats so that better and taller flats can built in their place - it was supposed to be a win-win for residents who get to buy a new flat in the nearby location and HDB gets to reuse the land more efficiently. Really amazing how obscure rules can get in the way of the basic principle of SERS and cause people to lose their homes.

Last year I wrote about this incident of a fuming Singaporean who called up the radio station to explain his plight and how he ended up homeless. Remember how the rental flat system ran into problems because HDB failed to meet demands for these flats - the waiting time was more than 1.5 years at one point. To solve this problem, HDB announced a set of rules to kick people who shouldn't be in the queue out.

How the govt helps the poor!....

I hve alwiz been taught not to ask a hungry man if he wants to eat,
just buy the food and he will eat it. Dont hve to wayang abt walfare
and all the avenues provided for the poor and helpless.:mad:
Dio lah, if government want to help. Long time help already and no need to wayang here and there. We, on our part, can tao kao chiu, just tao kao chiu. Cannot tak ka chiu just diam diam. Grew up in Hock Hai so I know all these government bullshit. If government will to genuinely visit Chinatown and meet all the old needy people, then sun rise from the west. Only PAP MP who has some compassion for old folks is Lily Neo. The rest is just pian chia.

Honestly, sometimes, people can spent so much money on 4D, LV and Iphone but cannot spend a dollar to help Ah Mah and Ah Pek.

Which is something I throw at socialists everytime they lecture me on the evils of capitalist greed. Who are they kidding? Every single human behaviour, thought and actions is motivated by self-interest. Not even a fireman sacrificing his life to rescue strangers is selfless, if one were to be intellectually honest about it.