• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This is really bad! - Even Monks face pressure of foreign competition

MarrickG

ST_IMAGES_WJMONK.jpg

Some monks here are feeling the heat of competition provided by their foreign counterparts.

In particular, the local monks claim that foreign monks, who are mostly from China and Malaysia, are undercutting them by charging up to 50 per cent less for prayer sessions conducted at funeral wakes.

Mr Ang Juat Chong, 59, a Singaporean who has been a Buddhist monk for the last 18 years, said his monthly income has gone down by as much as 70 per cent in the last two years because of this.

'Local monks charge about $1,200 to do Buddhist rites at funeral wakes, but these foreign monks charge only $600 or $700. So of course, funeral parlours will prefer to hire them,' he told The Straits Times yesterday.

spiritual proceedings is profitable.:D
next time undertaker will face FT competition too.:D

Sinkies only know how to complain. Instead of thinking of ways to value add, or charge lower rates, they rather let foreigners do. So who to blame? SINKIES thenselves la!

in the first place , all services provide by any monk should be free.
but modern civilised world is difficulty for monk to beg for living , so charging a little bit for living expenses is ok.

Mr Ang Juat Chong, 59, a Singaporean who has been a Buddhist monk for the last 18 years, said his monthly income has gone down by as much as 70 per cent in the last two years
why does a monk need an income???? for what???

monk also need to eat. they are humans afterall.:D

i thought food for monks are free in the temple. there are free vegetarian food in the temple, right?

even if they are hired to do prayers, the money is for the temple and not for himself. Monks should not be earning money for himself when he entered monkhood.

i thought food for monks are free in the temple. there are free vegetarian food in the temple, right?
where so good die? nothing is free. where u tink the money came from to buy the vegetarian food?
drop from sky meh? LOL

they need money to fuck geylang girls too ...

I thought they only go "tok, tok, tok, tok " and when pretty lass pass by " ti to lok, ti tok lok, ti tok lok" and the cymbalist will go " diam, diam kua" "diam, diam, kua".??

Whom did these monks vote for? If they belong to the 60.1%, they should shut up. After all, change comes from within.

these "monks" are bloody rich. i ever see the monks arrived at a wake under my block in a mercedes e-class driven by the monks themselves.

i attended a wake 2 months back, can see the monks are ah tiongs. spore really CMI liao.

they need money to fuck geylang girls too ...
sure bo?:D not all...:D

Twelve monks were about to be ordained. The final test was for them to line up in a straight row, totally naked, while a beautiful, big-breasted nude model danced before them.

Each monk had a small bell attached to his penis. They were told that anyone whose bell rang when the nude
model danced in front of them would not be ordained, because he had not reached a state of spiritual purity.

The beautiful model danced before the first candidate, with no reaction. She proceeded down the line with the same response from all the
monks until she got to the final monk. As she danced, his bell began to ring so loudly that it flew off and fell clattering to the ground.

Embarrassed, he took a few steps forward and bent over to pick up the bell... Then all the other bells started to ring.

these "monks" are bloody rich. i ever see the monks arrived at a wake under my block in a mercedes e-class driven by the monks themselves.

i attended a wake 2 months back, can see the monks are ah tiongs. spore really CMI liao.

Not to pass judgement on the men of the ROBes, I happen to get acquainted with a young novice monk from Taiwan some years back during my work, his job was to assist the senior clerics in funeral duties at a famous temple. For such a young monk, the money he has in his bank account, was impressive. I could say equivalent to that of a Manager in those years, way back. There is little wonder that they drive expensive cars & it won't be a surprise that, they were donated by some rich, 'tai tais'!!:p

imo, taiwan is another superstitious country. everything which can't explained, they blame the spirits.:eek:
the spirits quite pitiful.
they will head to temple praying hard for the spirit to leave them. Normally, the people will give an ang bao as a token of appreciation.