• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This gal drives a tank woh!

Drive Ferrari more proud lah.
For what drive a tank, can park outside Zouk?

most of them finished their ICTs

SM1 only phrased out around 2008 in reservist units but reservist ORD prior to 2006 were trained in SM1 only. Likewise even i already post to MR, my unit is still a SM1/BX battalion, subject to recall till 40yrs old at kranji camp 2. So there must have at least 100 SM1 in storage for reserve battalions.

Anyway, women in armour are for wayang only. The woman rsm also useless, and i doubt this cpt will remain on the field for long. Her pc tour will be as short as possible before kick upstair for staff officer duty.

SM1 only phrased out around 2008 in reservist units but reservist ORD prior to 2006 were trained in SM1 only. Likewise even i already post to MR, my unit is still a SM1/BX battalion, subject to recall till 40yrs old at kranji camp 2. So there must have at least 100 SM1 in storage for reserve battalions.

Anyway, women in armour are for wayang only. The woman rsm also useless, and i doubt this cpt will remain on the field for long. Her pc tour will be as short as possible before kick upstair for staff officer duty.

don't know about female officers but female warrant officers are a pain. Like super PMS everyday.

By the way, where does MINDEF store or park all the tanks for the reservist battalions? and how to keep it greased and ready for operations.

Not to be sexist, but I agree with you that it appears easier for women to fit in with arty than armour.

What are the main battle tanks for active units and AI?

By the way, where does MINDEF store or park all the tanks for the reservist battalions? and how to keep it greased and ready for operations.

Not to be sexist, but I agree with you that it appears easier for women to fit in with arty than armour.

What are the main battle tanks for active units and AI?

I seriously dunno where the vehicles are kept but there are part of gedong condorn off from the main camp near the old 46 rear gate. Can see many Ultras & BX inside but that was many years ago as I ROD/MR a few years ago. I wont be surprise they keep the SM1 at where they once hide the centurions.

According from my neighbor kid who a MG/saw2 in armour currently, AI battalions lose all their supporting SM1 and operate purely as mechanized infantry and protect themselves with their 25/35mm bushmaster.

Current MBT is Leopard 2, 48sar operate as an independent battalion but like I said I seriously dunno what is the current armour doctrine. What my buddies and me did during active and reservist may no longer be relevant.

46 seems to be deactivate due to lack of numbers. This year psle students only 40+k, minus away the girls, foreigners and the medically unfit, so in 8 yrs time, expected conscription will number under 20k. Minus away the home team intake, it will be a pathetic 12-14k available.

I seriously dunno where the vehicles are kept but there are part of gedong condorn off from the main camp near the old 46 rear gate. Can see many Ultras & BX inside but that was many years ago as I ROD/MR a few years ago. I wont be surprise they keep the SM1 at where they once hide the centurions.

According from my neighbor kid who a MG/saw2 in armour currently, AI battalions lose all their supporting SM1 and operate purely as mechanized infantry and protect themselves with their 25/35mm bushmaster.

Current MBT is Leopard 2, 48sar operate as an independent battalion but like I said I seriously dunno what is the current armour doctrine. What my buddies and me did during active and reservist may no longer be relevant.

46 seems to be deactivate due to lack of numbers. This year psle students only 40+k, minus away the girls, foreigners and the medically unfit, so in 8 yrs time, expected conscription will number under 20k. Minus away the home team intake, it will be a pathetic 12-14k available.

Thank you.

Sad to read that it looks like in less than ten years, there may not be enough Singaporean males to "feed" the needs of the SAF vis-a-vis through National Service.
Accordingly, they may have to recruit more regulars.

Thank you.

Sad to read that it looks like in less than ten years, there may not be enough Singaporean males to "feed" the needs of the SAF vis-a-vis through National Service.
Accordingly, they may have to recruit more regulars.

Conscription seldom produce good soldiers. 100k professional army is more effective than 350k unwilling and unmotivated reservists. And i believe having only 100k army can be cheaper than current setup as the quantity of expensive high tech weapons is reduce by 2/3. Also money save by not having hiring constractors to maintain the huge number of equipments in working order meant for the reservists.

You may be correct in SG context.
But is MINDEF able to recruit, train and maintain an effective and sufficient defence force with 100,000 individuals?

You may be correct in SG context.
But is MINDEF able to recruit, train and maintain an effective and sufficient defence force with 100,000 individuals?

i personally think a force of 50-70k professional army is more than enough while keeping another 50k of national guards aka weekend soldiers who have to serve for 15yrs. the national guards shd be a full volunteer force who shd receive an allowance which is equal to a regular of the same rank abit pro rated to the days he/she serve in a year. training days shd not be more than 14days a yr and no more than 5 days at any time. training shd be try to conduct over weekend and priority, insurance plus a graduity given at end of 15 yrs service. full conscription will still continue but limit to 6-12 mths only. after NSF, ppl who dont join the guards will be put in reserve and everybody, men, women and foreigners who not in the guards will have to pay a defense tax to offset the cost of a volunteer force. volunteers also give priority to public housing and discount or rebate be given to them. anyway, the so call discount are just a figure pluck from the sky by hdb.

got money entice, sure will get volunteers.:rolleyes:

i personally think a force of 50-70k professional army is more than enough while keeping another 50k of national guards aka weekend soldiers who have to serve for 15yrs. the national guards shd be a full volunteer force who shd receive an allowance which is equal to a regular of the same rank abit pro rated to the days he/she serve in a year. training days shd not be more than 14days a yr and no more than 5 days at any time. training shd be try to conduct over weekend and priority, insurance plus a graduity given at end of 15 yrs service. full conscription will still continue but limit to 6-12 mths only. after NSF, ppl who dont join the guards will be put in reserve and everybody, men, women and foreigners who not in the guards will have to pay a defense tax to offset the cost of a volunteer force. volunteers also give priority to public housing and discount or rebate be given to them. anyway, the so call discount are just a figure pluck from the sky by hdb.

got money entice, sure will get volunteers.:rolleyes:

I believe that your idea or proposal, with some modifications, may work.

May I suggest, amongst others, that the regular force be closer to 100,000, including at least one commando battalion; one to two guards battalion; 3 infantry battalions; one armour, one arty battalion, one signals battalion, one engineers battalion, one logistics and one med evac battalion; 4 squadrons of fighter / bomber aircraft, one heli squadron; and not sure how strong a navy.

I do not know the number of men/women for the above plus MINDEF HQ / Division HQ.

The volunteers may have to train for 2 to 4 weeks a year and be paid a pro-rated compensation plus all those benefits similar to the regulars.
The strength for the volunteer reserves should be at least equal to the regular force.

I like the idea of defence tax or levy for defence based on a percentage of gross personal or family income (before deductions).

I believe that your idea or proposal, with some modifications, may work.

May I suggest, amongst others, that the regular force be closer to 100,000, including at least one commando battalion; one to two guards battalion; 3 infantry battalions; one armour, one arty battalion, one signals battalion, one engineers battalion, one logistics and one med evac battalion; 4 squadrons of fighter / bomber aircraft, one heli squadron; and not sure how strong a navy.

I do not know the number of men/women for the above plus MINDEF HQ / Division HQ.

The volunteers may have to train for 2 to 4 weeks a year and be paid a pro-rated compensation plus all those benefits similar to the regulars.
The strength for the volunteer reserves should be at least equal to the regular force.

I like the idea of defence tax or levy for defence based on a percentage of gross personal or family income (before deductions).

of the vocations, armour take up the most men. an armour (AI) battalion is around 800 personnels. a total 15 battalions standing army only take up 12000men, which equal to 3 brigades. i dunno what it like in the 70s but i find that in the 90s, there were more personnels in battalion hq than line companies. i always remember the sight of the reservist CO parade where companies A/B/C/S combined have less ppl than HQ company. SAF instead of having high tech weapons to supplement the lack in combat numbers, they shd invest $$ to streamline the battalion hq/S4 operation to release more able bodied personnel to the line companies.
So army take at most 30K men, navy 5-8k and airforce 5-8k, then plus provost, transports, intelligence, UAVs etc etc... so 50K men is more than enough. 50K men out of 2.5m population is only 2 percent of population.

currently the setup heavy on the senior officers and high rank WOSEs who i regards as chialiaobees. When i went reservist, my platoon have only 9 riflemen yet have 8 3rd sgts, one PC and one PS. knn, commanders number more riflemen. sibeh cartoon lor. get rid of a $10k a month colonel can release $$ to hire 1 section of privates.

of the vocations, armour take up the most men. an armour (AI) battalion is around 800 personnels. a total 15 battalions standing army only take up 12000men, which equal to 3 brigades. i dunno what it like in the 70s but i find that in the 90s, there were more personnels in battalion hq than line companies. i always remember the sight of the reservist CO parade where companies A/B/C/S combined have less ppl than HQ company. SAF instead of having high tech weapons to supplement the lack in combat numbers, they shd invest $$ to streamline the battalion hq/S4 operation to release more able bodied personnel to the line companies.
So army take at most 30K men, navy 5-8k and airforce 5-8k, then plus provost, transports, intelligence, UAVs etc etc... so 50K men is more than enough. 50K men out of 2.5m population is only 2 percent of population.

currently the setup heavy on the senior officers and high rank WOSEs who i regards as chialiaobees. When i went reservist, my platoon have only 9 riflemen yet have 8 3rd sgts, one PC and one PS. knn, commanders number more riflemen. sibeh cartoon lor. get rid of a $10k a month colonel can release $$ to hire 1 section of privates.

During my time in the mid to late 1970's, a platoon of infantry has an officer, a platoon sgt, at least 3 CPL, at least 21 men (including 3 LCP), one medic and a few others.
A Coy has 3 platoons, an OC, a Coy 2IC, a CSM, coy clerk, one Support platoon (then was three GPMG teams, three 84 mm RR teams), storemen and the CQMS

During my time in the mid to late 1970's, a platoon of infantry has an officer, a platoon sgt, at least 3 CPL, at least 21 men (including 3 LCP), one medic and a few others.
A Coy has 3 platoons, an OC, a Coy 2IC, a CSM, coy clerk, one Support platoon (then was three GPMG teams, three 84 mm RR teams), storemen and the CQMS

Armour infantry platoon consist of 18 riflemen, 3 m113 drivers, 1 runner, 1 medic, 3 sect comd, 3 vehicle comd, 1 PS and 1 PC. Tank platoon has 4 tanks, each tank has 3 crew, 1 PC, 1 PS, 2 Sgt, 3 drivers and 3 gunner. A armour company is call combat team have 3 AI platoons, 1 tank platoon, hq platoon which consist of 3 84mm RR teams, 4 signallers, ambulance driver, admin spec, 2 bikee, CQ, storemen, Csm, 2IC and OC. There no gpmg teams because each AI platoon lug 3 gpmg by saw2.

The above is the official TOE for an AI company but it in the real world strength only at 60%. Mindef claimed there 50k regulars but dunno how is figure come about.

Armour infantry platoon consist of 18 riflemen, 3 m113 drivers, 1 runner, 1 medic, 3 sect comd, 3 vehicle comd, 1 PS and 1 PC. Tank platoon has 4 tanks, each tank has 3 crew, 1 PC, 1 PS, 2 Sgt, 3 drivers and 3 gunner. A armour company is call combat team have 3 AI platoons, 1 tank platoon, hq platoon which consist of 3 84mm RR teams, 4 signallers, ambulance driver, admin spec, 2 bikee, CQ, storemen, Csm, 2IC and OC. There no gpmg teams because each AI platoon lug 3 gpmg by saw2.

The above is the official TOE for an AI company but it in the real world strength only at 60%. Mindef claimed there 50k regulars but dunno how is figure come about.

The ORBAT for AI and Armour very similar to the old days (my time during NS)