• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This cabby earns $6k and is his own boss

hokkien

20121031_154659_markleow.jpg

Former sales manager Mark Leow took a pay cut to become a taxi driver but still considers it a good move.

"I can do more for myself as a taxi driver than working for other people," said the 32-year-old Institute of Technical Education graduate in automotive repairs.

Mr Leow, who used to work in sales at a multinational company, declined to reveal his previous salary, but said he now earns more than $6,000 a month as a cabby.

As a MaxiCab driver with transport giant ComfortDelGro, he earns mainly from shuttling corporate clients, hotel guests and airport passengers in his seven-seater van. He says it is not impossible to earn a decent living from driving a cab - it is all about having the right attitude because the demand for taxis is always there.

"You go out on the street and you can see so many people waving their hands for a taxi," he said. "There is no downtime for us."

Mr Leow said making money as a cabby is all about knowing where to go.

For instance, there is no point for a cabby to wait for a fare in the city after going there in the morning, because hardly anyone will be heading out of town at that time.

"You have to go to where the people are," he said, adding that he would usually head to nearby neighbourhoods or stop at hotels looking for passengers heading to the airport after dropping a fare off in the city.

A typical day for him starts at 6am and ends around 6pm, though on some days he pulls a longer day and ends at 9pm. On Sundays, he rests.

On average, he earns about $300 a day after paying $155 for rental and $40 for fuel. He said although he earned more in his previous job, he also spent a lot of time away from home because of business trips overseas.

One of the perks of the job is that he can take time out during his work hours to meet his family for meals.

"Now, how much time I put in is how much I earn," said the father of a two-year-old girl.

He said being a taxi driver is similar to being an entrepreneur; he's his own boss without needing to pump in a lot of start-up capital.

"If you own a business, you have to be creative, advertise and worry about expanding," said Mr Leow, who lives in a five-room Housing Board flat in Choa Chu Kang. "Now all I'm doing is selling my service and my hard work."

As for taxi drivers not having such benefits as annual bonuses, medical leave and Central Provident Fund contributions, Mr Leow said he has to look after his affairs on his own.

"I have my own medical insurance and set aside money for retirement like I would if I was given CPF," he said. "It's just all about managing my money well."

Having observed more young men and women choosing to be cabbies, he said it is an attractive option for those who want to avoid the rat race.

"It's a renewal of the industry," he said, referring to the rising number of people like him who choose to be cabbies over regular jobs. "Just like in the 1960s when many young men joined the business."

For him, becoming a cabby was a career choice and not a stepping stone to another job or just something to do to pass the time. He said: "It is a fantastic industry to be in and I see a good future here."

1. aiyoh!
2. the cabby in question looks more like some uncle than a 32 years old leh.
3. choon boh! 6k?

You know why some cabbies earn over $5K (no bullshit or cannon, for real), whilst others only earn half that amount?

Don't blame the rental. Blame their behaviour. Those $2.5K earners like to hide around and wait for call bookings, rather than just going out and getting as many customers as possible.

The $5K ones (I've spoken to about a dozen already, through all my years of taxi taking) drive as hard and for as long hours as physically possible. They don't care about call or no call booking, they just want to get the next available customer ASAP.

At the rate that he is going, what he earn may not even be enough for his medical fee later.

Dr Cai under declared his income !!!

see below !!!

This article is an orphan, as no other articles link to it. Please introduce links to this page from related articles; suggestions may be available. (April 2012)
Cai Mingjie (born 1952) is a Singaporean taxicab driver and former biology researcher, known for his blog, A Singapore Taxi Driver's Diary.[1] He is described variously as "Singapore's most educated taxi driver" and "the only taxi driver with a Ph.D.".[2]

HideBiography

Cai was born in China. He received his Ph.D. in molecular biology from Stanford University in 1990, and worked for 16 years as a researcher at the Agency for Science, Technology and Research's Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology.[3] In May 2008, he was one of the first few Principal Investigators of the institute to be laid off. After several failed job applications, he chose to become a taxi driver in November 2008.[4][5] With the SG$77/day rent for his Toyota Crown, he said in September 2009 that his take-home pay comes out to between $30 and $50 per day.[6]

Cai began blogging about his experiences as a taxi driver, acquiring a large following of fans and even offers of employment.[6] In April 2010, he published a compilation of stories about his taxi driving.[7]

he look like 42 years old, how can 32 years old look so old??

Wah!, now the pappies...having "big cannon" blast..something BIG coming.. taxi drivers earn 6K, 7K, soon 100K a month, when they fire they artillery pieces. Last time, mother will say, Boy!, you better study hard be a loctor, you want to be come taxi di ver like your useless father!"... ha ha ha Now, they will say, boy, no need study so hard, no PSLE, never mind...can drive taxis, make 6-7K a month... ha ha ha ha

My close buddy was a cabby. Of cos he don’t make as much as the "Cai" fellow but making a 2K to 3K of "salary' per month is possible. The down side of driving taxi is long hours (12 to 16 hours a day, 7 days a week and 52 weeks a year). No MC, No CPF (16% from employer & 20% from self), No 11 days of public holidays, No Annual Leaves....

The up side that you are your own boss, you only need to pay rental daily but no need to answer to anyone but yourself. You can have a “car” as your transport and you could use it anytime.

But I am very skeptical about this “Cai”guy…. He earns 6K after deducting rental & fuel, drive ony 12 hours per day and don’t drive on Sunday.

Which mean he gross income is at least 10K a month……. I don’t think is possible an quite sure he is a “cannon king”.

My close buddy was a cabby. Of cos he don’t make as much as the "Cai" fellow but making a 2K to 3K of "salary' per month is possible. The down side of driving taxi is long hours (12 to 16 hours a day, 7 days a week and 52 weeks a year). No MC, No CPF (16% from employer & 20% from self), No 11 days of public holidays, No Annual Leaves....

The up side that you are your own boss, you only need to pay rental daily but no need to answer to anyone but yourself. You can have a “car” as your transport and you could use it anytime.

But I am very skeptical about this “Cai”guy…. He earns 6K after deducting rental & fuel, drive ony 12 hours per day and don’t drive on Sunday.

Which mean he gross income is at least 10K a month……. I don’t think is possible an quite sure he is a “cannon king”.

Driving taxi is as good as using health in exchange for money. This is really bad. A responsible taxi driver will have to answer to each and every individual passenger.

View attachment 7210

Former sales manager Mark Leow took a pay cut to become a taxi driver but still considers it a good move.

"I can do more for myself as a taxi driver than working for other people," said the 32-year-old Institute of Technical Education graduate in automotive repairs.

Mr Leow, who used to work in sales at a multinational company, declined to reveal his previous salary, but said he now earns more than $6,000 a month as a cabby.

As a MaxiCab driver with transport giant ComfortDelGro, he earns mainly from shuttling corporate clients, hotel guests and airport passengers in his seven-seater van. He says it is not impossible to earn a decent living from driving a cab - it is all about having the right attitude because the demand for taxis is always there.

"You go out on the street and you can see so many people waving their hands for a taxi," he said. "There is no downtime for us."

Mr Leow said making money as a cabby is all about knowing where to go.

For instance, there is no point for a cabby to wait for a fare in the city after going there in the morning, because hardly anyone will be heading out of town at that time.

"You have to go to where the people are," he said, adding that he would usually head to nearby neighbourhoods or stop at hotels looking for passengers heading to the airport after dropping a fare off in the city.

A typical day for him starts at 6am and ends around 6pm, though on some days he pulls a longer day and ends at 9pm. On Sundays, he rests.

On average, he earns about $300 a day after paying $155 for rental and $40 for fuel. He said although he earned more in his previous job, he also spent a lot of time away from home because of business trips overseas.

One of the perks of the job is that he can take time out during his work hours to meet his family for meals.

"Now, how much time I put in is how much I earn," said the father of a two-year-old girl.

He said being a taxi driver is similar to being an entrepreneur; he's his own boss without needing to pump in a lot of start-up capital.

"If you own a business, you have to be creative, advertise and worry about expanding," said Mr Leow, who lives in a five-room Housing Board flat in Choa Chu Kang. "Now all I'm doing is selling my service and my hard work."

As for taxi drivers not having such benefits as annual bonuses, medical leave and Central Provident Fund contributions, Mr Leow said he has to look after his affairs on his own.

"I have my own medical insurance and set aside money for retirement like I would if I was given CPF," he said. "It's just all about managing my money well."

Having observed more young men and women choosing to be cabbies, he said it is an attractive option for those who want to avoid the rat race.

"It's a renewal of the industry," he said, referring to the rising number of people like him who choose to be cabbies over regular jobs. "Just like in the 1960s when many young men joined the business."

For him, becoming a cabby was a career choice and not a stepping stone to another job or just something to do to pass the time. He said: "It is a fantastic industry to be in and I see a good future here."
Refer to the words in bold. Sibeh impressive leh, Taokay!

Another shameless propaganda by shitty 154 brothel after the 7K/mth crap kena exposed.

Not paiseh to tell the cabbies, "You are not your own boss. You are working for the pappies and paying taxi rentals to pappies controlled transport companies!"

It is possible if you work hard n smart. My fren made 3k regularly every month n very relaxed life, if he Cheong, he can make 5k

What is your fren name and nric no. arh? NPNT = TUA KANG YAO SIU. Post your fren name and pic and me and clonies and clones will upz you. Swee Boh?