• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

THINK before you vote Tan Jee Say in...

steffychun

http://atans1.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/tan-jee-say-wannabe-spender-of-s60bn/

"voting for TJS to become president would be like suckling pigs voting for Chinese New Year or sheep voting for the coming Eid festival."

http://atans1.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/all-plague-on-all-the-tans/

"Why you found yr voice and conviction only this yr? You have been free to speak since 1991. Kinda convenient in an election yr? Where were you when S’poreans were saying no to the casinos in 2005? You after all have voiced in 2011 yr moral outrage at the casinos. Why not in 2005?

Why so silent abt yr experience at Morgan Grenfell and Standard Chartered?

As you want to tap S$60bn from the reserves, ain’t electing you to the presidency the equivalent of allowing the fox into the chicken coop?"

wikiphile

Screw you, after what they did to WP in my neighbourhood, i'm voting TJS. Say what you like, i'm spiteful and this is my vote :oIo:

Media Release on Use of Public Sites at Aljunied GRC

This release seeks to enlighten the public about what transpired in the weeks after the May General Election, which has led to the current controversy about use of public spaces by residents of Aljunied GRC to organise events.

Background Facts

On 21 June 2011, the interim Secretary of Aljunied-Hougang Town Council (AHTC) received an email from the Housing and Development Board (HDB) entitled: “Sites Excluded from the Management of Aljunied-Hougang Town Council”. The email attached a list of sites to be excluded from AHTC management, including 26 sites commonly used for community activities which had previously been managed by the former Aljunied Town Council. No background nor rationale was given for the decision.

Upon further and repeated enquiries from AHTC, HDB revealed on 13 July 2011 that these sites had been leased to the People’s Association (PA), in 2 tranches – on 27 May 2011 and 13 June 2011. The AHTC had thus been informed retrospectively of this decision, which to our knowledge has not been published anywhere.

A check on the sites, which were part of the common property managed by the former Aljunied Town Council but now leased to PA, showed that many of them are strategically located, being hard courts or amphitheatres highly suitable for organising social activities. We were puzzled about the intention behind the move, which occurred before the new management took over the estate. We are left to conclude that the decision by the HDB to shift management of these common properties from the Town Council to the PA was precipitated by the victory of the Workers’ Party in Aljunied GRC in the General Elections.

In order not to subject residents to unnecessary inconvenience and confusion, I sought a meeting with the HDB for clarification, and on 13 July 2011 conveyed to the HDB AHTC’s willingness to discuss the matter further with the PA, to explore joint use of the excluded sites. HDB then followed up with the PA. In an email to me dated 15 Aug 2011, the PA indicated that “booking by WP will not be allowed”, which we assume includes bookings for activities organised by WP MPs for residents.

Effect of HDB’s Decision as Landowner

During the weeks in July / early August leading to the lunar Seventh Month festivities, residents of Paya Lebar Division gave feedback that they were informed by the PA grassroots organisations to apply for the use of the said sites to the Paya Lebar Citizens Consultative Committee (CCC) instead of to the Town Council as was the previous practice. We also received feedback that those who had applied to the CCC for the permits were told verbally that they could not invite the elected WP MP or they would risk their applications being turned down in subsequent years.

Residents have told us that they are confused by the new requirements of the CCC and annoyed by the intense politicking by the PA grassroots organizations. They felt torn and in an emotional dilemma.

Political Implications

It appears to us that the unilateral decision by the HDB to lease these sites to the PA and to have them excluded from common property under the management of AHTC without any consultation with the AHTC or its elected members is politically motivated and an abuse of power.

First, the HDB as part of the government machinery is abusing its power as land owner of common property in HDB estates to help PA to achieve the political objectives of a) preventing elected MPs from holding activities at the excluded sites which are strategically located and convenient to residents; and b) curtailing the ground presence of the elected MPs, by warning the residents that their applications for events at those sites may not be approved in subsequent years if WP MPs were invited.

Secondly, the PA, a statutory board funded by tax payers’ money and chaired by the Prime Minister, appears to capitalize on its close connection with the government to serve the political interests of the ruling party. The PA is leveraging on HDB to enable PAP candidates who lost at the last elections to re-emerge at community events as “advisors” to PA grassroots organizations. The move to let PA control the sites previously managed by the Town Council would give PAP candidates a ground advantage and permanent presence, in advance preparation for the next elections.

Conclusion

The PM has just called for political harmony and national solidarity in Singapore, and said that “we must have a harmonious political system where we make important decisions in the best interests of Singapore and Singaporeans.”

Regrettably, there appears to be a dissonance between the language of national unity employed by the Prime Minister and the actions of the HDB and PA in Aljunied GRC.

SYLVIA LIM
CHAIRMAN,
WORKERS’ PARTY AND ALJUNIED-HOUGANG TOWN COUNCIL

Uncle is over-reacting lah.

1. "voting for TJS to become president would be like suckling pigs voting for Chinese New Year or sheep voting for the coming Eid festival."
> As president, TJS would not have executive power to implement the $60 bn spending program. He may try to influence it though, but to what ends if he does not get to boast about it? If he tries too hard to tinker with the executive branch of government, the PAP will fix him faster than he can say "Economic Regeneration Plan." No confidence in the pappies?

2. "Why you found yr voice and conviction only this yr? You have been free to speak since 1991. Kinda convenient in an election yr? Where were you when S’poreans were saying no to the casinos in 2005? You after all have voiced in 2011 yr moral outrage at the casinos. Why not in 2005?"
> Why now? Why not contest with Nathan 10 years ago? The same question may be posed to all 4 candidates and they will all give you some silly BS excuse. Nonsense to justify his own bias against TJS.

steffychun

Wikipile, You vote Tan Jee Say in, WP will not be the focus. Everyone will focus on this one degree man. Chen Show Mao is a Rhodes Scholar--three degrees. TJS only now started to hate the government but was so willing to take a government scholarship then.

Mojito, agree with first point, but TJS will say its not his fault he can't get his plan done--he will blame everyone else.

second point, that blogger has the right to ask. in 2005, people did disagree with the casino issue. But I checked newspaper axrchives and web--no mention of a person called TJS opposing the issue then. Sudden, wah want to cry about it. And TKL doesnt need to be asked the same question;TKL was very much involved in opposition work.

jeesus

Our reserves have been drawn down at least 28 times over the past 10 years without our knowledge, for land reclamation and SERS projects. Did these benefit citizens? Or foreigners? Why was it not disclosed until now?

The 60b that TJS had proposed using is meant to be used on Singaporeans. It only sounds like raiding simply because the proposal did not come from PAP.

Seriously, all the criticisms that have been thrown at TJS so far, they are nitpicking compared to the sins of the ruling party. If TJS is fielded by PAP, none of these criticisms will even surface. How ironical...

SDPhopelessParty

TJS where are you, when TKL organised at Hong Lim Park for affected investors during the Lehman Brothers' Minibond saga with GMS

jeesus

Wikipile, You vote Tan Jee Say in, WP will not be the focus. Everyone will focus on this one degree man. Chen Show Mao is a Rhodes Scholar--three degrees. TJS only now started to hate the government but was so willing to take a government scholarship then.

Mojito, agree with first point, but TJS will say its not his fault he can't get his plan done--he will blame everyone else.

second point, that blogger has the right to ask. in 2005, people did disagree with the casino issue. But I checked newspaper axrchives and web--no mention of a person called TJS opposing the issue then. Sudden, wah want to cry about it. And TKL doesnt need to be asked the same question;TKL was very much involved in opposition work.

You are funny! You mean to say anyone taking govt scholarships must vote blindly for PAP? PAP do not fund the scholarship, the nation does.

And the person who cried was Lim Boon Heng.

Steffy, as far as I know TJS is not campaigning in the presidential election with his $60bn regeneration plan. The MSM may play this up again if he becomes defensive about his baby.

Oops.. I misread the second point made by the blogger. On not speaking against the casino earlier, I am inclined to agree with the implied though opportunism is a lightweight issue compared to perceived abuse of power (PatrickTan-gate). To be fair every other candidate has character flaws, bad judgment and subsequent denial regarding the "Marxist conspiracy" for TCB, and bowing to populism and interests groups for TKL.

Jeesus, if TJS is fielded by the PAP, he'll be rapped by LKY for talking too much cock. All the ex-civil servants types like Tharman, Heng Swee Kiat, Sim Ann have not uttered a word out of place. $60bn plan is not for him to say before it gets approved. That looks to be the PAP way, one that WP is now imitating with renewed vigor.

jeesus

Let me offer my views on why TJS did not speak up earlier after he left public service. First he left to develop a career in the private sector, so he must have been busy. He didnt leave to oppose the ruling party mind you.

Next the casino. Same thing really. He was not ready to join the opposition. Seriously it takes a lot of courage to join the opposition, so he must have contemplated but finanlly found the conviction to do so only this year, after producing his economic reform paper in Feb. In fact, he made no indication about joining the GE earlier when he produced the paper, and PAP did not criicise the paper until GE time. Anyway, he did mention during the GE that he decided to contest because he feels that the PAP has lost its moral compass. He was not anti-PAP in the past. In fact, he is just against the policies that are ultimately detrimental to singaporeans. Can you deny PAP has harmed singaporeans more than helped us in these past decade?

steffychun

You people are kowtowing to someone who just enter politics this year. Even Chen Show Mao spent a few years with WP before they let him run as a candidate--and who won? CSM! Not this disgruntled TJS who only has one degree--which he himself admitted he needed the scholarship then. So find werll as good, now he this he can wave his Oxford but government funded degree around and say I want to make my plan work? CSM does no such thing--and CSM won a better scholarship--Rhodes Scholarship that emphasises real characteristics of integrity and value. TJS? What moral does he hold? He's a financial person. He could be as worse as TT and make losses! He's only in the race because he lost the GE.

steffychun

Steffy, as far as I know TJS is not campaigning in the presidential election with his $60bn regeneration plan. The MSM may play this up again if he becomes defensive about his baby.

Oops.. I misread the second point made by the blogger. On not speaking against the casino earlier, I am inclined to agree with the implied though opportunism is a lightweight issue compared to perceived abuse of power (PatrickTan-gate). To be fair every other candidate has character flaws, bad judgment and subsequent denial regarding the "Marxist conspiracy" for TCB, and bowing to populism and interests groups for TKL.

Jeesus, if TJS is fielded by the PAP, he'll be rapped by LKY for talking too much cock. All the ex-civil servants types like Tharman, Heng Swee Kiat, Sim Ann have not uttered a word out of place. $60bn plan is not for him to say before it gets approved. That looks to be the PAP way, one that WP is now imitating with renewed vigor.

TJS had so many years to rant about the PAP as they guy said. Only now in the year 2011 he decides to draw swords. Even black cat TKL drew swords earlier with the govt by engaging with groups like TOC. TCB--haha ok but TCB has served the community as a doctor. What service has TJS done for the citizens? And don tell me evdryone is voting for him because of some article he wrote and endorsed by Lord Butler--a neoliberal person. Please, articles are only meant to be worthy if they are endorsed by academics.

Not trying to defend him you know, but I couldn't care less what he said or didn't say about the casino. I couldn't care less if his article was endorsed by the Queen of England. Off the internet, opinions are quite divided so I think not everyone has firmly decided who to support. Not writing off anyone at the moment, except maybe TT.

elephanto

mojito bro,

like those with low rep points, u r like many who registered to contribute in these topical times... maybe you have been a lurker or hv other nicks...

WHATEVER

I fucking like your points !
so limpei will up you - (for what it is worth)

steffychun & others who keep posting links of that atans blog who question TJS's background - the points they raised displayed what is hated of PAP on the ground....

This is the LKY poilitical combat style...

1. Get personal : dig out the opponents skeletons, discredit him, demolish him just as Old Man once vindictively declared he will crush JBJ when Anson was lost

2. All of steffychun's concerns, bloody small minded & inconsequential ... just like Shanmugam's assinine curry issue clarification .... this thing happen 6-7 years ago and mediation outcome voluntarily entered into..... PUUI ! legalisic mambo jumbo skirting the key issue that new citizens should integrate into local millieu & that mediated outcome is an insult to all locals !

3. I am voting for TCB not TJS mind you, in spite of some things I dislike hearing from TCB (praising Nathan etc). SO I am no TJS fan BUT I think he is a worthy candidate in his own right & all those 'Beware dun vote for TJS' arguments are simply crap.

4. That forummer who suggested TCB is the real party choice instead of TT (TT just a decoy) - ha ha very cute .... michiavallian views reflected your own michiavalian mind. Get real lah ......

Personally, EP should be scrapped - it is merely an contrived instrument feeding LKY's paranoi of freak election results.
Doomed to fail from day 1.

fuck the constitutional roles strictly prescribed, once any Joe is voted in islandwide

(not just in Tg Pagar hor, in spite of Old Man's 55+ years of victory there, it is still only Tg Pagar some more gerrymeandered Tg Paga)

once that Presidential candidate is elected from universal suffrage, WHAM! He fucking has moral authority.

Old Man want to devise a second lock to impose control, it cuts both ways, no man is a puppet forever - not Ong Teng Cheong not Tan Cheng Bok maybe Tony Tan?! ha ha

So since there is EP, let all voters have another outlet to express their unhappiness through the ballot box.

mojito, thanks for highlighting Sylvia Lim's media release.

This matter must be brought up when Parliament sits.

LHL will be embarrassed.

I am prepared to give him some benefit of the doubt.

As a long time observer of PAP grassroot members, I will not be surprised these small minded kah kiahs & por lum par keks - ranging from PA to CCC/CCMC/RC hoods .... all brainless serfs.

There are other PAP members not necessarily grassroot leaders, who are digusted - they have either left the party,
going to leave the party, praying for George Yeo's vision of transformation,
or simply will fuck politics & return to their business/careers if they feel it is a internal rejuvenation ius a lost cause...

finally, when WP continue to fulfill their political promise in thus new Parliamentary term,
who knows, they might join WP, because at heart,

many are simply die-hard patriots, wanting to do something for our land & our people...
PAP has betrayed its socialistic origins, rendered sterile by LKY's autocratic control in practices & culture

jeesus

I don't understand this kowtowing thing. Steffy really have the LKY mentality, that is why you think of kowtowing in the first place. Admittedly I don't know TJS much. True, he popped out of nowhere this year. Is that why so many people are jealous of him? People who think they can be like him? People who think TJS is trying to "one leap reach the sky" are just sourgrapes. Seriously, no matter whether he wins this PE or not, TJS has won many hearts with his passion and sincerity, something we have not seen in PAP members for decades.

You rationale completely blows Steffy, you mean to say that whoever wants to join opposition or PE must be active opposition for years before running for office. Just like the PAP rulers, you really have a lot of funny rules.

Thx bro elephanto!

Touched by your kind gesture. Please up me if you like my posts. :smile:

To be sure, I also mentioned I suspect TCB to be the unofficial PAP endorsed candidate. Why split PAP votes you say? Because of Young Dragon wants to consolidate power within the Party.

This year 2011 we saw an unusual number of high profile PAP cadres retiring - Jayakumar, Tarmugi, Lim Boon Heng, George Yeo, Lee Kuan Yew, Goh Chock Tong... It's a good year for younglings who have sworn fealty to the Dragon Prince to step up, and a good chance to clear away troublesome extended family members. For there can only be... one Lee to rule them all.

i simply dun understand why the question - why not raise this earlier, why stick with PAP etc...

come on, be rational. As a young man, you start formulating your anti-PAP ideas already? If you are offered a chance to be in public service, would you not take it when during the time, you are looking for a job?

Does it mean that because deep inside you, you are anti-PAP, you object to be in public service? Being a PS to PM means you are a PAP flag carrier?

At least TJS came out now to contest for PE, maybe he see it as an opportunity to strike now being after this watershed GE, maybe he really wakes up one morning and realise its time. These questions of why now not before is really crap. Look at all the great people in history, it was because they saw the opportunity to make their rise to "fame" be it finally they made it or not.

TCB likewise, decided it was time, there were gains to be made, stepped forward. You tell me, none of them are in for the pay? Come on....

annexa

I will up you with my pts too. I like your consipracy theory although I am voting TCB.

Thx bro elephanto!

Touched by your kind gesture. Please up me if you like my posts. :smile:

To be sure, I also mentioned I suspect TCB to be the unofficial PAP endorsed candidate. Why split PAP votes you say? Because of Young Dragon wants to consolidate power within the Party.

This year 2011 we saw an unusual number of high profile PAP cadres retiring - Jayakumar, Tarmugi, Lim Boon Heng, George Yeo, Lee Kuan Yew, Goh Chock Tong... It's a good year for younglings who have sworn fealty to the Dragon Prince to step up, and a good chance to clear away troublesome extended family members. For there can only be... one Lee to rule them all.

annexa

I like your point both about TJS and TCB. Those who condamn ex-pappies then we will have nobody step forward. Benjamin Pwee last time also scholar. Big deal. As long as the guy makes sense and I agree with him at least 75% of the time, I am ok with it. No point asking he last time is pappy or not.

I will up your point when I can up points again tomorrow.

i simply dun understand why the question - why not raise this earlier, why stick with PAP etc...

come on, be rational. As a young man, you start formulating your anti-PAP ideas already? If you are offered a chance to be in public service, would you not take it when during the time, you are looking for a job?

Does it mean that because deep inside you, you are anti-PAP, you object to be in public service? Being a PS to PM means you are a PAP flag carrier?

At least TJS came out now to contest for PE, maybe he see it as an opportunity to strike now being after this watershed GE, maybe he really wakes up one morning and realise its time. These questions of why now not before is really crap. Look at all the great people in history, it was because they saw the opportunity to make their rise to "fame" be it finally they made it or not.

TCB likewise, decided it was time, there were gains to be made, stepped forward. You tell me, none of them are in for the pay? Come on....

Liquigas

What Steffy said in this thread is absurd. Much of what he has been saying in this forum are for the birds....