• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

"They are unvaccinated."

Nope. 40 years in practice and never a complain. Except when I was A&E MO. That one if you never had a complain something has gone wrong.
I work as A&E MO before nwver got a complaint

I kena complaint before in Canada. I refused to give 100 days supply of Zopiclone to a patient. He said he had been taking zopiclone 15mg for over 20 years from his previous GP who has retired. And even 15mg doesnt work. I said no. He has to see sleep specialist first. Can give 30 days supply first in meantime. He said why he need to see specialist if he taking sleeping pills for 20 years? Refused.

He threatened to complain and he did. I was surprised Alberta college didnt throw it out.

Crazy. Anyway there I was explaining writing those explanation letters to the medical advisor to vet then send to college etc. And he accused me of refusing to refer him to specialist. Even his wife agreed with me in the room taking sleeping pills 20 years wtih evidence of tolerance is bad.

I remember his words i will make your life difficult for you if you dont give me my sleeping pills.

He just did it to purposely make life difficult for me.

Owner of the clinic also dr and his wife counsel me why I dont give? Just give!

I guess I could not throw away my sinkie training.

in u.s. if a doc recommends a pregnant woman to drink alcohol heshe can be sued for negligence and going against cdc guidelines. both cdc and nih advise against it. similar advice to taking banned substance and drugs during pregnancy.

https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/fasd/alcohol-use.html

https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/brochures-and-fact-sheets/drinking-and-your-pregnancy

if sinkie docs are allowed to give ok advice to drink alcohol during pregnancy, something is amissed. all my doc relatives in sg advise against it.

in u.s. if a doc recommends a pregnant woman to drink alcohol heshe can be sued for negligence and going against cdc guidelines. same with taking banned substance and drugs during pregnancy.

if sinkie docs are allowed to give ok advice to drink alcohol during pregnancy, something is amissed. all my doc relatives in sg advise against it.

Same in Canada.

I think the key is the patient lah. If the patient wants and you say all the right things. Is between dr and patient. Patient happy no complaint.

Problem arises if something goes wrong lah. Or somebody else complain eg the father, husband, sister, brother, friend that the dr never advise their friend or relative properly.

As long as everyone happy ok.

Best is to just follow guideline lah.

Follow guideline if anything go wrong at least you got guideline to stand on.

Like I said can agree with patient but also tell patient hey the guideline "law" is like this. So I have to say this. This is what the "law" is. You wanna do whatever it is your right and autonomy. But "law" says no ok.

Roti prata man lah. ie Politician.

Actually with alcohol....... drs dont prescribe alcohol or wine what. So WTF?

Just say the SOGC or ACOG or whatever fuck G says dont drink. No studies to show exactly how much alcohol is safe. So best is not to. Best for baby be cautious. But you know there is no law stopping pregnant mother go to liquor store to buy alcohol. What you do is your right and choice but NOT advised by me.

Why must approve what patient choose for private recreational purpose?

Same for cannabis. If pregnant I will not write an Rx for her. Will also cancel Rx. But no stopping her go to cannabis shop to buy cannabis.

Here is the kicker......

@porcaputtana would you write an Rx for a patient Alcohol drinks 1-2 per day x 365 days if they are pregnant?

in u.s. if a doc recommends a pregnant woman to drink alcohol heshe can be sued for negligence and going against cdc guidelines. both cdc and nih advise against it. similar advice to taking banned substance and drugs during pregnancy.

https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/brochures-and-fact-sheets/drinking-and-your-pregnancy

If your mum had a glass or two of fine burgundy a day while you were in utero I am sure you’d turn out a better person

I have had mothers argue with me about CBD and how safe it should be for pregnancy. I kinda agree. But the SOP says no.

So I tell them sorry lah. I cant write the Rx. If I do I won't be able to write an Rx for all my patients in a couple of months. You want you go buy it yourself. I dont recommend it though. And after you deliver and if not breastfeeding then come back find me.

If your mum had a glass or two of fine burgundy a day while you were in utero I am sure you’d turn out a better person
my mom drank cognac while she was pregnant with me, and i turned out to be an idiot. but that was 69 years ago, when sg was 3rd world and sinkies anyhow humtum with health guidelines. she drank mineral water when she was pregnant with my younger brother, and he is a genius.

Talk cock lah bro. You are the genius!

You know personally I think 1-2 drinks really should not have any harm. But those big shot drs writing those recommendations .....better give them respect ok!

It is political one lah.

You so old ar? 69 years ago?

Talk cock lah bro. You are the genius!

You know personally I think 1-2 drinks really should not have any harm. But those big shot drs writing those recommendations .....better give them respect ok!

It is political one lah.

You so old ar? 69 years ago?
i’m always 69. 69 at birth, 69 now, 69 at death.

but truly, my younger brother is the genius in the family. 3 wives (2 ex), over 6.9 children, 6.9 houses, 1 audi, 1 saab, 1 porsche, his own practice including aesthetic and cosmetic services, sexpensive bike collection (he gives me one), etc. as for me, i only have a mattress (not mistress) and share a tiny hdb room with others in bedok.

Would you write an Rx stating 1-2 alcoholic drinks per day during pregnancy x 9 months?
My wife's gynae said she could drink while pregnant. My gynae colleagues drink while pregnant. I am sure the French drink while pregnant. My Japanese friends wives enjoy saké while pregnant.

The placental barrier is there for a reason.

It's up to the individual to exercise common sense. Even some of my patients who drank excessively gave birth to healthy normal weight neonates.

Or you can be like our glorious PAP who banned rum & raisin ice cream in Little India after the riot.

My wife's gynae said she could drink while pregnant. My gynae colleagues drink while pregnant. I am sure the French drink while pregnant. My Japanese friends wives enjoy saké while pregnant.

The placental barrier is there for a reason.

It's up to the individual to exercise common sense. Even some of my patients who drank excessively gave birth to healthy normal weight neonates.

Or you can be like our glorious PAP who banned rum & raisin ice cream in Little India after the riot.

Sorry as physician in North America where litigation is high just follow law.

There is no such thing as common sense in medicine.

You ask the lawyers. They will love it when drs say "use your common sense". Lol!

I work as A&E MO before nwver got a complaint

I kena complaint before in Canada. I refused to give 100 days supply of Zopiclone to a patient. He said he had been taking zopiclone 15mg for over 20 years from his previous GP who has retired. And even 15mg doesnt work. I said no. He has to see sleep specialist first. Can give 30 days supply first in meantime. He said why he need to see specialist if he taking sleeping pills for 20 years? Refused.

He threatened to complain and he did. I was surprised Alberta college didnt throw it out.

Crazy. Anyway there I was explaining writing those explanation letters to the medical advisor to vet then send to college etc. And he accused me of refusing to refer him to specialist. Even his wife agreed with me in the room taking sleeping pills 20 years wtih evidence of tolerance is bad.

I remember his words i will make your life difficult for you if you dont give me my sleeping pills.

He just did it to purposely make life difficult for me.

Owner of the clinic also dr and his wife counsel me why I dont give? Just give!

I guess I could not throw away my sinkie training.

A show I highly recommend for those medical ppl .

My mom religiously avoided alcohol and caffeine, but then she dropped me on my head.

A show I highly recommend for those medical ppl .

Fantasy lah.

Same like House MD.

That dr if kena complaint the disciplinary committee will whack and say you are unprofessional scare patient by lying. Unbecoming of dr.