• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The weakness of Singapore trees that cause many a death

ykhuser

trees rountine check is just 1 bullshit.
anybody that done servicing/ maintenaince will knows this.
u send in yr car to workshop for yearly servicng..
the low salary guys just tick tick tick the checklist and sign off.(checklist can be so swee swee check thios check that)
the supervisor being low salary also sign off.
except for faulty complain, they will get in done for u.
same for fire panel servicing..they will tick tick tick,sign off...actually they went pcc and lim kopi,talk cock
same for building check..tick tick tick the checklist, all put ok, done,no fault found

same for commerical building maintentance..
seen these low pay tech tick tick tick checklists,actually all gambling in the fcc(fire command centre) with the secruity guards
end of days, the supervisor also sign off because he also very busy no times to check.sometime in the afternoon, also take cover go off

usually they will book out all the m&e keys for servicing so when audit check for book in book out key press,no fault found.actually all hide inside the ahu room sleeping and talking chit chat.i know becasue i had work with so many different contractors.
some worst dont even know what key nos to book out, what password to log into fire panel system...yet the checklist can tick all done

but there are a few who really does their job well,but very rare few.20%

i seen a lot of these, i alway shake my head.
when problems arise a few years down,
you look back the checklist,found out who check and signed...
that pool of peoples had already resigned and job hopped..
the cycle repeat

LeMans2011

How come no one highlighted the fact that the Sinkie died whereas the Pinay survived? Is it an act of god to kill the Sinkie in place of Pinay?

ykhuser

How come no one highlighted the fact that the Sinkie died whereas the Pinay survived? Is it an act of god to kill the Sinkie in place of Pinay?

learner a pinoy?
btw..of late i saw a lot maids drive their mum cars to the market to buy food.
are they allows?

learner a pinoy?
btw..of late i saw a lot maids drive their mum cars to the market to buy food.
are they allows?
if Pinoy then she is gong...........can easily buy a licence back home and come back here to convert to sinkie driving licence.
This is special TP priviledge for all foreigners residing here.

looneytan

Trees get uprooted in strong winds the world over. It's part and parcel of nature.

not quite part and parcel of nature

singapore roadside trees are mostly instant ones without primary roots that grow vertically downward, their roots are secondary or lateral roots that spread out sideway on the surface of the soil so nothing to hold deep down against strong wind

note the pictures
3360287432_6991ce0df9.jpg

strong_winds_uproot_trees_at_telok_blangah-thumbnail.jpg

A367F74543722C5E9FDD8637F4BCF.jpg

not quite part and parcel of nature

singapore roadside trees are mostly instant ones without primary roots that grow vertically downward, their roots are secondary or lateral roots that spread out sideway on the surface of the soil so nothing to hold deep down against strong wind

note the pictures

Nothing to do with trees being instant. Here's an image of a tree uprooted in West Auckland.

tree-tornado-storm5-1200.jpg

Trees get uprooted in strong winds the world over. It's part and parcel of nature.

Yes, no argument on this, it is part & parcel of nature, that trees gets uprooted in a storm, landslides occur, earthquakes, and so forth. BUT, when men tamper with nature, it is no longer that, trees gets uprooted in a storm or landslide or even flooding or what one wise man calls it "ponding".

You must remember, that the trees along our boulevards or roads are not naturally grown, they are grown in a nursery & planted on some land, allowed to grow to some maturity & then planted at wherever they wish to plant that tree.

The people planting the young tree(s) may not have done a good job positioning the tree(s) & the depth of the hole, the soil & whatever. When the tree age, the foundation is not good & when there is an extremely strong gust of wind, it topple over.

Have you even done planting before? But, to prove this, you need a 'tree doctor' to verify this, by looking at the fallen tree. So unfortunate that the driving instructor may have died from some people inefficiencies. Anyway..they will blame God..it is an act of God!

I_Hate_Pappies

Yes, no argument on this, it is part & parcel of nature, that trees gets uprooted in a storm, landslides occur, earthquakes, and so forth. BUT, when men tamper with nature, it is no longer that, trees gets uprooted in a storm or landslide or even flooding or what one wise man calls it "ponding".

You must remember, that the trees along our boulevards or roads are not naturally grown, they are grown in a nursery & planted on some land, allowed to grow to some maturity & then planted at wherever they wish to plant that tree.

The people planting the young tree(s) may not have done a good job positioning the tree(s) & the depth of the hole, the soil & whatever. When the tree age, the foundation is not good & when there is an extremely strong gust of wind, it topple over.

Have you even done planting before? But, to prove this, you need a 'tree doctor' to verify this, by looking at the fallen tree. So unfortunate that the driving instructor may have died from some people inefficiencies. Anyway..they will blame God..it is an act of God!

You got a point here. Noticed those all trees that were uprooted in #28 were planted near concrete road. More people leading to more concretes. We have solved the mystery here. FUCK THE PAP! :oIo:

kopikia

precisely. if the fella walking in macritchie reservour during strong wind and rain kena killed by falling tree, that fella is suay and its his fault for being there in that kind of weather. but this guy was driving in his car on the road. how can just sweep under the rug and hide behind the term "act of god". at least investigate and find out what the fuck happened why the tree so easily uproot and make changes so it wont happen again.

like one guy say, peasant killed by tree, nothing done. minister car scatched by falling branches, u can be sure the whole road trees will be trimed and double checked personally by a supervisor. wtf this is like china a thousand years ago.

what evidence is there that the picture of the tree you posted is not an instant tree?

Because nobody plants instant trees in Auckland. The exception to this rule is Palm trees. However, once they're established, it'll take a cat 5 hurricane to uproot them.