seriously i have no idea how and when this afgan conflict will end. i believe in self determination, not rule by puppet from the north who was installed by the western power. until the whole country support one leader, the conflict will last forever.
anyway back to the bronco, did the BA change the engine plant or still the detroit diesel that ST had installed previously?
as an appointment holder, maybe you should suggest that the HQ coy aka S4 run more logistic excerise instead of just providing tonners and drivers to support the combat teams. As of now, i ony have one experience of being refuel in the field by the BV206 fuel browser and that was during active in kanchanaburi for atec.
u better get those assholes who like to play on sandtables that they better dun believe the troops are supermen who can do whatever they like. ie.. behaving like the baverian corporal in the battle of berlin, giving order to counterattack by non existant units.:oIo: Shifting units around on the sandtable very easy but is it possible troops on the ground to execute those orders.
lucky MRed when 32yo, now another 5 years before my name stuck off the reserve list. no more ippt, rt, standby. pity those chao keng reservists who have to for another atec with another NS battlion becasue of insufficient HK ICT. Of course they entitled to lhl's $3000 cpf money which i dun get, well u gain some and lose some, eventually even out.
No, the Brits did not change the power plant. Its too much trouble, as they would had to change the transmission, etc. The Detroit diesels are reliable and easy to maintain anyway. What they did was change the suspension and the driveline to accomodate the additional 2 tons of amour they installed on the Warthog. They also exploded 8 or 9 Warthog hulls to see the effect of the armour mods.
I think u must be 42 SAR. U are not going to get refueled by BV 206 fuel bowsers as long as u are in Area D. Overseas yes. It does not matter as u don;t do the refuelling anyway. Now, so many places for overseas armour training, u kenna kanchanaburi? Hot there, Ass luck. Well it could be worse, u could have gone to Rajasthan, India. One recent batch of armour came back, everyone complain lau sai like crazy over there. Must be the water or food, too dirty by singapore NS boys stomachs. LOL. ROC was good, Hukou got lots of places to run the tanks. And than R & R in Taipei, lots of girls.
Actually, I have many problems with the basic armour doctrine, not to mention all these scholar SAF Cols, BGs, etc. some of these guys are total idiots. I am not confident they are able to lead a toilet party much less a real battle. Till today, I do not know why there is no training for armour in urban warfare, or Tank infantry co-operation in build up areas. Training in Shoalwater and Hukou is only good for some CO to exercise his command and control over his entire unit in lots of space, otherwise tactically, it has no applications to what we need to do. Coastal hooks are also a waste of time.
No matter how you cut it, if we go to war, we will have to drive through small towns, big towns, urban areas, etc. We have to occupy ports, harbours, airports, city centres, communications hubs, etc. Even a small village can have 1 dozen anti tank teams hiding there. U drive thru a small town, u will get whacked and ambushed from rooftops, buildings, etc. The Israelis have not fought a wide open tank to tank battle for over 25 years. They are bringing their tanks into Beirut, west bank, Gaza. The uS are bringing their tanks into Baghdad, fallujah, etc. In WW2, the germans were experts in deploying their armour in towns, and also their anti tank teams, hence inflicting great losses every time the allies attacked an urban area. Why we don't train for this beats the hell out of me. Not to mention how u would deploy armour and AI in a HDB estate or in Woodlands, or something like that. The SAF has to face the probability that the enemy will come into our soil too. Anyway, I am just a small voice, what do I know. LOL.