• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Ten Businesses The Smartphone Has Destroyed

GoFlyKiteNow

Global smartphone sales rose by nearly 100% in the third quarter of 2010 compared with the same period last year.

The power of the smartphone as the primary device used for news, entertainment, and communication will only increase. New 4G networks will allow subscribers to connect to the internet with handsets which will download data at speeds similar to those supplied by a home cable modem. Smartphone processors become more powerful each year and the devices get more storage capacity

This is 24/7 Wall St.’s list of the devices that the smartphone has begun to replace, and in some cases, that process is so far along that the older products have almost disappeared.

1. PDAs
Personal digital assistants, the device that transformed personal organization in the 1990’s, are almost obsolete.

2. Flip Video Cameras
Cisco Systems’s line of Flip video cameras has been modestly popular over the past few years, bringing in about $75 million between February and May 2010, according to Cisco

3. MP3 Players
Companies that make MP3 players have sold fewer and fewer units ever since smartphones began to provide the service

4. Digital Cameras
As handset phone cameras improve in quality, the demand for separate, low-end digital cameras may begin to decrease. Many phones already have 5-megapixel camera capabilities.

5. Handheld Video Games
For 2010, factory unit shipments of game-capable mobile phones are expected to reach 1.27 billion, according to iSuppli. This will be an increase of 11.4% from the year before

6. GPS
The increase in smartphones with GPS capabilities poses a huge threat to standalone GPS devices.

7. PCs
There are plenty of studies which insist that smartphones will begin to replace the PC as the common vehicle for accessing the Internet.

8. Regular Cell Phones
Just as smartphones are making other single-function devices more and more obsolete, they are pushing regular, “featureless” cell phones out of the competitive marketplace.

9. Watches
As more people have become equipped with mobile phones, fewer people have found a need to wear wrist watches.

10. Remote Controls
Although it is hard to imagine there being a successful replacement for the television remote, smartphones are beginning to do just that.

Well, until they resolve the battery life issue, will take some time before these products get killed. The PDA is dead though.

"As more people have become equipped with mobile phones, fewer people have found a need to wear wrist watches." I don't agreed with this , does it mean that our pants have pockets and we don't need a wallet ?

... 10. Remote Controls
Although it is hard to imagine there being a successful replacement for the television remote, smartphones are beginning to do just that.
ppl can start throwing hp @ their tv's ... :o

"As more people have become equipped with mobile phones, fewer people have found a need to wear wrist watches." I don't agreed with this , does it mean that our pants have pockets and we don't need a wallet ?

that is true for me, my mobile phone is my phone, watch, mp3 player and alarm clock.

I don't have a wallet for a decade already, everything put inside my shirt and pants pockets.

You have stated a very misleading analogy

Your pocket can contain cards and cash but it cannot organize them. Wallet is an organizer.

Mobile phone have the same if not better functionality when it comes to time telling. Some phones can sync with the atomic time. Can your wrist watch do that?

Given your intellect, you must not have an university degree. University graduates from good schools have very good logical and reasoning skills from their exams/maths/science studies

actually hor ...

me dun have a wrist watch now ... me oso din go n buy bcos of mentioned reason ...

me last time oso got no wallet 1 ... a wallet have partitions dat let u organise ur stuff nicely @ 1 location ...

that is true for me, my mobile phone is my phone, watch, mp3 player and alarm clock.

I don't have a wallet for a decade already, everything put inside my shirt and pants pockets.

Maybe you are not a organize person ? Or you are a forgetful person , worry carry too many item with you ?

Your pocket can contain cards and cash but it cannot organize them. Wallet is an organizer.

Mobile phone have the same if not better functionality when it comes to time telling. Some phones can sync with the atomic time. Can your wrist watch do that?

Given your intellect, you must not have an university degree. University graduates from good schools have very good logical and reasoning skills from their exams/maths/science studies

1) my watches can endure the test of time .. In fact the longer years I keep the value will go up ..and my watches don't need any battery to function , Can mobile phone achieve that ?

There are even talks of vibrating handphones replacing sex toys, so you never have to create an excuse again with that pesky sex toy. Now it's gonna be an innocent mobile.

Global smartphone sales rose by nearly 100% in the third quarter of 2010 compared with the same period last year.

The power of the smartphone as the primary device used for news, entertainment, and communication will only increase. New 4G networks will allow subscribers to connect to the internet with handsets which will download data at speeds similar to those supplied by a home cable modem. Smartphone processors become more powerful each year and the devices get more storage capacity

This is 24/7 Wall St.’s list of the devices that the smartphone has begun to replace, and in some cases, that process is so far along that the older products have almost disappeared.

1. PDAs
Personal digital assistants, the device that transformed personal organization in the 1990’s, are almost obsolete.

2. Flip Video Cameras
Cisco Systems’s line of Flip video cameras has been modestly popular over the past few years, bringing in about $75 million between February and May 2010, according to Cisco

3. MP3 Players
Companies that make MP3 players have sold fewer and fewer units ever since smartphones began to provide the service

4. Digital Cameras
As handset phone cameras improve in quality, the demand for separate, low-end digital cameras may begin to decrease. Many phones already have 5-megapixel camera capabilities.

5. Handheld Video Games
For 2010, factory unit shipments of game-capable mobile phones are expected to reach 1.27 billion, according to iSuppli. This will be an increase of 11.4% from the year before

6. GPS
The increase in smartphones with GPS capabilities poses a huge threat to standalone GPS devices.

7. PCs
There are plenty of studies which insist that smartphones will begin to replace the PC as the common vehicle for accessing the Internet.

8. Regular Cell Phones
Just as smartphones are making other single-function devices more and more obsolete, they are pushing regular, “featureless” cell phones out of the competitive marketplace.

9. Watches
As more people have become equipped with mobile phones, fewer people have found a need to wear wrist watches.

10. Remote Controls

1) PDA killed itself on reliability. I'm still using a hardpaper organizer from Keny and I still buy refills yearly......hmm, time to buy 2011 from Popular liao.

2) Don't use them, really can't think of a reason to buy if every H/P got a camera.

3) 50/50, china made cheapo mp3 'disposable' players kills them all. :p

4) Only affect the low end one. If you need good photoshoot for studio, events or journalists, a proper SLR camera with detacheable lens, flashlight, tripod stand mounting, spare battery dock etc are a must.

5) Handheld video games are like fashions show, they are short live but good fast money if you know how to hype up the demand.

6) This is a joke right? Ppl will prefer a permanent GPS mount in a car. For me, I always bring along a bus guide and streetdirectory, or just flag a cab if I'm fucking lost. :o

7) I don't know, I just hate to work on a light and shaky console. And I need reading glasses which H/P SMS wording kill my eyes. I just want my dream Alienware or Falcon PC. :D

8) Yeah, just a matter of time. of course our dear telco (red, orange, green umbrellas) will kill them first.

9) At first I was kinda disagree with you until my automatic watch spoilt. I don't feel motivated to sent the watch for repair and neither do I plan to buy a new one. I just flip out the H/P and look at the time. :p
I found myself attracted to the HTC big clock models. :D

10) Bizzare move. But hey, we can use our H/P to buy coke from vending machines, whats not possible in this world? :)

Do one need " papers " to make 5 figures a month ? Given by your bird brain ... I believe you life depends on a piece of " paper " to get employed .. Beware there are many cheap FT to replace you anytime . By the way it's how many zero your account have that matters ...

sorry...i young man but still using first generation handphone.
but i was told a very interesting point by 1 lady.
the new iphone 3/4, u cannot delete call register, caller by caller.
you have to delete ALL.
what it means is that if u have callers that want to delete, you have to delete ALL and raise the suspicion of your partners/spouse.
Is this true?
Why Apple is so cock?

8. Regular Cell Phones.
Sinki has bunch of monkies supporting this cell phones at NS. if i am not wrong. :D

sorry...
Is this true?
Why Apple is so cock?

u may be right. what i came to know is you also have to clear ALL your internet browser history. Cant clear only one history.
yah Apple is so cock..

Do one need " papers " to make 5 figures a month ? Given by your bird brain ... I believe you life depends on a piece of " paper " to get employed .. Beware there are many cheap FT to replace you anytime . By the way it's how many zero your account have that matters ...

most degree holder abide by the law. that is why most degree businessman fail. 9/10 successful businessman does not have a paper. :) nowadays degree papers are like toilet papers.. :D
puik !

sorry...i young man but still using first generation handphone.
but i was told a very interesting point by 1 lady.
the new iphone 3/4, u cannot delete call register, caller by caller.
you have to delete ALL.
what it means is that if u have callers that want to delete, you have to delete ALL and raise the suspicion of your partners/spouse.
Is this true?
Why Apple is so cock?

With the right software, programme or knowledge, anything can be done. And no, Apple is not a cock.

Tristan - are u saying u need to download some patches/applications?
shouldn't this be a basic or set-able function in the first place.
pse enlighten.
seriously i need to know if it works before thinking of any upgrade to iphone.

Tristan - are u saying u need to download some patches/applications?
shouldn't this be a basic or set-able function in the first place.
pse enlighten.
seriously i need to know if it works before thinking of any upgrade to iphone.

any knowledgeable bro/sis - pse enlighten. TQ.

1. PDAs
2. Flip Video Cameras
3. MP3 Players
4. Digital Cameras
5. Handheld Video Games
6. GPS
7. PCs
8. Regular Cell Phones
9. Watches
10. Remote Controls.

1. PDAs. YES. I can't say they (PDAs) even caught on, maybe a handful of showoffs. My girlfriend bought me an Apple Newton back then. I never liked it. It didn't improve planning. Today, I still use a diary notebook. And not a digital one. So they didn't replace diaries? This is a YES/NO.

2. Flip Videocams - YES.

3. MP3 - YES.

4. Digital cameras - YES. They will replace the low-end. How about the weather proof cameras less than 500 bucks?

5. Hand Held games - YES.

6. GPS - YES. My colleague's iPhone gets the satellite signal faster than my Garmin.

7. PCs - YES. PCs are already obsolete. Feel sorry for those who have to lug their game boxes to the shop to fix it.

8. Regular cellulars - YES. That's evolution isn't it?

9. Watches - NO. Watches are now "jewelry" and have become fashion pieces.

10. RC - YES. In North America, the already use this to open garage doors.

That's 8 YESSES, 1 YES/NO, 1 NO.

Now I wonder whether they'll build a Swiss Army Knife into the smartphone or the smartphone into the knife? Personal breathlyzer?