The Satay at Lau Pa Sat Sucks!

PohLonTat

I used to frequent Stall No 10 at Lau Pa Sat Satay.

Yesterday i went but fuck! Satay not fully cooked, sauce also becomes diluted...and everything more expensive!

What the fuck is happening!

I think your issue is with that particular stall (No 10) and not the whole of Lau Pa Sat. Maybe you should try a different stall. From my experience, the satay at Lau Pa Sat has always been satisfactory, even though it is expensive. My favourite stall is Fat Man Satay (No 1) and I have found out that they have other outlets e.g. in the Old Airport Road hawker centre where the price is cheaper. The satay is the same.

Try the Haron Satay next time.

Haron Satay
Stall 55, East Coast Lagoon Village
Tel 9450 8754
Open daily 2pm to 11pm. Closed on Mondays

Delicious nice chunks of meat but long wait
60 cents per stick

Also available grilled chicken wings @ $1.50

29617996_ff5dee2b5f_z.jpg

I tend to avoid eating at the evening satay stalls at Lau Pa Sat unless I am entertaining some Ang Moh friends from abroad. I always think it's for tourists (and hence expensive).
As mentioned already, Old Airport Road hawker centre has some decent stalls as does some places along Geylang and the East Coast Lagoon Food Village.

Pandan City in JB has the best satay Ive tasted in years. They operate from 5 or 6 in the evenings and is sold out by 11pm. Mostly sinkee customers on weekends.

meat satay is extremely dangerous when not cooked properly. try vege satay instead. at least you may get the runs if vege is not properly washed, but you don't die from e.coli-contaminated raw meat. tony is god and needs to be enshrined as savior of sinkies.

Pandan City in JB has the best satay Ive tasted in years. They operate from 5 or 6 in the evenings and is sold out by 11pm. Mostly sinkee customers on weekends.

My local favourite satay stall is the one that is based at West Coast Dr hawker centre. I think they used to operate at the Botanical Garden.

long time no eat satay liao.

Lau pa sat is just like newton hawker centre for tourists to visit.

I used to frequent Stall No 10 at Lau Pa Sat Satay.

Yesterday i went but fuck! Satay not fully cooked, sauce also becomes diluted...and everything more expensive!

What the fuck is happening!

Now all factory made . They only barbecue it.

I think your issue is with that particular stall (No 10) and not the whole of Lau Pa Sat. Maybe you should try a different stall. From my experience, the satay at Lau Pa Sat has always been satisfactory, even though it is expensive. My favourite stall is Fat Man Satay (No 1) and I have found out that they have other outlets e.g. in the Old Airport Road hawker centre where the price is cheaper. The satay is the same.

Fat man No 1 is still around? he died ages ago..used to eat from him, when he was at Queen Elizabeth walk..then became Esplande...thought his son took over, & his satay etc...is nothing like his dad. Misses the old man perut satay...you can still find old man photo in one of STB front cover...go library & look up.

The sauce is increasingly diluted and they give so little. Stingy.
How to eat...

meat satay is extremely dangerous when not cooked properly. try vege satay instead. at least you may get the runs if vege is not properly washed, but you don't die from e.coli-contaminated raw meat. tony is god and needs to be enshrined as savior of sinkies.

No horse run! Vegetable satay roasted using Soursop twigs with the ketupat wrapped in soursop leaves! Totally organic, healthy and cures all cancer ;)

A1DD2795-140A-4363-8416-F9E6D7FC981D-3969-000002E8F435DD4F_zps57f315e9.jpg

Is this the place also famous for mee rebus and nasi lemak?
Do they still practise old unhygienic way of eat first and count satay sticks later for payment method?

long time no eat satay liao.

Lau pa sat is just like newton hawker centre for tourists to visit.

All the so called ex satay club satay hawkers only in nane now and a shadow of their former selves.
Wtf some even sell grill prawns and chicken wings.

Why they serve satay sauce in tiny deep bowl? in Thailand they put sauce in plates so easy to dip satay in
pork-satay-first-bite.jpg

btw is it true they used sanitary pads in the satay gravy or is that just BS?

No BS, the makcik will use this secret ingredient to get the customers to come back for more.
Bros here ever shared the pad must be dried so menses blood can be ground into powder for use.

i never order from stall owners who come out to seek business. if the stall is good, people go to them, not the other way around.

Same urban legend as they used human hair to ferment the beans to make soy sauce? you make pa cik or the minah angry..they may add that extra ingredient...& they will ask you, "sayang, sedap"?