• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The problem with Lim Hng Kiang...

LITTLEREDDOT

...is that he is another US-educated MBA who measures everything using KPI (key performance indicators). Die, die must have high economic growth. The end justify the means. Import cheap foreign trash to sustain growth, overcrowding on trains and buses, crime rate goes up, social mores and manners become worse, Sinkies lose their jobs to FTs, inflation goes up...

MTI warns of slow growth without inflow of foreigners
by Lin Yanqin and Wong Wei Han
04:45 AM Sep 26, 2012

SINGAPORE - If Singapore does not continue to allow for a "calibrated" inflow of immigrants and foreign workers, Singaporeans have to be prepared for little economic growth, limited real increases in wages, and insufficient manpower in the health and social services sectors to serve the Republic's ageing population, according to the Ministry of Trade and Industry's (MTI) Occasional Paper on Population and the Economy released yesterday.

At a press conference, Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang reiterated that, as the economic growth trajectory slows and the workforce ages and shrinks, Singapore has to complement the resident workforce with a calibrated rate of immigration and foreign worker inflow, even as it seeks to raise the productivity of businesses and encourage more residents to enter and stay in the workforce.

Without these three measures in tandem, the Republic would struggle to reach the economic growth target of 3 to 5 per cent in the years ahead, and keep the real wages of Singaporeans growing, he noted.

The National Population and Talent Division is putting together a White Paper on population policies, due out early next year. The MTI's Occasional Paper seeks to provide Singaporeans with a clearer understanding of the trade-offs involved, when it comes to foreign manpower.

Mr Lim said: "In the end, this is a national conversation. If Singaporeans say 'no, we are no longer interested in 3 to 5 per cent (growth), we want 1 per cent (growth)', well, that's the outcome of the exercise. We just have to be sure that everyone goes into it with a clear mind, that we understand the trade-off, and we are taking that trajectory."

Observers TODAY spoke to noted that, while Singaporeans may see the rationale behind the economic arguments, other considerations could come into play.

For example, some Singaporeans may reject the necessity of having more foreign labour or immigrants because "they don't necessarily enjoy the benefit of maintaining foreign workers, which can create wealth and help develop our economy," said SIM University economist Randolph Tan.

"Instead they are penalised by the presence of foreigners due to increased property prices or job market competition," he said.

National University of Singapore sociologist Paulin Straughan noted that it can be hard for individuals to "look beyond their personal unhappiness for the well-being for the nation".

"The macro economic scenario is not easy for everyone to understand," said Associate Professor Straughan. "So the way forward is about trust in the Government in that what they say is true, and they have to come down and woo the public."

In the Occasional Paper, the MTI described the importance of the foreign workforce, pointing out that foreign manpower has helped Singapore restructure its economy to tap into emerging sectors where the necessary skills are not immediately available. It has also given Singapore the flexibility to respond quickly to economic opportunities when they come along.

Foreign manpower also help to "cushion Singaporeans from unemployment during downturns", the paper added.

Moreover, given the improving educational profile and rising aspirations of Singaporeans, fewer Singaporeans will be willing to take up less-skilled jobs, and foreign workers can help meet the demand for labour in these sectors.

While there have been concerns about the presence of foreigners depressing wages, taking away jobs and even encroaching on space, Mr Lim noted that "it depends which sector you are talking about". "What this paper tries to address is, instead of this generality that I am unhappy with foreign workers, well, talk about your sector. Which sector are you in, are you in the healthcare sector? Are you receiving services from the healthcare sector? Well, if you've got no foreign workers, be prepared to pay higher cost," Mr Lim said.

The MTI paper also pointed out that a foreign workforce could help check consumer inflation in domestically-oriented sectors like retail and F&B, which economist Tan Khee Giap agreed was valid.

But the co-director of Asia Competitiveness Institute at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy also noted that, on the other hand, the cost of things like housing could go up as a result of a larger population in Singapore - partly fuelled by immigrants - driving up demand. "It comes back again to the question of coordination between ministries and stat boards to meet the needs of an expanded population, and whether policies are in place," he said.

<!-- Related Photo, Media and Articles--><!--End of Related Photo Media and Articles--><!--Facebook--><!--Facebook--><!-- AddThis Button BEGIN -->

Dot says:

1. Achieving high economic growth is misguided. Slow and sustainable growth is better. And what is wrong with a period of slow or no growth? Sinkies can take a breather and work less hard, stress level go down, inflation moderated.

2. The KPI should not be economic growth figures. The KPI should be how much of the benefits of economic growth filters down to Sinkies (and not to PRs and FTs).

3. Importing FTs because Sinkies are ageing is just kicking the can down the road. Decades later these FT immigrants will become old. Will the PAP then import more FTs to sustain the economy? So population goes from 2.5m to 5m, and then from 5m to 7m.

4. Increasing population is not the answer to ageing population. PAP should find ways to grow the economy using the same ageing workforce. And if growth is not possible, then what is wrong with little or no growth? Ageing population don't need that much goods and services, so the natural course is for a reduction in demand and hence growth. Don't fight the demographics.

Annual High GDP growth rates in Singapore means Demand for Higher salaries and bonuses for PAP Ministers.
What is the use of high GDP growth if it enriches the minority ministers/elites and does not benefit the majority of ordinary citizens of Singapore ?
The Hairdo Minister Lim Hng Khiang blatantly proposes to replace Singaporean workers with Foreigner workers.In other countries,he is considered a traitor and there would be protests for him to step down.
We demand a cheaper Foreigner to replace Lim Hng Khiang !!!
KNNCCB to PAP !!!
KNNCCB to the 60% !!!

My question is - What does high growth benefit me?
Zero.

We have all along been mindful of the benefits really talented foreigners bring to our economy. I dont think we have been resentful. This idiot is twisting the facts. What Singaporeans do not want is for foreigners to come in and leech the system and then run away. What we dont want is to see jobs going to foreigners when we can do those jobs. What we dont want to have are train breakdowns, housing price inflation, and overcrowding of social amenities, playgrounds and schools. What we dont like are idiots who are obscenely paid talking thru their arses, and telling us what we already know, but avoiding the things they ought to put right. This idiot has just put a millstone around his neck - we'll sink him in 2016.

He is the smart cookie......been flying under the radar for long time liao......he knows the more he opens his mouth the more he kena fuck

Dot says:

1. Achieving high economic growth is misguided. Slow and sustainable growth is better. And what is wrong with a period of slow or no growth? Sinkies can take a breather and work less hard, stress level go down, inflation moderated.

2. The KPI should not be economic growth figures. The KPI should be how much of the benefits of economic growth filters down to Sinkies (and not to PRs and FTs).

3. Importing FTs because Sinkies are ageing is just kicking the can down the road. Decades later these FT immigrants will become old. Will the PAP then import more FTs to sustain the economy? So population goes from 2.5m to 5m, and then from 5m to 7m.

4. Increasing population is not the answer to ageing population. PAP should find ways to grow the economy using the same ageing workforce. And if growth is not possible, then what is wrong with little or no growth? Ageing population don't need that much goods and services, so the natural course is for a reduction in demand and hence growth. Don't fight the demographics.

Exactly...the assumption that imported foreigners/new naturalised citizens will behave differently i.e. have a higher reproductive rate is fallacious. If the reasons for the current low fertlity rate remain e.g high costs of bringing up children due to high costs of living viz stagnant wages, astronomical housing costs, premature retirement due to substitute foreign workers etc the low fertility rates will continue. The causes are so obvious that the PAP government must be deliberately blind to ignore them and keep flogging the old lame excuses for the liberal immigration policies. Or is there another agenda?

National University of Singapore sociologist Paulin Straughan noted that it can be hard for individuals to "look beyond their personal unhappiness for the well-being for the nation".

"The macro economic scenario is not easy for everyone to understand," said Associate Professor Straughan. "So the way forward is about trust in the Government in that what they say is true, and they have to come down and woo the public."

Straughan, Paulin Tay
Associate Professor

Research Interests
Medical Sociology (with emphasis on preventive health behaviour and mental illness); Gerontology; Work and Family; Organizational Behaviour.

Teaching Areas
Research methodology; Social Statistics; Medical Sociology; Sociology of the Family; Social Stratification.

He may be keeping a low profile but think he is a powerful figure as one of the members making up the inner circle. Currently he is sitting on the board of both GIC and MAS.

Annual High GDP growth rates in Singapore means Demand for Higher salaries and bonuses for PAP Ministers.
girl.jpg

girl2.jpg

Too many of these "leave-it-to-market-forces" neoliberal chobolan types in the PAP. I like the old PAP better, under the proverbial iron fist of government intervention. That is when they did real work and solve problems.

Too many of these "leave-it-to-market-forces" neoliberal chobolan types in the PAP. I like the PAP better, under the proverbial iron fist of government intervention. That is when they did real work and solve problems.

Social democracies like Norway, Australia, Sweden, Denmark, Holland, Germany, Austria are good templates for opposition parties to follow when they assume power in the near future, I think.

The MTI paper also pointed out that a foreign workforce could help check consumer inflation in domestically-oriented sectors like retail and F&B, which economist Tan Khee Giap agreed was valid.

Basic Economics 101, demand and supply

When demand increase, suppy stay stagnant, price increase

How the hell did those scholars ever graduate???????

Social democracies like Norway, Australia, Sweden, Denmark, Holland, Germany, Austria are good templates for opposition parties to follow when they assume power in the near future, I think.

We've got Holland's liberal sex trade without the whore's unions and Germany's "pro-business, pro-labour, upturn-the-downturn" environment with shitty SMEs and GLCs. Singapore has little to offer to the world except our investment dollars. It is a sad state of affairs. You shouldn't just imitate them just because they are successful. One has got to make do with what we have, which are 1) dull and unmotivated workforce, 2) inward-looking SMEs doomed to be small, not medium because of no exportable products or services and 3) lack of business diversity and international job mobility (heading outside of SG, though it seems immigrants have no trouble getting in).