• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Noodle Thread

Why all Maggi? Try Knorr.

Anyway, don't expect too much from these. If you want the real stuff, still have to get the real bones and shells.

I can't remember names of some street/stall:

Dry noodle:
1. AMK Blk 453 market, stall name Chia Keng.
2. 1st Coffee shop on the left, turn into Balestier Rd from Thomson

Hokkien mee - drier version
1. Golden Mile hawker centre centre basement
2. Chomp Chomp, Serangoon Garden - stall name Ah Hock

Braised pig leg, instestines:
1. 1st Coffee shop on the left, turn into Balestier Rd from Thomson

Carrot cake - crispy white
1. AMK centre market- stall name Lim something.

Beef noodle
1. Coffee shop - near to Kitchener Rd/PA HQ

I can't remember names of some street/stall:

Hokkien mee - drier version
1. Golden Mile hawker centre centre basement
This stall's fried hokkien mee is good.

There are many other good stalls in this hawker centre. In addition to the nasi ayam penyet and tulang soup, there is also the bak chor mee and lor mee stall upstairs. Also a good beef noodle stall and a nice char kway tiao stall with vegetables and silverfish on top. Also a few good fish soup and dry noodle stalls and a popular yong tau foo stall.

This stall's fried hokkien mee is good.

This dry fried mee with thin beehoon version is good and rarely found elsewhere (thick beehoon soggy version). 3rd generation already.

There are many other good stalls in this hawker centre. In addition to the nasi ayam penyet and tulang soup, there is also the bak chor mee and lor mee stall upstairs. Also a good beef noodle stall and a nice char kway tiao stall with vegetables and silverfish on top. Also a few good fish soup and dry noodle stalls and a popular yong tau foo stall.

I only eat mee goreng at Golden Mile. The rest are overpriced craps.

Try the Prima Flour prepacked recipes. They are way better. They have Mee rebus, mee siam, laksa flavours. Comes in boxes about $4-5. Can get from NTUC or Ang Mo.

For bak kut teh, my fav is Pearlring brand.

I tried all this and it never comes out well.

If bros happen to be there, can also try the coffeeshop just next to McDonald's, nearer to the bus stop and MRT. There's a stall that sells mini-laksa for the $1.50 version if you are just greedy but not hungry, and there's a full size version for $2.00. The laksa soup esp with the bright red orangy broth is heavenly. At least to me. Bros can try and see if it's true for you as well.

you may want to try one stall inside coffee shop across carpark driveway down the steps behind NTUC Clementi, stall named Thaksin something ( must be Thaksin follower ) claim to be Thai style braised beef noodle run by few malay women, the soup stock is rich and the woman charges 50 cents for xtra bowl of soup

Have tried and the mee rebus is the best in this range. Actually looking for stock for the simple fishball noodles. one of the chaps here did give me answer.
Try the Prima Flour prepacked recipes. They are way better. They have Mee rebus, mee siam, laksa flavours. Comes in boxes about $4-5. Can get from NTUC or Ang Mo.

in winter months in the bay area, having a bowl of bun ho hue (a spicy variety of vietnamese pho) is an absolute delight.

My experience with pho has now become a journey as I never seem to get it right. There is always something missing that I can't point out. I have tried pho in many countries including France but I always walk away with a feeling that something is missing.

Do you know which part of Bay area has Viet food concentration? Would like to give it a go.

in winter months in the bay area, having a bowl of bun ho hue (a spicy variety of vietnamese pho) is an absolute delight.

My experience with pho has now become a journey as I never seem to get it right. There is always something missing that I can't point out. I have tried pho in many countries including France but I always walk away with a feeling that something is missing.

Do you know which part of Bay area has Viet food concentration? Would like to give it a go.

the best viet experience in the bay area is in little saigon in san jose, at the major cross streets of story road and mclaughlin avenue. there are many pho restaurants in and around the mall and nearby tully road, which is dedicated to vietnamese small businesses and eateries. the most notable is pho hoa restaurant, which started there and expanded into a chain. the grand dame of little saigon san jose is the dynasty seafood restaurant, run like a chinese canto restaurant by viet-chinese immigrants. you can skip that and head straight for the viet mall, which boasts of viet cafes and modern food court style eateries. capitol and aborn also host a couple of pho restaurants great with bun ho hue. there are a couple of viet cafes which serve coffee, snacks and lunch with bra-less scintilly clad viet chicks - everyone here including children have seen so many big tits that we are no longer excited about the chicks. we are more excited about the food and coffee.

A-Chinese-poultry-seller--006.jpg

Thanks for the detailed directions bro, much appreciated.

If you're going to SF, don't miss the Japanese noodles at Mifune in Japantown Kintetsu Mall. They serve most common Japanese dishes but their noodles are most famous, especially soba.

Move over Ng Ah Sio, or Ah Hua.

I cook my BKT with Phoon Huat's Redman Bakuteh spice. All you need is a kg of pork ribs, any type you like - prime, baby. Season with salt for about half hour, wash off salt. In the meantime, boil about 2 litres of water with a sachet of Redman BKT and a few slices of tang kuei (Angelica sinensis or Chinese Angelica) for fragrance and a unique herbal flavor. Add 5 heads of garlic, more if you really like it garlicky. I do. Boiled for 30 minutes until garlic are soft. Add a can of button mushrooms if desired.

Add the ribs for another 30 minutes on low heat. Nothing else is needed, no salt, pepper or MSG required.

Serve with yiu char kwei and rice, chilli and thick soya sauce.

Damn if it isn't the best BKT you have ever eaten.

hahaha...the most expensive bak kut teh I tried is the "famous or something" shop below hotel in Balestier Rd.
Freaking expensive and soso only..but then I always see queeue during peak hrs.

hahaha...the most expensive bak kut teh I tried is the "famous or something" shop below hotel in Balestier Rd.

forgot to add...the boss wanted 2 bought 2 units of new condo development in Balestier. Complained he wrote the cheques as requested but the developer changed their minds and withdrew the units.
kpkb to press.
Imagine the tons of $$$ he made from selling BKT.

I usually use ILC BKT spice packs, available from NTUC and many TCM shops. Small packs about S$1.50 or cheaper per pack if you buy in multi-pack packages. Just nice for a meal for two, even for one over two meals (save and reheat for second meal). About S$3.00 worth of pork ribs from NTUC or wet market stall goes along with one pack. Garlic to boil along is a must if you want the full flavouring out. How much pepper to add, according to your taste. Make a dip with chopped red chilli and dark soy sauce.

Another delicious type of noodles is dry duck noodles.
There's also the soup version or the braised duck version with thick sauce, but I prefer the dry version. Can use either mee kia or the thick yellow noodles.

Nothing special about the noodles or the duck, in fact I can do without the duck and have the plain noodles with the sauce, just like for cold soba and spicy cold Korean noodles. The key is in the chiili sauce. Usually 2 types, the sweet sambal one with a little bit of ikan bilis inside and the sour, watery one using chopped chilli, with either vinegar or lime to add a sour zing.