Many oppies here posts regularly about the terrible government oppressing the poor hardworking people of Singapore. According to them, the people are wise and noble, the Government is evil. But after last week, when more than a million people turn up to pay their last respects to the late Lee Kuan Yew, they writes that the people are all fools and idiots. Apparently people are only wise when they agree with your politics eh.
The million people that turned up are typically the below categories :
1. Retirees that are not much impacted by the gov policies
2. Students that are too young to know anything
3. civil servants , glcs that are serving the master without knowing their near future yet
4. minority of the upper class sinkie that are not much impacted by gov policies
5. poor sinkies that are being screwed again and again but wanted to be a kaypoh chee to just join in queues (some are oppo some are not)
6. FTs and especially PRs. Almost all my PR acquaintance are very thankful to pap to allow them to come in and share sinkie pie. LKY is a GOD to them as mentioned by some of them to me.
Conclusion is that ONLY people that has been impacted by the gov policies hated the gov. The level of hatred depends on how much the policies has impacted them.
It is not about who is wiser and who has to agree at this point of time. All I can say a WISE person will not only start to regret when things are too late for them. If other people can be impacted by the policies, there is a possibility that it will be their turn in future. Hope this simple words make sense to pap supporter.
P.S. personally the major impact to me is depriving me a job. Among all other screwed up policies, this is considered RED major impact. Without a job, any other policies - cpf, hdb, car, marriage no longer make sense to me.