the lazy wantan mee seller and the paps

just had wantan mee dry for lunch.

it was a simple yet enlightening lunch. one, i realised the wantan mee man was actually a lazy man. two, i realised that most of the paps are just like this lazy wantan mee man.

he made the noodle, served it to me except when i looked at it, i thought he forgot to add in the chilli paste. how could one eat dry wantan mee without chill paste? so i asked where was the the chilli. he replied it was under the heap of plain noodle and u got to stir it up thoroughly to have an evenly mixed chilli dry noodle.

the question here is: why couldn't the wantan mee man do that b4 he served it?

after mixing up the noodle, i was pissed by another thing: he didn't give me any pickled green chillies. so i asked him again. his reply was to come and get it yourself. wtf! so i went to get the chillies. by the time i came back to my table, i think i had lost my appetitie.

how does this encounter link with the paps?

well, u see how the paps brag they wanna serve the voters? it's exactly like this lazy wantan mee seller. for example, they boast that there are many different aids available to the poor and needies but then again those poor chaps got to know where and how to get it. do the paps serve it wholeheartedly?

your answer is as good as mine :( just like the plain dry noodle with the chilli paste hidden below and u got to stir it to get the homogenous mix which was quite a task with uneven concentration of chilli paste. that's exactly what the paps is all about - THE LAZY WANTAN MEE MAN.

Re: the cunning chicken rice seller and the paps

at one time, i ate at a chicken rice at a certain coffeeshop stall in queenstown. this was what happened which made me ate there the first and also the last time.

chicken rice seller priced his food for $3 a plate. reasonable and fair enough. ordered one plate with breast meat. this is how he serves:

he cut s small piece of chicken breast. my god! the size of it was like only for one single bite. to make it looked more liked a bigger piece, he smashed it with his chopper blade so that the meat was flatted. from the top view, it did look bigger but from the side view, it was definitely became squashed and thinner. next, he chopped into smaller strips and served.

so wtf was that?? it was still the small one-bite piece of chicken meat.

it was another enlightening meal.

what does that have to do with the paps u ask again?

well, isn't the paps behaves in such a way? give a small little angpows and brag it like it contains big money inside. doesn't that make our paps in the same category as the cunning chicken rice seller?

Is this thread about the wantan mee seller, or the lazy customer? :confused:

Re:the colorful ice-karchang seller and the paps

i dunno what's gotten into me now. it seems that every trickery food, i see the images of the paps as the main ingredients. oh boy!

my son loves ice-karchang, so do i.

in the good old days, ice-karchang held many surprises for me. when u dug into the ice hill, u would find attap chees, red bean, creamy corns, different colored bits of agar-agar and many other extras.

so here i was ordering this ice-karchang for $2. it was colorful outside. the ice looked fine and snowy. however, when we dug into the ice, it was such a disappointment! there was pittance of a few grains of redbean. the attap-chees were missing. to get one tiny bit of those colorful agar-agar was like discovering gold in a treasure hunt. hell! what kind of $2 ice-karchang was that? i don't think it's even worth 50cents!

i was pissed. my son was dejected and grossly disappointed. never mind! if it was ice-karchang i promised my son, i would drive us to get it. where else but chinatown hawker centre where it only sells for $1.20 with attap-chees and all the good o' days's ice-karchang stuffs.

what does ice-karchang gotta do with the paps? yes u gotta to ask again, don't u?

don't u people see the synonym?

paps try to present themselves as very "colorful" exciting leeders but in actual fact, they are just like this misleading colorful ice-karchang that is full of empty promises. they are just like this deluding ice-karchang seller :(

pls refer to the promise colorful exciting SWISS STANDARD and FIRST CLASS whatever for better understanding of what i mean :(

u already got the answer. customer waits to be served with proper managed food.

that was the first time i had ever tried wantan mee served this way.

you analogy is all wrong.
its not some wanton or chicken hawker.

It is a cook which your family employs.....(incidently cook wear white also)
He used to cook delicious food and fed your family well. Everyone was happy.
He is trustworthy so you leave everything to him, even the marketing budget.
But now the cook is getting lazy, demanding more pay, more helpers (which many are his family members who can't cook).
He makes excuses to renovate the kitchen, buy unnecessary new equipment
You realised he wants to benefit his friends who are in these businesses.
You close one eye on account of his past service. Ok la the food still taste good and we are still well fed. Silly you.
Then he cut corners and quality of food drops.
He insist you eat whatever he cooks. And the portions are getting less also but he demands increase in his pay and his helpers.
He wants more marketing budget.
He acts bossy on you tell you that you cannot do without him, take it or leave it.
New equipment breaks down and workers screw up, sometimes you even missed your meals make do with instant noodles.
He offers lame excuses, lip service to buck up......
But nothing's change.
Recently you found out he has been cooking good food using your ingredients and serving to the neighbours.

YOU WANT TO SACK THE COOK? OR CONTINUE TO SUFFER?

Re: the notorious pao seller and the paps

speaking of pao, it really makes my blood boils cos it's like telling me my cpf is as good as kaput!

i was told that a certain lor mai kai - the glutinous rice with nice meat/mushroom/haybee fillings - at a certain hawker stall was really fantastic, good and value-for-money. i was there once so i decided to ta pow some back to the office for the colleagues.

it was a total disappointment again and over-rated about the big paos and lor mai kais.

for the paos, the doughs were thick with very little meat stuffing inside. not to mentioned, the piece of hard-boiled egg was almost negligible size. same went for the lor mai kai. there was very little meat stuffing, no haybee or chestnut or even a small of mushroom.

the lor mai kai reminds me of my sure-kaput cpf saving. from outsidte looks good but from inside, it was just quite empty.

doesn't that notorious pao seller resemble our paps selling us our cpf pows with much empty stuffing n promises?

you analogy is all wrong.
its not some wanton or chicken hawker.

It is a cook which your family employs.....(incidently cook wear white also)
He used to cook delicious food and fed your family well. Everyone was happy.
He is trustworthy so you leave everything to him, even the marketing budget.
But now the cook is getting lazy, demanding more pay, more helpers (which many are his family members who can't cook).
He makes excuses to renovate the kitchen, buy unnecessary new equipment
You realised he wants to benefit his friends who are in these businesses.
You close one eye on account of his past service. Ok la the food still taste good and we are still well fed. Silly you.
Then he cut corners and quality of food drops.
He insist you eat whatever he cooks. And the portions are getting less also but he demands increase in his pay and his helpers.
He wants more marketing budget.
He acts bossy on you tell you that you cannot do without him, take it or leave it.
New equipment breaks down and workers screw up, sometimes you even missed your meals make do with instant noodles.
He offers lame excuses, lip service to buck up......
But nothing's change.
Recently you found out he has been cooking good food using your ingredients and serving to the neighbours.

YOU WANT TO SACK THE COOK? OR CONTINUE TO SUFFER?

unless better wantan mee sellers or those hawkers can rise up to take over. so u wanna be a hawker apprentice and take over the land?

I already identified a few good honest hardworking cooks.
They were not able to get employed then due to my listening to my cook's empty promises and threats that i will starve without him.
But i have since woken up and became wiser....
Already suffering now eating noodles most of the time since the cook seldom even enters the kitchen.
My family members scare they will starve without this cook, but i am willing to endure some starving to set things right.

I already identified a few good honest hardworking cooks.
They were not able to get employed then due to my listening to my cook's empty promises and threats that i will starve without him.
But i have since woken up and became wiser....
Already suffering now eating noodles most of the time since the cook seldom even enters the kitchen.
My family members scare they will starve without this cook, but i am willing to endure some starving to set things right.

my li'l brother leetahsar is even better. he cooks himself and so far i think his sphagetti is not too bad. his pizza is a killer! very shiok even though he uses very simple herbs he grows himself.

it was a slow gloomy day. wrapping up to go home now.

would share with u political foods again. hope some of u could wring your creative juices and cum out with more satirical foods. cya soon. pc off and i m out of here!

1. aiyoh! bro.
2. you really care to read on meh.
3. honest, i see stars looking at cavey's avatar!

celebrity chefs are like baey yam keng

they are what the connoiseurs called candy-boys - pretty to look at but plain to eat. their ability and talents are grossly over-rated. just like baey, just eye candy, talk alot, smile even more and in the end it'd be another day.:*:

Re: celebrity chefs are like baey yam keng

Fast food chains also ask you add chili, sugar, creamer, whatever yourself to your food and drink, self-service carry your food and drink to your table yourself. Foodcourt stalls and many hawker centre stalls are already practising this. Imagine if the day comes when you order kopi at kopishop with milk but little sugar and the counter assistant says, kopi is always served kosong. Milk and sugar are over there, help yourself. Worse can come if when after you're done with your makan and minum and ready to leave, kopishop bouncer comes and scolds you, uncle, you must return your plates, bowls, utensils and cups to the dishwashing section of the kitchen yourself. Look at signboard up there, be considerate, you must clean up the table after you're done for the convenience of next customer.

SGPlians damn lazy, dont clear their own tables when not eating in restaurants.

Angmos in angmo countries all take initatives to do so always.

Ah siah kias.

actually clearing and wiping clean tables could be a good job for retirees and healthy senior folks. just that perhaps they could pay them a bit more generously. instead, all those menial jobs go to FTs.

last time, there were even jobs for hawker assistants who would serve the foods right to the table. it was so convenient and pleasurable to eat in hawker centres then. now u have to chope tables by putting packet of tissues. when u hv queue for half an hr for your food, bring it all the way to your choped table, u find someone already taken over your place. your tissue packet is also taken away.

there are so many jobs lost and partly it is the gov to be blamed. don't u agree?

Re: the tonic soup seller and the paps

when u see the word "tonic", first thing that comes to your mind would be the soup should be definitely good for the body. so u queue for a bowl of soup only to find it ladens with msg. minutes after slurping the tonic soup to the last drop, your throat cringes and tightens. the veins at your throat and the forehead starts popping out. u feel terribly thirsty. hell! u realise u ve just drunk a tonne of msg laced soup.

why soup also links to pap, you ask?

didn't pap ever tell us - repetitively by lau goh - that we should take the bitter pills? that they are good for us?

just like the msg laced tonic soup which we thought it was beneficial to our body. then what happens next after u consume it? you get terribly migraine from the msg.

so what does pap's "miracle bitter pills" do to us? more get unemployed. middle-aged professionals get retrenched mercilessly. even if they manage to find a new job, it pays pittance. and what about the rest who are not educated? they are grieviously being exploited to multi-task at the same pitiful pay.

u ask who are the gov trying to protect and help : the people or the capitalists?

lim suay suay's famous boast : "i feel so rich....i got so much $ in my cpf...." is a total fuckup representation of himself and the avarice driven paps. :(

char kuay teow is like pap's toy SMRT

don't u just love char kuay teow? the deadly sinful fried noodle with fresh bloody hums (cockerels), crispy oily lards of pork fats and the sinfully high-sodium ladden sauces. all for the price of $3 a plate and a very much later price of at least $100k+ heart bypass surgery.

c k t resembles our SMRT. tastes good at the beginning and after years of consuming it, the foodie would surely be inflicted with heart problems.

just like pap's proud SMRT, if we ignore regular health checkups, we got into serious health problems later. that's what exactly happening to smrt. they stress too much on profit orientation at the expense of a healthy maintenance and so now it's all jammed up.

and of course 900M to cure it shall invariably be passed to us the commuters. now where is that $8 open heart surgery when the nation really needs it? yep! u heard it. some pappie had openly boasted it: $8 only for an open heart surgery. uniquely pappie's healthy way of living. for a average singaporean, he would either be dead by the disease or killed by the medical bills!