• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the better curry puffs

value for money, the better curry puffs i tried gotta be SELERA located at the opp the old REX THEATRE somewhere around selegie rd area. the pastry is thin and crispy while the filling is packed with very aromatic potato. u can even chew on the texture of chicken meat pieces.

customers could even see on the spot how they make the puffs. SELERA has now come up with many new version of curry puffs such as sardine, mutton and even goreng pisang and other kinds of fritters.

very shiok! :)

This 1 have to agree, 1st time I ate their curry puff is really good, the fillings are full and have a bit of butter smell, not sure the butter is from the pastry or not, but definitely something different. One of the better curry puff out there...

thanks. I may be heading there later this afternoon and may drop by to get some. Can i mention your name? Will that help?

value for money, the better curry puffs i tried gotta be SELERA located at the opp the old REX THEATRE somewhere around selegie rd area. the pastry is thin and crispy while the filling is packed with very aromatic potato. u can even chew on the texture of chicken meat pieces.

customers could even see on the spot how they make the puffs. SELERA has now come up with many new version of curry puffs such as sardine, mutton and even goreng pisang and other kinds of fritters.

very shiok! :)

thanks. I may be heading there later this afternoon and may drop by to get some. Can i mention your name? Will that help?

are they still around? drove past countless times, seems like the place is under going reno?

dunno leh bro...i'm just going by LTB's recommendation. Forum is useful for this kind of information amongst other things.

Just dont take things too seriously though.

are they still around? drove past countless times, seems like the place is under going reno?

Polar not the traditional epoh epoh type but the fluffy kind....
Another one is Wang Wang at old airport hc....

can count A1 as another fluffy one.

i recall there's another curry puff joint near Aljunied MRT also serving the fluffy kind. the filling oozes out when you bite into it, can't remember the name though.

Tip Top, Polar

polar is expensive puff mostly AIR. the pastry is flaky. it's ok while hot but once cold, it's horrendous tha's why their puffs are always kept in a warmer display. filling is really miserable. the price is not worth the pudding.

SELERA on the other hand taste heavely when hot and just as good when cold. even if left overnight and eat the next day, just put into toaster and warm it up, it taste as just good.

and yes! do be very careful to take small bite, blow when feasting a freshly fried hot SELERA puff. it can scald the mouth badly because of it so fragrantly delicious, one would tend to take a big bite and be scalded. they should maybe put a timely gentle warning in their wrapper: small bite, blow, then chew or risk scalding.

dunno leh bro...i'm just going by LTB's recommendation. Forum is useful for this kind of information amongst other things.

Just dont take things too seriously though.

thanks for compliment.

the last time i did one for CHINATOWN'S HAWKER FOOD, our petty jealous scroobal deleted the entire thread. i m sorry for your guys. many of the good old foods of heydays could now be probably extinct. those wholesome very economical food were usually prepared by kindred uncle and auntie couple who could be no longer able to man the stall due to old age or could have passed on.

they were what we called PIONER HAWKERS with a kindly heart and really passionately cooked their food with loving pride. and many are going to be extinct pretty soon :(

sometime when we took the mrt, somewhere before the escalator u can find indonesian hawker selling their epok-epok. it comes in either sardine or potato.

my god! they are good! at 3 pcs for $1, it's really a giveaway. i would usually buy like $10 for 30 pcs. and yes! it still tastes as good when they are cold as when they are hot or warm. could down at least 6 pcs at one go!

I don't like the Chinese/Malay-style spicy crispy puff. I like the western-style buttery fluffy puff as those from Han's.

polar is expensive puff mostly AIR. the pastry is flaky. it's ok while hot but once cold, it's horrendous tha's why their puffs are always kept in a warmer display. filling is really miserable. the price is not worth the pudding.

SELERA on the other hand taste heavely when hot and just as good when cold. even if left overnight and eat the next day, just put into toaster and warm it up, it taste as just good.

and yes! do be very careful to take small bite, blow when feasting a freshly fried hot SELERA puff. it can scald the mouth badly because of it so fragrantly delicious, one would tend to take a big bite and be scalded. they should maybe put a timely gentle warning in their wrapper: small bite, blow, then chew or risk scalding.

I have to agree with you selara was the best, even when OCK was around then, are they still at that coffee shop opposite the Old Rex Cinema?? have not gone down Mackenzie road for a long while & a longer time, bought curry puffs from Selara.

Polar curry puffs was good when they at High Street, not far from Ensign Book Store, up to the time, they opened their shop at OUB SHopping Centre ( now 1 Raffles Place, I think) at the basment next to the cake shop, when they started franchising & sprouting all over SINgapore, it became crappy. They used to sell delicious chicken pie too, one of the three things I eat from them in the past, Chicken Pie, Curry Puff & Sugar Swiss Roll. Swiss roll til recent years I stopped for the prices keep rising.

can count A1 as another fluffy one.

i recall there's another curry puff joint near Aljunied MRT also serving the fluffy kind. the filling oozes out when you bite into it, can't remember the name though.

another good curry puff can be found in a coffeeshop in bt batok. can't remember which block or exactly where. but if i were to be around the area i could sniff it out. the price was like $1+ or $2. but who cares! it's really good. big chucky pieces of chicken meat inside the flaky n very crispy buttery pastry.

hong lim hawker centre also sells a very delightful array of curry puffs with different kind of fillings. they even have one that contain sweet yam paste. their puffs are not cheap. think it's about $1.50 each. the size is slightly bigger than the normal puffs. they sell out quite fast.

if u r there, can also try the opp bak chang which has inflated greatly. last time it used to be like $1.50. now it's about $2.50. next to the puff, u can find the tradition wild boar meat, sand shark meat n ter ka tan or a agar-agar jelly liked gourmet made from the cartilage of pig. the next stall sells an array of muffins. very shiok makan!!

IMG_7449.jpg

I still prefer the traditional curry puff, fried 1 (picture 1), no oven baked..... :D:D:D

The neighbourhood aunties curry puff are the best, home made, secret recipe, hand made, yummy!! I still recall, "Boy you want curry puffs, aunty, made some & hot! ( the curry puffs, not auntie)!! yummy!!:D

honestly speaking, i do not like OCK. its pastry is thick. it's worst at the knitted edge which is even thicker and which usually i bite on the body and throw away the very hard knitted edge. last time, at least still can tolerate cos still could sometime be lucky to chew on a few small pices of chicken meat. now hardly. not worth the price. heard that the fillings and pastry are not machine made and could be from PRC. cheaper outsourcing perhaps like bee cheng heng bak kwa.

can anyone confirm that?

IMG_7449.jpg

I still prefer the traditional curry puff, fried 1 (picture 1), no oven baked..... :D:D:D

the last pic is indian's version of curry puff. the pastry edge is super hard. filling is usually potato with small bits of curry mutton which is mostly very tough mutton sinews hardly chewable. it's a mystery who or which company actually make those. almost every mamak's stall selling the same curry mutton puff. by the way, do u guys think they recyle the puffs??

i shall gladly pass those. thank-you.