• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thank you Goh Chok Tong for this one good act

The DNA of the Perakans are different from the other local Chinese..... our Y-chromosome originated from China, but our X-chromosome and mitochrondia bits and pieces were south east Asian.....Malay, Batak, Thai, etc.....

Means our Chinese forefathers migated to the Malay Peninsular and screwed the local women shiok shiok.......
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Now is the other way round,so many Chinese girls are screwed Shiok Shiok by Ah Neh and angmo and even procreate so many babies for them!!!!

Mandarin was chosen as the National Language after the 1911 revolution..... in fact, the new govt nearly chose Cantonese as the National Language but was voted down.....

Many of the revolutionary leaders, including Sun Yat-sen, were from Guangdong - which has long been China’s land of new ideas. A great debate started between the delegates and eventually led to a formal vote. Cantonese lost out by a small margin....... otherwise, "Hanyu" would have had been Cantonese......
I think you should not believe urban myth because you saw an article on Internet. Cantonese is spoken by only a small minority of Chinese. They are widely used outside of china because being a coastal province, Guangdong accounted for a large proportion of early Chinese emigrants. This created a false impression on the Chinese diaspora that Chinese mostly spoke Cantonese.

There are many dialects in china. Emperor Qin several eons before forced the unified written language on whole of china, which has many benefit for china in terms of unifying the culture under a single umbrella. The Chinese spoken language is now unified under the mandarin pronunciation. Why add complexity by insisting on myriad of dialects when children are already struggling with just English and mandarin? In misguided effort to keep the dialects, future generations of sinkies may end up very confused about their heritage, especially with so many inter dialect marriages.

My Singaporean friend says that when Shanghai people meets to talk business, they would invariably turn to their own dialect...... the rest are considered outsiders.........:(:(:(:(:(:(
They can try, but eventually it is futile because of so many inter provincial marriages. The native shanghaiese are now a minority in their own city. Same for Beijing.

bro watchman,

what bro asterix post is a very accurate analysis of cantonese. i consider myself first as cantonese, singaporean then lastly chinese. seriously, i dun give a damn what happen to the rest of china as long guangdong not affected. the central communist govt may want to everyone speak putonghua but canton had been resisting the mandarin BS. most of the ppl in guangdong still speak cantonese at home and according to my mom who visited her stepbro in guangzhou, many folks there still speak cantonese ONLY. those statistic reports generate by the central govt dont worth the paper it was printed on.

the following links were regards to the 2010 cantonese protest.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jul/25/protesters-guangzhou-protect-cantonese
http://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010年廣州撐粵語行動

有市民發現明代名將袁崇煥在東莞石碣故鄉袁崇煥紀念公園的粵語口頭禪銘牌被當地文化部門鑿走。原來的金色銘牌上刻有袁打仗時的口頭禪「掉哪媽,頂硬上!」《香港蘋果日報》指事件「令廣東話捍衞戰火上加油」。

i like 袁崇煥's slogan. which make me feel sad, why a southern cantonese had to die protecting china while the northen chinese opened the shanghaiguan to the manchus?

Why add complexity by insisting on myriad of dialects when children are already struggling with just English and mandarin? In misguided effort to keep the dialects, future generations of sinkies may end up very confused about their heritage, especially with so many inter dialect marriages.

er... why struggle huh? now as if wanting the kid to write in dialect too, just learn to speak cannot meh?

just learn enough to listen and speak only will take a lot of efforts?

conformity is the end of creative.

bro watchman,

what bro asterix post is a very accurate analysis of cantonese. i consider myself first as cantonese, singaporean then lastly chinese. seriously, i dun give a damn what happen to the rest of china as long guangdong not affected. the central communist govt may want to everyone speak putonghua but canton had been resisting the mandarin BS. most of the ppl in guangdong still speak cantonese at home and according to my mom who visited her stepbro in guangzhou, many folks there still speak cantonese ONLY.
Resistance is futile as Cantonese is less than 5% of total Chinese population. Who will your kids and grand kids marry? Pure Cantonese?

Massive global migration as well as migration within china will rapidly unify the Chinese language and identity, and I don't think the other 95% will bother about learning Cantonese as every Chinese would prefer to spend their limited time to learn just mandarin and English.

frankly I prefer the dialect name more 亲切. Han yu pinyin is like trying to fit all breasts into 4 cup sizes so that the software can recognise n type Chinese. makes all of us lose the dialect in our names.

er... why struggle huh? now as if wanting the kid to write in dialect too, just learn to speak cannot meh?

just learn enough to listen and speak only will take a lot of efforts?

conformity is the end of creative.
Which dialect? Cantonese, hainanese, teochew, Hokkien, Hakka or even baba Rojak? How to sustain so many different kinds? Einstein don't need the dialects to be smart. Don't confuse issues.

Resistance is futile as Cantonese is less than 5% of total Chinese population. Who will your kids and grand kids marry? Pure Cantonese?

Massive global migration as well as migration within china will rapidly unify the Chinese language and identity, and I don't think the other 95% will bother about learning Cantonese as every Chinese would prefer to spend their limited time to learn just mandarin and English.

there is 140million in guangdong, i take it not all speak cantonese but it still a sizeable number of ppl.

if u and your kid dont want to learn any dialects, that fine by me but dont impose it on me.

Mandarin is a minority language used by Manchu invaders to unite China so not really Hanyu. Pinyin is China's method of Romanising Mandarin. Taiwan romanises Mandarin in a different manner.

There is hardly any pure teochew, Hakka, Cantonese etc. left. All Rojak liao. Only thing worth preserving is Han Chinese heritage, and that is to use Chinese characters and hanyu pinyin pronunciation. Note "hanyu" means Han language.

I like my dialect very much n proud of it too. I think it represent an integral part of who we r...hence I disagree w gahmen decision esp lky to kill off dialect in Singapore

Mandarin is a minority language used by Manchu invaders to unite China so not really Hanyu. Pinyin is China's method of Romanising Mandarin. Taiwan romanises Mandarin in a different manner.
I'm not bothered by this history. My point is that vast majority of Chinese now knows mandarin and hanyu pinyin. So just go with the flow. No point insisting on badly spelt dialect names, which is a relic of colonial days.

In two or three more generations, every Chinese will use mandarin with hanyupinyin, and some will learn another foreign language like English, Spanish or even Korean. Dialect is going to be near extinct, like it or not.

there is 140million in guangdong, i take it not all speak cantonese but it still a sizeable number of ppl.

if u and your kid dont want to learn any dialects, that fine by me but dont impose it on me.
No one here is imposing mandarin on you. You can wait another decade or two, and see if your kids and grand kids will bother to learn dialect. Also see how many will insist on badly spelt dialect english surnames.

as long HK still churn out cantonese tv drama and movie, the cantonese langague will continue to exist. as long i still alive, i will teach my younger generations cantonese. what happen after i dead is no longer my business. i really cannot see what so difficult to able to speak own dialect, mandarin plus english?

I'm not bothered by this history. My point is that vast majority of Chinese now knows mandarin and hanyu pinyin. So just go with the flow. No point insisting on badly spelt dialect names, which is a relic of colonial days.

In two or three more generations, every Chinese will use mandarin with hanyupinyin, and some will learn another foreign language like English, Spanish or even Korean. Dialect is going to be near extinct, like it or not.

as long HK still churn out cantonese tv drama and movie, the cantonese langague will continue to exist. as long i still alive, i will teach my younger generations cantonese. what happen after i dead is no longer my business. i really cannot see what so difficult to able to speak own dialect, mandarin plus english?

yup it's not difficult at all..in fact the more u speak the better u will b

I'm not bothered by this history. My point is that vast majority of Chinese now knows mandarin and hanyu pinyin. So just go with the flow. No point insisting on badly spelt dialect names, which is a relic of colonial days.In two or three more generations, every Chinese will use mandarin with hanyupinyin, and some will learn another foreign language like English, Spanish or even Korean. Dialect is going to be near extinct, like it or not.

Think you are talking about Sinkapore where dialects coud be phased out in two to three generations' time. But what about places like Taiwan and Hong Kong? When the KMT first arrived in Taiwan in the late 1940s they imposed the use of Mandarin on the island but it has failed and till today the local dialects - hokkien and hakka - are still widely used. Same for HK, has mandarin replaced cantonese as the principal dialect after takeover in 1997?

1. :D:D:D
2. yo! why don't you sell your ware to the people of hk too?
3. :p

Think you are talking about Sinkapore where dialects coud be phased out in two to three generations' time. But what about places like Taiwan and Hong Kong? When the KMT first arrived in Taiwan in the late 1940s they imposed the use of Mandarin on the island but it has failed and till today the local dialects - hokkien and hakka - are still widely used. Same for HK, has mandarin replaced cantonese as the principal dialect after takeover in 1997?
The Taiwanese was speaking perfect mandarin until the DPP came to power and they tried their best to be different from the mainland Chinese. Taiwan is now back to the mandarin camp again. If you have been to Hong Kong for past two decades, you will notice the massive shift towards mandarin. Even the canto pop singers have to learn mandarin nowadays. More than half of Guangdong province residents speaks no Cantonese nowadays.

"Lam" is the Cantonese way of spelling 林. The late founder of Lai Sun, a listed company here, was a Teochew. His surname was spelled "Lim", but his son's surname is spelled "Lam". Like I said, discrimination against 外省人 is strong and one way of avoiding it is to spell your name in the Cantonese, Fujian or whatever way if your forefathers were migrants from another province.

Interesting...actually I was curious to know if, before British came, a guy in Canton will call himself Mr. Lin or Mr. Lam. I am not talking about transliterating into English, that is another story..just in terms of pronunciation.

If they address each other as something that sounds like Lam, then you can spell it many ways...Lam, Lum or whatever...which also means the use of dialect surnames is nothing to do with colonialism, it is just regional variation in pronunciation which is captured in English differently or inefficiently since English alphabet is not designed for pronouncing Chinese words (it is not even designed for pronouncing English words, which is why you have put and but and thousands of other words pronounced differently with same spelling)...

For instance, Koreans went about re-spelling their names a few years ago, so Kimpo airport became Gimpo. Cheju->Jeju..But to a korean, they always pronounce as Gimpo, just spelt 'wrongly' or less accurately. Same for Indian towns, which are now changing to names that sound strange to outsider (Mumbai, instead of Bombay) but not to locals.

1. :D:D:D
2. yo! why don't you sell your ware to the people of hk too?
3. :p
Not going to bother. The tide of mandarin speaking prc will assimilate the honkies. The poor folks can insist on tradition, while the successful ones will learn to adapt quickly. Guess which group will breed more?