• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thank you Goh Chok Tong for this one good act

The DNA of the Perakans are different from the other local Chinese..... our Y-chromosome originated from China, but our X-chromosome and mitochrondia bits and pieces were south east Asian.....Malay, Batak, Thai, etc.....

Means our Chinese forefathers migated to the Malay Peninsular and screwed the local women shiok shiok.......
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
Since you want to go there, I shall oblige you. Peranakan is a Rojak culture, and even amongst the peranakans, there are so many differences because some peranakan are pure Chinese, some are mixed with Malays, some even mix with a little Caucasian. The peranakan are also somewhat different in Penang, Melaka and Singapore. To add to confusion, most peranakan are marrying Han Chinese nowadays. Now tell me, how to preserve this Rojak that is being assimilated back with the Han Chinese by marriage?

Peranakan is Mother = chinese, Father = Malay or the other way round? And why Peranakan cultures always associated with those Portuguese decendants har? Sorry ahh, I a bit blur, LOL

Not necessary Portuguese.
Ask the other person who claims to be Peranakan

Your kids will be seen by other non-Pinyin kids as children of PRC immigrants........not true Singaporeans....not loyal...no NS liabilities......:D
Haha, in a decade time, this will not matter anymore. The weird English names will be the minority in sinkieland.

No lost for the so-called true sinkie label. After all, my grandparents came from china, and so did my wife's grandparents. We only need to maintain our Chinese heritage, as the world is our oyster, not sinkieland.

Those people who dunno Chinese should be smacked in the head, yes, including erection and joetsy :D:D:D

You guys should be ashamed of yourself for not knowing your own mother tongue well :D:D:D

1. ak, aiyoh!
2. don't jump the gun leh.
3. i know canto inside out hoh.
4. however, i am weak reading the damn chin characters.
5. but that does not make me more or less chin mah.
6. this is our personal choice:D
7. is it that knowing "chin" can have 2 additional horns on one's forehead or what:p

As long as you have chinese genes in your blood, you are forever a chinese, no matter how you deny it.

Ask yourself, what language would you take as 2nd language during that time? Bahasa? Tamil?

As much as I hate China now, but I will fight for China if SG licked the Westerner's butt IF there's a war

1. aiyoh!
2. sheep have no choice in school for the 2nd language option leh.

我们都是龙的传人!!!!!!

Except for the Malays and Indians, paiseh :D:D:D

The TS is right. Why should a Teochew or Hakka be forced to give their children Mandarin names? Even if they do want to give their children pinyin names, why should they change their surname which has been the same for seven generations?

TS, hanyu pinyin is the right way to pronounce Chinese names. That is how Chinese teachers pronounce the names. On the other hand, the dialect names are relic from colonial past, when English educated nurses gave arbitrary English phonic spelling of the dialect names. That's why we have Tan, Tin and whatever weird spelling for the same Chinese surname. :*:

Get your facts and history right before spewing nonsense.

The TS is right. Why should a Teochew or Hakka be forced to give their children Mandarin names? Even if they do want to give their children pinyin names, why should they change their surname which has been the same for seven generations?
There is hardly any pure teochew, Hakka, Cantonese etc. left. All Rojak liao. Only thing worth preserving is Han Chinese heritage, and that is to use Chinese characters and hanyu pinyin pronunciation. Note "hanyu" means Han language.

1. yo! no offence.
2. you may not be one.
3. but me, am a blue-bloodied canto hoh!
4. veri veri proud to be one too:D

1. yo! no offence.
2. you may not be one.
3. but me, am a blue-bloodied canto hoh!
4. veri veri proud to be one too:D
You are rare breed. Your wife also pure Cantonese? Did you check her parents and grandparents?

you canto? hahaha. you are a nobody.

the ones that are being overrun by the chinks in hongkie land?

you no blue blooded la bodoh, the tiongs will take a dump on you and flush you away like they are doing in hongkie land.

just wait till they become the majority here like how the paps are planng hahaah

You are rare breed. Your wife also pure Cantonese? Did you check her parents and grandparents?

1. aiyoh!
2. of course lah.
3. even 3 generations back too.
4. enough or not:D
5. we are who we are.
6. don't need any damn sheep to tell us what we are hoh

actually i wonder, most yellow stains who marry brown stains, their kids take chink language right. (anecdotal evidence)

anyone go the other way round? I mean the brown yellow spawn takes indian langs?

got or not you yellow stains?

you canto? hahaha. you are a nobody.

the ones that are being overrun by the chinks in hongkie land?

you no blue blooded la bodoh, the tiongs will take a dump on you and flush you away like they are doing in hongkie land.

just wait till they become the majority here like how the paps are planng hahaah

1. yo!
2. pls do your homework on hk mah.
3. we have already kicked the tiongs out of the hospitals hoh.
4. those preggy ones.
5. yes, me am some nobody but proud to be a nobody.
6. at least not some dafter sheep, to be led for its entire lifetime:p

What about Hongkies, they also use Lam etc because of colonial slavery?

The Cantonese have their own phonetic system. Instead of four main tones in Mandarin, they have six.

Hong Kong is part of Guangdong and has been so for thousands of years. One thing about being Chinese is that provincial identity is stronger than national. A person would consider himself Cantonese first, Chinese second, and if he/she is ultra-traditional, all others are "barbarians" or 鬼. Discrimination against those from "outside of the province" (外省人) and don't speak the local "dialect" is traditionally strong. I put dialect in inverted commas because many are mutually unintelligable and it is not a dialect in the European sense of the word.

The Fragrant Harbour is unique in that on top of the Cantonese base, there were also mass migrations of people from other provinces due to Civil War, Great Leap Forward, Cultural Revolution and what not. Hence you have the Shanghaiese, Hokkien, Teochews, etc thrown into the Cantonese pot. For these "migrants", British rule of law was better than Chinese "rule by man" - regardless of whether that man is the Emperor, Yuan Shikai, Mao Tse Tung, Deng Xiao Ping or worse, Lee Kuan Yew.

"Lam" is the Cantonese way of spelling 林. The late founder of Lai Sun, a listed company here, was a Teochew. His surname was spelled "Lim", but his son's surname is spelled "Lam". Like I said, discrimination against 外省人 is strong and one way of avoiding it is to spell your name in the Cantonese, Fujian or whatever way if your forefathers were migrants from another province. Another way is to speak Cantonese like a local. Or bypass it by getting your Hokkien brothers together to form your own clan association and help each other out in business.

The Mainland is trying to get rid of this "provincial" mentality and replace it with a national identity and one way is through Mandarin and Hanyu Pinyin. Subdue is attainable, but to eliminate it, is I think impossible.

Mandarin was chosen as the National Language after the 1911 revolution..... in fact, the new govt nearly chose Cantonese as the National Language but was voted down.....

Many of the revolutionary leaders, including Sun Yat-sen, were from Guangdong - which has long been China’s land of new ideas. A great debate started between the delegates and eventually led to a formal vote. Cantonese lost out by a small margin....... otherwise, "Hanyu" would have had been Cantonese......

The Mainland is trying to get rid of this "provincial" mentality and replace it with a national identity and one way is through Mandarin and Hanyu Pinyin. Subdue is attainable, but to eliminate it, is I think impossible.
the opening up of china over past three decades has successfully diminished the provincial segregation. Nowadays in shanghai, Shenzhen and Beijing, you hardly hear the local dialect and everyone use standard hanyu. Even the strong local accent is gone. This trend will continue in foreseeable future as Chinese is unified under the single language. I think this is for the better, otherwise china will end up like India. The world will be easier place to navigate with less language barriers.

Let a Peranakan say something about Chinese Dialects :

Mandarin: 7 dialects, 42 subdialects
Jin: 8 dialects
Huainan: 5 dialects
Wu: 6 dialects, 13 subdialects
Xiang: 3 dialects
Gan: 11 dialects
Min: 2 languages, 6 dialects, 9 subdialects
Hakka: 8 dialects
Cantonese: 8 dialects
Pinghua: 2 dialects
Total: 11 languages, 64 dialects, 64 subdialects

Susah lah..... easier to use Perankan Baba Malay.....:D:D:D:D:D.... or English

My Singaporean friend says that when Shanghai people meets to talk business, they would invariably turn to their own dialect...... the rest are considered outsiders.........:(:(:(:(:(:(