• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Temasek and GIC hold hands together and go shopping

Leepotism

Temasek, GIC buy US$1 billion in Alibaba stock in SoftBank sale

Singapore sovereign wealth funds bought US$1 billion of Chinese e-commerce company Alibaba Group Holding Ltd's shares as part of an US$8.9 billion sale by Japan's SoftBank Group Corp , Alibaba's biggest shareholder, the Chinese company said on Wednesday.

• Posted 02 Jun 2016 07:25
  • Updated 02 Ju
    an-employee-is-seen.jpg
    An employee is seen behind a glass wall with the logo of Alibaba at the company's headquarters on the outskirts of Hangzhou, Zhejiang province, April 23, 2014. REUTERS/Chance Chan/File Photo

BEIJING: Singapore sovereign wealth funds bought US$1 billion of Chinese e-commerce company Alibaba Group Holding Ltd's shares as part of an US$8.9 billion sale by Japan's SoftBank Group Corp , Alibaba's biggest shareholder, the Chinese company said on Wednesday.
Singapore's GIC and Temasek Holdings each purchased US$500 million of Alibaba shares at US$74.00 apiece through subsidiaries, Alibaba said, offering details of the SoftBank sale announced on Tuesday.

Alibaba purchased US$2 billion of its own stock at the same price, in a move which would add to earnings, Executive Vice Chairman Joe Tsai told analysts on a call.

Members of the Alibaba Partnership of senior executives and founders purchased another US$400 million, as expected, at the US$74 per share price, he added.

SoftBank also offered US$5.5 billion in debt securities, which can be exchanged for Alibaba stock in three years, Tsai said.
SoftBank Group said on Tuesday it would sell at least US$7.9 billion of shares in Alibaba to cut the Japanese company's debt. It said it would remain Alibaba's largest shareholder after the sale.

Shares of Alibaba fell about 6.5 percent to close at US$76.69.

knn, this is table manners lah, alibaba's jack ma invested in singpost and so GLCs also invest back in them. this is called 礼尚往来。

btw when temasek and GIC choot chiew, sure got political reason behind the move. and of course this is at the expense of our CPF money.:kma:

China big mkt lah, you dont remember GIC made a hugh fortune on Suzchow investment.

If you ask a blind chap to pick the names of 10 businesses around the world to invest he will get at least 3 to 4 right in terms of positive returns of at least 5 to 8 % and one will exceed 10%. The rest may not perform well and one will go into the red.

At the moment there is no benchmark to compare performance as both the funds are not transparent. Linaburg-Maduell Transparency Index to measure Sovereign Funds including Temasek is pretty much useless as one can easily reverse engineer to show what Temasek wants to show. Unless the West carries out the threat to removes Singapore firms from local indices it all up in the air. All you have to do is go see Temasek Annual Report and if you can see there is very little to go by.

i wonder where all the money temasek makes go to......270 bil fund.....even if they get only 4 percent dividends or returns a year assuming they are not complete fucktards,thats a income of 10.8 billion every year.that will easily put them among the top 10 or 20 most profitable companies in the world.ten billion can give 3.5 million sinkies $2800 a year,not too bad.if i want to generate $2800 passive income a year i would need a 56k portfolio at least.they should give sinkies a distribution of the profits from the sovereign wealth fund,maybe 70 percent payout of the cashflow......that should be the "priviledge" that differentiates us from the trashes.......but knowing the traitors in charge.

that is productivity......... right pocket and left pocket doing the same thing!! how absurd

i wonder where all the money temasek makes go to......270 bil fund.....even if they get only 4 percent dividends or returns a year assuming they are not complete fucktards,thats a income of 10.8 billion every year.that will easily put them among the top 10 or 20 most profitable companies in the world.ten billion can give 3.5 million sinkies $2800 a year,not too bad.if i want to generate $2800 passive income a year i would need a 56k portfolio at least.they should give sinkies a distribution of the profits from the sovereign wealth fund,maybe 70 percent payout of the cashflow......that should be the "priviledge" that differentiates us from the trashes.......but knowing the traitors in charge.

Ho Ching & company don't work for free or peanuts lah. A few billion in pay, expenses, bonuses,...extra hidden expenses
Sporeans still don't understand about why a gov't should be accountable to the taxpayers instead of being run like a privileged famiLee business.

I thought with the death of LKY things would change for the better, but it is getting worse with more things breaking down in Spore

If she's any good she would've bought crook company alibaba during when yahoo bought it