Tan Jee Say: Prepare for a broad-based non-PAP Government

'if TCB rally to form a coalition, u reckon it will garner a bigger success?

actually WP could build on its success in the last election, they just need to gather more "talents" and create A star teams (eg: TSM) to challenge the GRCs...

one at a time and WP can start working on that.

Tan Jee Say is 57 now. In his times, many do not speak English as the first language. English wasn't spoken as it is today.

His mother was a washerwoman. Few in his family went to university much less spoke Ingrish at home. He probably has little interaction in the English language other than at school and later in UK. You expect him to speak first class Queens English?

What's more important is his brilliant mind and not his oratorial ability. He could be the most articulate person but if without substance, he is a disappointment as a university graduate.

scroobal is just very disappointed that despite his oral skills, he is still a nobody in life.

Its an observation.

TJS is miles ahead of not going anywhere. I can bet you now that he will not get into parliament at the GE. His conduct at PE was really bad.

His conduct at PE was really bad huh? Its your opinion.

Whether TJS is miles ahead of not going anywhere... is again your opinion only. The feelings on the ground is: TJS is going places.

You are but one man's opinion and observation. And pretty wrong too.

Whether TJS is miles ahead of not going anywhere... is again your opinion only. The feelings on the ground is: TJS is going places.

That is my point exactly!!! Scroobal likes to talk through his sinkie ass and sounded like everyone is supporting his comment but too bad, he is only talking to himself. He like to claim a situation good or bad like some authority.. oh pls.. this si the modern age, morden age based on facts and not through egoistic statement. Well.. that is how sinkie usually behaves... sometime you got to get used to such 3rd world , primitive behaviour.

It's his "according to my inside sources" tone that I can't stand.

TJS's main problem is not his English. It is his indecision. Whether it is the party he joins or the position he takes, it is shortlived. Why? Because he sways with the wind. You can say he is an opportunist. Some people love opportunists. But you never know what he is up to next.

You are generalising. I know humanities scholars who can't articulate like lawyers but nevertheless excel in subjects which require critical thinking. The interviews didn't weed them out but many of them go on to excel in fields like high finance, econometrics and other technical fields.

You are right, take it with pinches of salt, They just egoistic armchair critic's warped logics.:p

You may not like it but make it one more. And which "ground", is it the ground in your social circle? The ground feelings in my social circle are a bit different from yours though. Imo, a bigger sampling spread will give a more accurate feedback for his choice, course of action and strategy.

He does come across to me as an typical armchair planner in the civil svs without going through the baptism of fire in the real commercial sectors.

Firstly most of you need lessons on comprehension. Let me break down for all of you.

Spoken English - My comments relate to his spoken English.

Articulation - His articulation is perfectly fine. In fact it is good. His paper on fixing of the economy is excellent. I can't recall anyone writing a more compelling alternate view of addressing our structural economic woes as he has. Well articulated. There is no way he could have reached Dep Sec of MT&I and PPS if he is spoken english and articulation are equally bad. He won't even be in the Admin Service. They would have pushed him to another service.

Lim Swee Suay is certainly worse than this guy.

His conduct at GE was good but PE was bad and this had nothing to do with his spoken English, tamil or Japanese. I think that he took the wrong tack and committed hari kiri in the GE. My sense is that he lacks political acumen. His thank you speech smacks of political immaturity. He is better suited for GE and seem to struggle to out his agenda across for the PE.

If ever Tan Jee Say is appointed or wins in an elective office, he has to explain how he studied in a top UK University and speak worse then someone from Toh Tuck Secondary. And he did humanities.

After the PE, went to someone's party and his language became a hot topic. Some people were wondering how he became PPS

Ahm he speaks marginally better than President Scholar CCS. But both of them have no substance.

Firstly most of you need lessons on comprehension. Let me break down for all of you.

Spoken English - My comments relate to his spoken English.

Articulation - His articulation is perfectly fine. In fact it is good. His paper on fixing of the economy is excellent. I can't recall anyone writing a more compelling alternate view of addressing our structural economic woes as he has. Well articulated. There is no way he could have reached Dep Sec of MT&I and PPS if he is spoken english and articulation are equally bad. He won't even be in the Admin Service. They would have pushed him to another service.

Lim Swee Suay is certainly worse than this guy.

His conduct at GE was good but PE was bad and this had nothing to do with his spoken English, tamil or Japanese. I think that he took the wrong tack and committed hari kiri in the GE. My sense is that he lacks political acumen. His thank you speech smacks of political immaturity. He is better suited for GE and seem to struggle to out his agenda across for the PE.

Oh.. you can save your sinkie effort to break down anything, we do not need it. Maybe we should spot you on your comments from now onwards on post. Isn't it better?

Maybe i should start off with We don't care what you think and whenever we hear something shitty from you, you get it.

You wouldn't be here if there isn't any forum at all and since you like to request for this and that from the forum host, i was wonder why you got no balls to start a forum yourself.

You may not like it but make it one more. And which "ground", is it the ground in your social circle? The ground feelings in my social circle are a bit different from yours though. Imo, a bigger sampling spread will give a more accurate feedback for his choice, course of action and strategy.

Shall we start with Yahoo News? http://sg.news.yahoo.com/no-need-for-populist-gov-t--lee-kuan-yew.html

TJS consistently articulate many issues... Foreigners allowed in in great numbers. Sinkies left behind by the gahmen. A more democratic and puralistic Singapore. Control of the press. CPF and the aged... and etc

Now which ground are you standing on?

Shall we start with Yahoo News? http://sg.news.yahoo.com/no-need-for-populist-gov-t--lee-kuan-yew.html

TJS consistently articulate many issues... Foreigners allowed in in great numbers. Sinkies left behind by the gahmen. A more democratic and puralistic Singapore. Control of the press. CPF and the aged... and etc

Now which ground are you standing on?

Its not a question of how many issues that TJS articulates. If you want to use that as a yardstick, then you better get TKL out to be the leader of the opposition. TKL writes on his FB and blogs on everything under the sun....

The question is whether TJS is now electable and has the clout to lead a coalition. To many on this forum, including some who entrusted their precious votes to him, TJS is not going any where fast. His strategy and naivety during the PE has resulted in many voters in the middle being alienated. Without a large number from this group to change their minds about him, he is a spent force.

red amoeba said:
'if TCB rally to form a coalition, u reckon it will garner a bigger success?

actually WP could build on its success in the last election, they just need to gather more "talents" and create A star teams (eg: TSM) to challenge the GRCs...

one at a time and WP can start working on that.

We can forget about TCB leading an opposition party or alliance. With his background no way. But he could have made a damned good neutral President with his independent traits.

Well, can be sure that there will be more questions asked by the Istana on the UBS issue had TCB been elected instead of TT.

As for TCB being a political force, it may still happen IF the govt continues to be deaf frogs. But TCB is cautious and would not be acting rashly. At the minimum, he won't be glorifying himself on the number of votes he got compared to WP at the GE. As TJS did not respond, clarify or deny the report by Today, I guess the journalist did not misquote him on the statement vis-a-vis WP.

For those who thinks TJS is going places, you may want to visit fuckwarezone forum to get a feel of the sentiments from another population segment that his statement on WP has evoked.

MightyMouse said:
Its not a question of how many issues that TJS articulates. If you want to use that as a yardstick, then you better get TKL out to be the leader of the opposition. TKL writes on his FB and blogs on everything under the sun....

The question is whether TJS is now electable and has the clout to lead a coalition. To many on this forum, including some who entrusted their precious votes to him, TJS is not going any where fast. His strategy and naivety during the PE has resulted in many voters in the middle being alienated. Without a large number from this group to change their minds about him, he is a spent force.

Totally agree with this. TJS can only gather the support of rookie politicians. None of the old hands take him seriously.
Yes he utters many issues of the day but it is after others have done so. When others in PE expounded on their attributes for the job, he was still at issues more appropriate for the GE contest.
The evolution of an alternative govt is realistically a two-phase process. The immediate target for the opposition is to break the two-thirds super-majority hold of the ruling party. You can achieve this if PAP majority can be brought down to 54 to 55%. This will not have a practical impact on PAP's ability to govern as most laws can be passed with just a simple majority but issues will get a more thorough scrutiny. For constitutional issues, they certain need the support of some opposition votes. If it is something good for the country, I don't see why there should not be this support, unless it is something more self aserving. The electorate will have a chance to see that this can work. In the following election, the chance of a coalition government will be higher but I don't think it will be a grand opposition alliance. Some opposition parties just don't cut it. Pritam Singh let out a Freudian slip. Nevertheless this will apply a lot of pressure on the ruling party.
Following it is everybody's guess.