[h=2]Survey: 50% couples not having babies because ‘Money No Enough’[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
October 6th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

chinese-babies_52.jpg

According to a recent survey conducted by voluntary welfare organisation ‘I Love Children’, about 1 in 2 couples (50%) said not having enough finances is the main reason for not having children. Another 33% or 1 in 3 couples cited not being mentally prepared as another reason for putting off having children.

A total of 614 participants were involved in the survey.

‘I Love Children’ is a voluntary welfare organization set up in September 2005 with a purpose of keeping Singapore young — by advocating a higher priority to having children, and promoting a society where children are loved and mainstreamed. It hopes to inculcate the value and importance of parenthood and family among Singaporeans, as well as encourage a children-friendly environment in Singapore.

The survey results were revealed at dialogue session yesterday (5 Oct) attended by Minister of State for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Madam Halimah Yacob.

At the dialogue session, 26-year-old Ms Gillian Neo, said, “Currently, infant care in Singapore is still quite expensive. Even the more affordable ones, after government subsidies, is still $700 a month.”

Mdm Halimah said that the biggest challenge the government faces is convincing couples that having children is important.

She said, “We can try to give more subsidy support and look at ways of improving the infrastructure (and) environment for our young people, but at the end of the day, I think it’s also important that they have to recognise these issues.”

“What I’m really glad hearing is that, at some point, (couples) realise that priorities are important… they recognise that children are important.”
During the the dialogue session, young parents also said that flexi-work arrangements are a major incentive as that will enable them to spend more time with their children.

However, there is still a lot of resistance in the mentality of some of the management of companies towards this mode of working.

“I was offered a full-time work from home arrangement with my previous employer… Six months into it, it really fell flat on the ground. One of the reasons was my immediate supervisor was really not supportive of the arrangement,” said Mandy Loh, a freelance writer.

“I tried so hard, I really put in my best to make it work but I think it was just not really appreciated on her part.”

Madam Halimah said she will work closely with the Singapore National Employers Federation and other agencies on this matter.
She said the issue is selling the idea to SMEs.

She said, “In fact, there have been studies done by the employers federation, for instance, to show that for every dollar spent on flexi-work options, the return is S$1.68.”

Madam Halimah also suggested that flexi-work arrangements could be used to attract people to work for SMEs, which are currently facing a labour crunch.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

Gahmen gives $$ very generously to FTs studying here; find them good jobs upon graduation... & help them fit in.
Sgian can waiting behind in the Q............. wait long, long sure got one!!

:
:
:
Mdm Halimah said that the biggest challenge the government faces is convincing couples that having children is important.
:
:

Despites all the facts and evidence presented in front of her, Halimah still don't get it. Don't expect this govt to get it either...

One has to spend at least a couple of $thousands to give birth in Singapore hospital wheras a woman giving birth needs only spend a few hundred dollars in a Malaysia hospital. Logic ditates that not having a baby is the beterrer choice. There's no govt. hospital in sinkieland. All hospitals are commercialised.

Even before you can have kids you got to be able to do the do but sinkies woman just can't bring themselves to eagle spread their legs for their hub to bang...

Despites all the facts and evidence presented in front of her, Halimah still don't get it. Don't expect this govt to get it either...

m&d bitch needs to convince us to give birth so there will be more citizens to screw with.

Even before you can have kids you got to be able to do the do but sinkies woman just can't bring themselves to eagle spread their legs for their hub to bang...

1. bro, even if able to spreadeagle hoh!
2. females sinkies are just like some corpse in bed, cold & lifeless.
3. how to bonk?

Almost all the baby incentives, even if we only talk about financial incentives, are tax related. No tax, no incentive. The Govt should decouple all their other objectives to make the baby programme effective.

The amount of money we have spent on bringing in FT can be re-directed to make making and bringing up babies problem free, financially i.e. Such incentives should include subsidised medical fees wrt childbirth, pediatrics, education e.g. Childcare, nursery, play school, kindergarten, primary, secondary and JC education. Maid support should be reviewed.

Of course, non-financial programmes, such as shorter queues for flats, flexible working hours, work from home schemes, should also be implemented simultaneously.

Almost all the baby incentives, even if we only talk about financial incentives, are tax related. No tax, no incentive. The Govt should decouple all their other objectives to make the baby programme effective.

The amount of money we have spent on bringing in FT can be re-directed to make making and bringing up babies problem free, financially i.e. Such incentives should include subsidised medical fees wrt childbirth, pediatrics, education e.g. Childcare, nursery, play school, kindergarten, primary, secondary and JC education. Maid support should be reviewed.

Of course, non-financial programmes, such as shorter queues for flats, flexible working hours, work from home schemes, should also be implemented simultaneously.

all the incentives in the world won't get selfish and materialistic youth to make babies.

we should start a baby farm, and pay each couple $25,000 per baby deposited. the baby will be cared for from mondays 8am to friday 6pm, from the age of 0 to 21. the state will pay for all basic health, education, food and shelter. babies will be returned to parents for the weekends. parents who choose to can pay to leave the babies in state care over the weekends. if the parents and baby form suitable bonds, the parents may elect to pay and tech-up for better care.

in short, the baby will be downgraded to the status of a pet cum economic digit.

lianbeng noted money is never enough one lah!:D dowan baby just say dowan lah!

No money,no honey.
No money,no babies.
People in ivory tower will never ever understand the basic financial problems of the ordinary folks.