• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Suddenly you find your savings is worth 25% lesser the day before

Fortunately for me I have always put something away & invested it in equities. When I started I was a newbie & relied on tips & rumours:o I invested in Spore, Malaysian & US shares. I made the most $ investing in US equities. Less so in Malaysian shares & mostly losses in Spore shares.

As a result of my investments I now don't need to worry about $. I don't even have to sell any of my shares for $ because I am getting regular dividends

You should manage CPF money instead. GIC can only achieve 5 percent return. I suspect you are getting at least 7 percent return. And we get to save a few hundred millions in overheads and compensation by getting rid of the bloated GIC.

In Spore I had most of my investments in unit trusts & they are the worse types of investment instruments.
As a result of my negative experience I am now totally out of the Spore market. I would caution people from investing in Spore because of the potential problems from the impending death of LKY. After his death many of the skeletons may be revealed. It may be so bad that LHL & his family may have to run road:confused:

Asian equities are so easily manipulated that investing in them is akin to going to the casino.

You should manage CPF money instead. GIC can only achieve 5 percent return. I suspect you are getting at least 7 percent return. And we get to save a few hundred millions in overheads and compensation by getting rid of the bloated GIC.

Asian equities are so easily manipulated that investing in them is akin to going to the casino.

The problem with our CPF is that it is in a unit trust type of investment. In such investments there is a huge amount of $ that goes into management fees. Temasek is a family business so they can set their own salary & bonuses. They can also hide their losses

Some Malaysian companies are well run & do give a some dividens. It provide me with the ringgit for my JB trips:smile:

The US is the best place to do investing because it is a large market where you can invest in ETFs, equities, ...The cost of transactions is also cheap.

not true. everytime you make capital gains, you're subjected to short-term capital gains tax of 50% if you cash out less than a year and long-term capital gains tax of 20% if you cash out over a year. in sg, capital gains has zero tax.

I am not a US resident & don't pay any US taxes. So don't think it applies to me.

Anyway I am an investor rather than a trader. I have held some of my shares for years. What I am getting is that in the US you can do it all: forex, ETFs, shares, buy & sell options,..

I use a discount broker & each transaction cost is less than $10. In Spore you have to buy & sell in lots & brokerage charges are higher. Don't forget about the GST on the brokerage transactions. If you are not an active trader there are also charges by the brokerage house for keeping your shares. Back when I still had a Spore account it was $12/month on each different shares.

All these extras add up.

I am not a US resident & don't pay any US taxes. So don't think it applies to me.

Anyway I am an investor rather than a trader. I have held some of my shares for years. What I am getting is that in the US you can do it all: forex, ETFs, shares, buy & sell options,..

I use a discount broker & each transaction cost is less than $10. In Spore you have to buy & sell in lots & brokerage charges are higher. Don't forget about the GST on the brokerage transactions. If you are not an active trader there are also charges by the brokerage house for keeping your shares. Back when I still had a Spore account it was $12/month on each different shares.

All these extras add up.

you need to thank the pap for setting sg as a tax haven for former u.s. residents and sg residents alike who park themselves permanently in sg and able to enjoy making capital gains out of the u.s. market without having to pay uncle sam any capital gains tax. the less than $10 transaction charge plus gst on brokerage transactions are peanuts for the kind of gains you get compared to taxes in the u.s.. no wonder wealthy americans and europeans are replanting themselves in sg. sinkies should count their lucky stars. :biggrin:

You can always trade US equities and futures using discount brokerages based in Bermuda.

feds are tracking caribbean offshore transactions for tax evasion, and i still have to pay capital gains tax unless i renounce my u.s. citizenship.

Renounce lah. Sinkapore is so much better ...got CPF, hawker centres, lots of Ah Tiongs, Ah Nehs and Pinoys. Even whites too, albeit the discarded ones.

We have casinos, sentosa cove, mrt and most important of all, the PAP.

You choose the USA over these?

non resident aliens living in SG have a tax treaty with US.no tax on capital gains whatsoever and only 30% withholding tax.

you need to thank the pap for setting sg as a tax haven for former u.s. residents and sg residents alike who park themselves permanently in sg and able to enjoy making capital gains out of the u.s. market without having to pay uncle sam any capital gains tax. the less than $10 transaction charge plus gst on brokerage transactions are peanuts for the kind of gains you get compared to taxes in the u.s.. no wonder wealthy americans and europeans are replanting themselves in sg. sinkies should count their lucky stars. :biggrin:

anyway u guys have tons of accounts that u can invest with,roth,ira,401k and all that crap that have tax shelter and tax deductible.

Using exchange rates to compare does not really mean one has 25% less money to spend. If he spend in his own country buying Japanese products it will never be 25%.

soIsee

TRUE also. My parents also didn do any investment.
And they only keep their money in FD.
While their friends, huat big in property and shares.

my parents still so poor.

I guess the same genes gets passed down too!

But with an added flavor of putting the blame all on the Papies!LoL

You gotta be joking. The PAP has extracted plenty from me:mad:

As a Sporean I have wasted my youth doing NS & reservist. Also I will probably will never see my CPF. If you live in Spore you are paying all those hidden taxes e.g. Radio/TV license, COE, water conservancy tax, ERP, ...... Don't forget about those expensive GLCs. We are forced to pay them world class rates because they have a monopoly.

soIsee

You gotta be joking. The PAP has extracted plenty from me:mad:

As a Sporean I have wasted my youth doing NS & reservist. Also I will probably will never see my CPF. If you live in Spore you are paying all those hidden taxes e.g. Radio/TV license, COE, water conservancy tax, ERP, ...... Don't forget about those expensive GLCs. We are forced to pay them world class rates because they have a monopoly.

So?

If you not happy you got to do something about it, right?

Or else shut up and live with it or F.O to another place that more suits your taste.

You live here, complaining day and night and still get nowhere and cannot gel with the system or harness benefits from it, why stick around?

I hope the next sentence would not be the same loser one like, cos this is my country, I have a right to live on it!LoL

lifeafter41

Using exchange rates to compare does not really mean one has 25% less money to spend. If he spend in his own country buying Japanese products it will never be 25%.

Yes, I do agree, problem he is seeing prices increases every now and then.
Understand from him, prior to Abenomics, prices were very stable, hardly any increase at all.

As he travel a lot in his work, he finds that the Japanese yen does not buy much as it used to.

Runifyouhaveto

Understand from him, prior to Abenomics, prices were very stable, hardly any increase at all.

As he travel a lot in his work, he finds that the Japanese yen does not buy much as it used to.

When RUN was born, USDJPY was 250-300 level. Today, it is about 102. so, JPY gained a lot since the Japanese man started working.

So?

If you not happy you got to do something about it, right?

Or else shut up and live with it or F.O to another place that more suits your taste.

You live here, complaining day and night and still get nowhere and cannot gel with the system or harness benefits from it, why stick around?

I hope the next sentence would not be the same loser one like, cos this is my country, I have a right to live on it!LoL

I am staying in Spore so I am well aware of the realities here. I don't know if this individual is joking or really that ignorant of the Spore system:confused:

Why would I want to leave Spore now? After all these years we are about to see the fall of the Lee dynasty. Will be interested to know the true state of Spore's finances. Pretty sure that the Lees will run road:rolleyes:

Many are getting their champagne bottles ready:biggrin: Since I don't drink I'll probably have to settle for a healthy veggie juice:smile:

I have to agree also that prices had somewhat increased in my recent trip there 2 weeks ago. As for his traveling for work his company should pay for everything if not then its not a good company to work for.