• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Stories about Goh Chok Tong!

nickers9

About Goh Chok Tong!

I read of this real story about this Goh Chok Tong. I think it was published in the papers a number of years ago.

When Goh Chok Tong was the PM in Singapore, he asked the Singaporeans businessman to donate money to the charities. And he approached the boss of Sheng Siong Supermarket. The Sheng Siong boss donated I think $30,000 to $50,000(I forgot the amount, but I know it is a very small amount for him), and Goh Chok Tong helped him to become famous in Singapore by publishing this news in the papers(free advertising for him). Of course Sheng Siong boss was very happy.

The following year, Goh Chok Tong again asked another businesswoman to donate money to the charity, and he approached The Hour Glass boss(selling expensive watches). But this businesswoman is very smart, she said that she can donate money to the charities, but the PAP ministers or government must first led us by example. Goh Chok Tong was silent after that, and this asking of businessman or woman to donate money to the charities were not heard on the papers or news anymore.

Funny right? You can asked others to do it, but you cant do it yourself.

What a gracious society we are yeah???

Re: About Goh Chok Tong!

I read of this real story about this Goh Chok Tong. I think it was published in the papers a number of years ago.

When Goh Chok Tong was the PM in Singapore, he asked the Singaporeans businessman to donate money to the charities. And he approached the boss of Sheng Siong Supermarket. The Sheng Siong boss donated I think $30,000 to $50,000(I forgot the amount, but I know it is a very small amount for him), and Goh Chok Tong helped him to become famous in Singapore by publishing this news in the papers(free advertising for him). Of course Sheng Siong boss was very happy.

The following year, Goh Chok Tong again asked another businesswoman to donate money to the charity, and he approached The Hour Glass boss(selling expensive watches). But this businesswoman is very smart, she said that she can donate money to the charities, but the PAP ministers or government must first led us by example. Goh Chok Tong was silent after that, and this asking of businessman or woman to donate money to the charities were not heard on the papers or news anymore.

Funny right? You can asked others to do it, but you cant do it yourself.

What a gracious society we are yeah???

30-50k is peanuts especially to Sheng Shiong boss. I doubt GCT goes for that amount. He can get more through golf games. Maybe a low level MP will kowtow to that amount.

There will be many big bizman who will donate 6 figure sums just to be in the good books and stay connected. Check the list of RC and CCC members and you will spot many multi-millionaires in that list. You can include billionaires like Chua Thian Poh of Ho Bee who is involved in Bishan.

If the multi-millionaires are not into RC or CCC, there is a network whereby they remain in close contact with the ruling elite. Call it socialisation and networking.

More mindboggling is paying a President S$3 million to be GOH in some star charity shows. Then pay a Health Minister S$2 million to be IO for NKF CEO TT Durai overpaid with S$600K from charity money. How could someone overpaid with public money have any moral authority to solicit for charitable donation or investigate another overpaid with charity money? Uniquely Singapore.

kingrant

Spot on bro. Can also add in names like Sam Goei and many SME bosses..no wonder PAP never seem to lose the majority.

Many things that one cannot get thru the direct way, there's always a backdoor...

Check the list of RC and CCC members and you will spot many multi-millionaires in that list. You can include billionaires like Chua Thian Poh of Ho Bee who is involved in Bishan.

If the multi-millionaires are not into RC or CCC, there is a network whereby they remain in close contact with the ruling elite. Call it socialisation and networking.

Spot on bro. Can also add in names like Sam Goei and many SME bosses..no wonder PAP never seem to lose the majority.

Many things that one cannot get thru the direct way, there's always a backdoor...

There is always a big question mark when the identity of big donors are known. Those who remain anonymous have 2 reasons -their cash can't see "daylight" or they treasure privacy and not publicity. Those whose identity are made known usually do it for publicity or curry favour the MIW.

To be fair, we exclude Shaw Foundation, Lee Foundation etc from those seeking publicity.

iz betta dun ask dose burgers 2 donate ...

dey donate 1k, dey tink dey big shot, very gif u face oredi ... very generous oredi ...

but ppl dunno whether 2 oso list his/her name anot ...

if list, there r so many others who oso donate dat small amount, u have 2 print ze many others' names oso ... lidat have 2 print all names small-small ... c oso difficult 2 c ... juz bcos of dat chipskate burger ...

if dun list, wait later may kena dunno wat ...

:rolleyes:

More good years.
Swiss standard of living.
The ground is sweet.
The financial institutions should try to compensate all investors, not just the vulnerable ones.
Insurance premiums should be kept affordable.
I must have amnesia.
If there's no retrenchment, I worry.
If you don't feel you belong, that's a problem.