• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Standard of English will decline in Singapore if Tan Kin Lian elected as President

Re: Standard of English will decline in Singapore if Tan Kin Lian elected as Presiden

Better to have a President with bad English than to have another PAP donkey.

ERRR... You get both in Tan Kin Lian... a President with BAD English and who will reveal his true self as PAP donkey in time to come.

Re: Standard of English will decline in Singapore if Tan Kin Lian elected as Presiden

He is trying to connect to the ground! Don't play play.

No worries bro. 'England' standard goes south but our Economics standard will head north. Suddenly, everyone in S'pore will be an economist.

How about Goh Meng Seng School of Economic Policy and Tan Kin Lian School of Financial Policy? :D

Wonderful suggestion but I doubt any donor would part with his/her money for GMS and TKL.

See, the majority of Singaporeans refused to vote for Tan Kin Lian because his English is no better than a Ah Beng.

Please learn to speak English before you attempt to run for public office.

duh. sinkie engrish declined a looooong time ago.

Singaporean's English is very good, conversant fluently in US, Canada, UK, Australia and NZ as if natives. I'm a prime example and I humbly admit that I'm far from the only one, there're many around.

With a President that speaks like Ah Beng, Singapore's standard of English will decline, on the other hand, the local charities will benefit.

Tan Kin Lian to donate half of salary to charity if elected
20110708.114847_tankinlian070711.jpg

Presidential hopeful Tan Kin Lian, 63, believes that the Singapore presidency is a public service, and wants to use his salary to help more of society.

"I do not need to receive a large salary," he said. "I will pledge that i will donate at least 50 per cent of the salary to charity and other worthy causes."

At a news conference held yesterday (July 7), he reiterated his motivation to run for president.

He said: "Many people have told me they want a president who can be the voice of the people and also to be independent of the PAP government, and to safeguard their CPF savings and the national reserves.

"I am independent of the PAP government. I am not associated with the past policies of the PAP... If I have the chance to be the president, I will be able to bring alternate views. I believe these will be useful to find solutions that will be best for the people."

He also cites his experience in heading NTUC Income as a strong factor for being able to manage CPF savings and the national reserves.

"I have the financial knowledge and the experience to bring to the office. I have nurtured a life insurance company for 30 years looking after the savings of over one million policy holders, managing assets of $17 billion."

TT's style of speaking would reduce the quality of SG's children manner of speaking

See, the majority of Singaporeans refused to vote for Tan Kin Lian because his English is no better than a Ah Beng.

Please learn to speak English before you attempt to run for public office.

"an" ah beng, not "a" ah beng. it's poor english to use "a" ah beng both in writing and in speech.

Let me teach you some English my man. The "a" in Ah Beng is treated the same as the silent H.

Back to the basics, let's see how the silent H works.

an hour
an honor

a hotel
a hospital

The rule is "a" before a consonant sound, and "an" before a vowel sound.

The same for Ah Beng, thus:

an apple

a ah beng

So now you see why Tan Kin Lian should try to speak better than a Ah Beng. Got it?? lol

QE2 Will Be Perplexed ?

images

Obviously QE2 will be very perplexed and she will be asking around her advisers regarding what he had said in the hall. And Obama will be smiling all the time trying to suppress his impoliteness ?