• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Staff so rude when we asked for further discount

Posted on 08 Aug, 2008 13:55
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>"Staff so rude when we asked for further discount"

A STOMPer says his friend and him were rudely spoken to by a service staff at a Japanese restaurant in East Coast Park when they asked for further discounts on their meal.

Leo describes his dining experience at the restaurant on Aug 6:

"Prior to entering our reserved room and ordering our food, we told the staff there that one of our friends works as an SIA cabin crew and we asked if there was any discount.

"The staff checked and came back telling us that we were entitled to a 20% discount. We then moved into our room, placed our orders and had our dinner there.

"After dinner, the bill came without the discount as mentioned early. At this point we guessed that the message of the discount was not passed down, so we politely told the waitress that one of us works with SIA, showing the ID-card.

"She went on to revise the bill accordingly. She came back with the revised bill.

"My friend,deciding which credit card to use, asked: "Sorry, any discount with any particular card?"

"This is a question anyone would ask when using a credit card to pay.

"The waitress rudely replied, "No other discount will be given after the 20%" She then turn to leave the room, while doing that she rudely said '还要discount' (Still want discount in Mandarin) to someone outside.

"Immediately, my friend confronted the manager and this was what happened.

"Friend : "Your staff made '还要discount' comment when settling the bill for us. Is there anything wrong with asking for discount with respect to credit cards?"

"Manager: "There's nothing wrong with asking and sorry about that."

"Friend : "I‘m very displeased with the staff's attitude. If she wanted to say, don’t let us hear it"

"Manager : "Sorry about that, thank you for your feedback" followed by a smile.

"Friend : "This is not a feedback, this is a complaint!!"

"Manager made a sniggering "hurhur" sound while smiling back.

"We left the place disappointed at the service standard."

The STOMPer said he received a call from the restaurant on Aug 8, and was apologised to.

STOMP has contacted the restaurant for a comment. Watch this space for updates.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

your copy and paste from stomper forum, a bit excessive. are you moderator of stomping?

if you like stomping so much, why dun you just stay put there.

yansen84

there is something seriously wrong with service standards in sg. everytime i'm back from overseas i get a culture shock when i eat out. thank god so far i haven't encountered such rude service staff, but it's always the case that they don't go out of their way to serve you, as they do in other countries.

Ah Guan

What if it's a business competitor who stages a big act at the restaurant and then writes in to STOMP to complain?

Where's the check for that?

kansas

Greedy, after given 20% discount, still ask for more.

It is really up to the restaurant to give or don't give discount. If cannot afford or not happy, don't go to the restaurant.

Of course, if the restaurant dying for your business, then give the discount lor

cass888

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=530 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>"Staff so rude when we asked for further discount"

A STOMPer says his friend and him were rudely spoken to by a service staff at a Japanese restaurant in East Coast Park when they asked for further discounts on their meal.

"Prior to entering our reserved room and ordering our food, we told the staff there that one of our friends works as an SIA cabin crew and we asked if there was any discount.

"The staff checked and came back telling us that we were entitled to a 20% discount. We then moved into our room, placed our orders and had our dinner there.

"After dinner, the bill came without the discount as mentioned early. At this point we guessed that the message of the discount was not passed down, so we politely told the waitress that one of us works with SIA, showing the ID-card.

"She went on to revise the bill accordingly. She came back with the revised bill.

"My friend,deciding which credit card to use, asked: "Sorry, any discount with any particular card?"

"The waitress rudely replied, "No other discount will be given after the 20%" She then turn to leave the room, while doing that she rudely said '还要discount' (Still want discount in Mandarin) to someone outside.

"Friend : "Your staff made '还要discount' comment when settling the bill for us. Is there anything wrong with asking for discount with respect to credit cards?"

"Friend : "I‘m very displeased with the staff's attitude. If she wanted to say, don’t let us hear it"

The STOMPer said he received a call from the restaurant on Aug 8, and was apologised to.

Customer is always right only if he pays. Someone who wants discount on discount is not a customer, more a scavenger.

Lian9

Gosh...

While the standards of the service staff is as such, i think it's the tit for tat attitude that's kinda alarming.

And also, it's like, i am the consumer, so all of you gotta kow tow to me...Honestly, biz in Singapore is gettin tougher, with the kind of prices in Sg, it's comparable to 3rd world prices now already but the labor costs and rentals are 1st world...how can the average joe out there survive?

cooleo

Cheapo means cheapo. If u not cheapo, u won't ask for discount. Just be frank and admit u cheapo la! :rolleyes:

it's comparable to 3rd world prices now already but the labor costs and rentals are 1st world...how can the average joe out there survive?

I find it hard to believe that prices in Spore is comparable to 3rd world prices:confused:

If you eat out in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, you'll know that Spore has always been more expensive.

In fact I'm amazed that there are Sporeans who can afford to go out. If more consumers boycotted the high prices, the message would get to the top & they wouldn't keep raising the prices :rolleyes:

In discount promotions, it's the standard practice that one discount cannot be used with another. So if for example, one has a discount voucher and a discount-eligible credit card, one has to choose between the 2, usually the higher discount of course.

However, the customer has done no wrong in asking. The service staff should check and advise accordingly, not pass blunt discourteous remarks. Fearing of looking "cheapskate" has caused many customers to pay more than they should have. There's nothing wrong or embarrassing or "cheapskate" about asking for discount eligibility. If so, then it's the establishment and staff that's even more "cheapskate" offering and joining discount schemes but refusing to clarify how these discounts are redeemable.

Cheapo. Already got 20% discount and still want more discount. Usually T&C says only one discount.

:mad:

pachinko

You sound as though you are not at fault , so innocent too , the restaurant is at fault in your mind .....BUT my friend , put yourself in the position of the manager or waitress , they have other customers to serve and here you have one that keep pestering for discount after discount? Already 20% is quite substantial yet you still want more , what if someone goes to your restaurant and keep finding reasons for further discount to the extent of telling you , I am the Prime Minister's relative ? They must have thought you wanted free meals , otherwise why is the waitress so angry to pass remarks? The man ager has been very patient , if I were him , I would have raised my voice and told you off , no bug deal being SIA aircrew members. Since you are serving passengers in the plane , wont you get frustrated if someone keep pestering you for free gifts on board?

So move on and stop thinking you are right.

Fuck SIA staff. Already revise the bill then ask discount again. If want to use credit card do at once together with the SIA ID card.

bigbossman

Nothing wrong with asking for more discount but then again only a sinkie would asked for more after getting 20% off :eek:

SamuelStalin

You see, the Sporn fuck waitress has no service standards, even though the other Sporn fuck seems to be greedy as well.

In such situations of pricing and product ambiguities it is still better to ask and nobody can ever ask too much.