• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Something is wrong. The expensive facilities are now enjoyed by the foreign workers

Ah Hai

Monday, February 15, 2010
Slow start for Integrated Resort in Sentosa

The newspapers reported that there was a long queue in the foreigner entrance and a short queue in the local entrance for the integrated resort. I thought that it meant a successful start for the resort.

A friend told me that the people in the foreigner queue were not tourists but the foreign workers in Singapore. They went to the resort to enjoy the free drinks, cheap meals, showers and new facilities. Few Singaporeans went to the resort as they were deterred by the $100 entrance fee.

Something is wrong. The expensive facilities are now enjoyed by the foreign workers, and not for Singaporeans. This is an unintended consequence.

Of course, this is early days, and the discrepancies will be sorted out. But, it is a bad sign. Surely, we are capable of better planning in Singapore?

It is quite sad that I could be misled into the wrong impression. I hope that the newspapers would be more upfront in giving the correct impression.

Tan Kin Lian

Re: Something is wrong. The expensive facilities are now enjoyed by the foreign worke

it is bad enough that NS for sinkies and jobs for FT.

we now pay 100 dollars for entry to casino to subsidy the free food and drink to FT.

PAP is a disgrace.

JinGanKor

Re: Something is wrong. The expensive facilities are now enjoyed by the foreign worke

we now pay 100 dollars for entry to casino to subsidy the free food and drink to FT.

PAP is a disgrace.

the $100 doesnt goes to the casino, it is like ERP which goes to the gahmen.

Screwball

PAP is a disgrace.

There is going to be some changes. The past two days saw more than 3000 foreigners inside the casino loitering for hours without gambling but were helping themselves to the free food and drinks. These foreigners were not tourists but foreign workers taking advantage of the system.

go to the gov?
are you sure or not?
where got such thing?

well, there is nothing there for sinkies.

shelltox

my friend used to operate a canteen at his construction site, he would put a few jackpot machine inside the canteen to entice the FT to gamble away their hard earn money.
why do you worry so much, you need to worry when it is the locals that are queing up to enter the casino.

Rakyat

Dear Mr Tan, what you said is true. I took the bus to sentosa yesterday. I think I am the only local in the bus. I am surrounded by indian/bangla workers. I estimate at least 80% of the visitors are foreign workers.

cass888

my friend used to operate a canteen at his construction site, he would put a few jackpot machine inside the canteen to entice the FT to gamble away their hard earn money.
why do you worry so much, you need to worry when it is the locals that are queing up to enter the casino.

Maybe they'll also impose the $100 fee on work permit holders. Last thing we need is a whole bunch of FWs (not FTs) who have lost all the money they needed to remit to PRC/India.

myo539

Dear Mr Tan, what you said is true. I took the bus to sentosa yesterday. I think I am the only local in the bus. I am surrounded by indian/bangla workers. I estimate at least 80% of the visitors are foreign workers.

Now we will see less of banglas in Little India on Sundays and holidays. They will flock to Sentosa to gauk at gamblers. Sentosa is now famous among the Banglas because of that openly molest incident.

Last Sunday happened to pass by Serangoon Road - wah literally like black ants on an already dark night. KNN they walked in the middle of roads like nobody businesses - nearly knocked down a few.

There is going to be some changes. The past two days saw more than 3000 foreigners inside the casino loitering for hours without gambling but were helping themselves to the free food and drinks. These foreigners were not tourists but foreign workers taking advantage of the system.

good good good
let the FT
sink the casino

the more the merrier
go and bankrupt the casino

the sooner the casino die, the sooner the shame of sinkies paying 100 dollar saga disappear.

what a disgrace.

DrPanacea

go to the gov?
are you sure or not?
where got such thing?

well, there is nothing there for sinkies.

Yes, very sure. The S$100 entrance for Singaporeans and PRs is collected by the Casino on behalf of the government.
If it goes to the Casino they will reimburse the gambler in terms of free food, gambling chips, one night stay etc....which defeats the very purpose of the ruling.
The govt is NOT stupid. Theye are experts in admin, command and control.

And yes there is something for Singaporeans....you get to keep the S$100 and potential losses if you do not enter the Casino.

ps07857

my american co worker came back to work today... and he told me there was a long line.... I thought he was kidding... He then said he couldn't even sit down for a round at the poker table....
I didn't know if he was for reals or not until he showed me some photos.... really it looked quite crowded... I wonder if there was foreigner corner vs local corner.... why are the media reports different from personal accounts? Media report saying that it half the tables were empty.... My friend's account saying that there were no seats left????

DrPanacea

Last Sunday happened to pass by Serangoon Road - wah literally like black ants on an already dark night. KNN they walked in the middle of roads like nobody businesses - nearly knocked down a few.

I don't think you should denigrate these foreigners by your unkind and racist remarks. An ex PAP MP mentioned things like this too. He was also jailed for 2 weeks for cheating.

DrPanacea

Your friend has an illegal gambling den? It is not possible to have jackpot machines in public places in Singapore.

ahleebabasingaporethief

my american co worker came back to work today... and he told me there was a long line.... I thought he was kidding... He then said he couldn't even sit down for a round at the poker table....
I didn't know if he was for reals or not until he showed me some photos.... really it looked quite crowded... I wonder if there was foreigner corner vs local corner.... why are the media reports different from personal accounts? Media report saying that it half the tables were empty.... My friend's account saying that there were no seats left????

If what you report this morning is true, the turf club and horse racing will be crying. Same pool of gamblers.

Anyone going to the turf club today? Got S'pore races. Can report if attendance at horse racing centers are down?

But really, I doubt if smart S'poreans will pay $100 to go in and gamble. As your friend is American, he will have NO IDEA who is an FT and who is LOCAL.

Btw, you sure those sitting down were not just simply enjoying their FREE coffee and cakes? :biggrin:

Y

Yip Hon

If what you report this morning is true, the turf club and horse racing will be crying. Same pool of gamblers.

Anyone going to the turf club today? Got S'pore races. Can report if attendance at horse racing centers are down?

But really, I doubt if smart S'poreans will pay $100 to go in and gamble. As your friend is American, he will have NO IDEA who is an FT and who is LOCAL.

Btw, you sure those sitting down were not just simply enjoying their FREE coffee and cakes? :biggrin:

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Dear Mr Tan Kin Lian and Dear ahleebabasingaporethief

Can you kindly help us ( the less well off ) and the senior

citizens by writing to the proper authority to waive the

enterance fee for us during this festive seasons.

We like to see how the new casino at RWS look like ...

We do not mind to bring our own food and drinks there

so that we can help them to lower their costs for that day...

Thank you Mr Tan and "ahleebabasingaporethief"

May God Bless You ...

cass888

Your friend has an illegal gambling den? It is not possible to have jackpot machines in public places in Singapore.

Yes it is. Make the canteen a clubhouse for a football club or something.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Dear Mr Tan Kin Lian and Dear ahleebabasingaporethief

Can you kindly help us ( the less well off ) and the senior

citizens by writing to the proper authority to waive the

enterance fee for us during this festive seasons.

We like to see how the new casino at RWS look like ...

We do not mind to bring our own food and drinks there

so that we can help them to lower their costs for that day...

Thank you Mr Tan and "ahleebabasingaporethief"

May God Bless You ...

dear right and honorable yip hon,

thank you for your good blessings.

do not worry. free entry is on the cards soon.

the pressure is too great for another FAILED policy.

also i understand, they will make FTs pay to gain entry soon.

the casino have LOST one million curry puffs and 3 million drinks to free loaders in the opening 2 days. some were seen taking away food in huge black plastic bags. i believe they got the bags from their place of work.

once again, thank you reading my posts.

have a good CNY and no, visiting casino is not good for the health.......of your wallet.

JinGanKor

half the tables were empty is due to inefficiency of CRA for not issuing enough licence to the croupiers. Those tables that were operating have at least 2 circle of gambles crowding around. Even Slot machines have to queue, at least 2-3 people for each machine.

kingrant

The $100 entrance fee also applies to the FTs isnt it? So if they want to pay $100 to enter, and Sinkies don't want, is it any fault of theirs? Bloody stingy Sinkies dont want to pay and enter,and grumbled here abt FTs who pay their due fees and enter. We shldnt care what they do inside, whether they gambled or not. You think Sinkies would gamble if they had paid to go in? Maybe also enjoy free drinks etc.