Solly Ah Koay, my bad.

Posted this 2 days ago on the thread: http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?180934-Great!-SG-Airline-LOST-Hundreds-of-Millions-HUAT!/page2

yeah, the CEO is a sinkie, Koay Peng yen, who spend his entire career in the shipping industry. even graduated with Ocean systems management degree from MIT, and was shipping executive in NOL, as well as in PaxOcean engineering and Pacific Carriers. i still don't know why he was appointed CEO as he knows nothing and has no background in the Aviation industry, much less in the very demanding budget airlines market. this kind of appointment really stinks. i can't believe that Pillay with all his years at SQ would pick this guy to be CEO. And you wonder why they are going under.

This is typical of the PAP and we have seen them do it many times before. Spend millions to start an enterprise, and than put in a totally unqualified person to run it, and than sit back and watch while it loses money. except, its not their money its ours!!

just found out he kenna fired

SINGAPORE (Reuters) - Singapore's Tiger Airways Holdings said it would be replacing its CEO with an executive from its largest shareholder, Singapore Airlines (SIA), days after the budget carrier reported a big widening in its losses.

Lee Lik Hsin, a 20-year veteran of SIA, which owns 40 per cent of Tiger, will become chief executive from May 12, replacing Koay Peng Yen who joined Tiger less than two years ago, Tiger said in a statement on Wednesday.

"Tigerair Singapore, which had been growing at the rate of 30 percent in the past 3 years, hit turbulence when the market sagged in mid-2013 through the imbalance of capacity and demand," Tiger said.

"Nonetheless by the time of Mr Koay's departure, Tigerair Singapore had started the process of consolidating its services in preparation for a decisive turnaround in its prospects."

But how come a nobody like PAPsmearer can see that Ah Koay was totally unsuited the job, and apuneh Pillay cannot? PAP meritocracy? My ass. Is it possible PAP lackeys come to SBF forum too, and read what's written here? Say it ain't so.

Koay Ah Koay

20130924_tigerairway_st.jpg

when they see the unflattering remarks about pinkie's husban and track record of losing 10 million fold, i am sure they do not intend to quote this SBF in their best defence

Hmmmmm, surprising that a certain clown from this forum hasn't posted in this thread yet...................... :D

Could it be because they have something in common? :D

Let's wait patiently............................ ;)

if u ask me this koay guy sounds a hell lot more competent than that paper general desmond guy.should deploy him to run smrt instead.minimize the impact the clown have on our lives.

In GLC like SMRT, its different lah. Its a protected market with no competition. In this kind of scenario, you can put any shit SAF general or Lee Kuan yew's diaper changer and nothing will happen to them regardless of how much they cock up. Losses always can be recovered by raising fares.

In the budget airline business with real competition, you put a maritime transport expert in there to run tiger, u will get run around and lose money. If he had been a SAF general, it might have been even worse. Question is not why Koay lost his job, but how come Pillay still got his.

Still transportation mah. A plane is but a ship with wings. Same business model, only more marketing.

Not really lah. I can't really pinpoint the exact issue, but those shipping companies that he runs only handle containers whereas Tiger is a passenger airline. Maybe regarding his performance, we should compare apple with apple, say if he had handled an airline transporting only cargo such as SIA CARGO or Fedex vs the cargo carrying ships.

maybe he planning to convert tiger into a cargo airline arm of keppel.

Hmmmmm, surprising that a certain clown from this forum hasn't posted in this thread yet...................... :D :D ;)

sorry lah, ah hia ...

.. but aviation is not my cup of tea leh :o

sorry lah, ah hia ...

.. but aviation is not my cup of tea leh :o

Not you lah, your nickname is not clown, your nickname is uncle botak middy............................... :o:D

He thought like you; that's why that airline blew it.

Tiger needs an AMDK high school dropouts as CEO. Surprisingly i find some of these chaps to be very emphatic which is a good trait for running consumer businesses. The geek can be COO but alas this is sg.

There are many similarities despite the difference in focus. The danger is when one assumes they are exactly the same. That is why a second opinion is helpful.

stop defending them, u fucking retard. It cost hundreds of millions of $ to start an airline, even a budget airline. As a result, u need to put the best possible person in the job. There are so many successful budget airlines out there like Southwest, Ryan air, Air Asia. Jetstar, Westjet, etc. YOU TELLING ME THEY COULD NOT LURE EVEN ONE EXECUTIVE AWAY FROM ANY OF THESE AIRLINES TO RUN TIGER AIR? They have to put in a maritime shipping executive? Stop with your stupid excuse about same business model, many similarities and all that bullshit. Is your last name Koay?

I greatly admire the PAP's willingness to promote from within. It creates a virtuous cycle of wealth accumulation.

yes, yes, we already know u are a PAP porlumpar cum swallower.

This guy used to be with Pacific Carriers.. Pacific Carriers and Posh Fleet are owned by the Kuok family.. Pacific Carriers do not have cargo vessels but they have AHTS vessels , crane barges and tugboats.. They are not really a big player in the Offshore industry unlike Posh Semco the other offshore company in S'pore owned by the Kuoks..

SO, what is this guy doing running a budget start up airline, and running it into the ground? Pillay got a lot of explaining to do on why he selected this chap in the first place.