Soldier praised for handing over rifle to screwdriver-armed robber

I lost my bayonet, which was suposedly to be clipped tight to my SBO ( not the $8 cow SBO), in Amakeng ( not Ang mo kio), luckily I remember which tree, my unimog was last parked, it was hanging on to a low branch...boy! I sweated like mad!. I should have told my CO that, a man with a screw driver, stole my bayonet..why didn't I think of it. My CO would have commended me with a 30 days stay in Detention!:D
in the end kena what charge?
M16 bayonet can be bought overseas........but the AK bayonet is nicer.....can put together with scabbard to make a pair of scissors....i got one as souvenir

Or we could point our weapons towards our domestic oppressors.

Of course, both scenarios assume that people will actually turn up in camps to draw their weapons.

He..He..He.. Interesting to see how many will actually turn up in their camps..:D

It is better to die as a hero than to live as a coward. Anyone can live like cowards. No one aspires to be cowards but everyone wants to be a hero. I would never tell my children to not be a hero.

Be a hero for the right reason. Attempting to stop the robbery of a SAR21 rifle while being a NS conscript slave is the wrong reason.

Also, if you keep telling your kids to take uncalculated, reckless risk, I won't be surprised to see 'white hair sends off black hair' in your family.

in the end kena what charge?
M16 bayonet can be bought overseas........but the AK bayonet is nicer.....can put together with scabbard to make a pair of scissors....i got one as souvenir

Must explain one...ok! you didn't read? I found the BAYONET!! my time M16....I said, if I tell CO, man robbed me of BAYONET with screwdriver..he would recommend 30 days DB...:p

[video=youtube;ysvfQNhPfeQ]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysvfQNhPfeQ&feature=related[/video]

1. tsk tsk tsk!
2. super mono-tone leh.
3. no eye see too.
4. where's the melody?

Be a hero for the right reason. Attempting to stop the robbery of a SAR21 rifle while being a NS conscript slave is the wrong reason.

Also, if you keep telling your kids to take uncalculated, reckless risk, I won't be surprised to see 'white hair sends off black hair' in your family.

A hero simply does what is right. He does not stop to calculate the risks. Doing so makes you a coward instantly. It is not about recklessness, it takes courage to do what you think is right. If everyone stops to calculate the risk, there will be no one around to defend their own country or invade another country. The reality is that there are some people willing to take huge risks to cause harm to others. Note that I am not talking about an unarmed man trying to take down someone armed with a loaded weapon.

In the 911 plane that crashed into a field, the passengers risked their lives and died for a worthy cause. Sometimes, you just need to do what is necessary to defend your own honour, like in this case, nothing to do with being a conscript. It is a joke to have a rifle taken off you by someone using a screwdriver.

You have but one life. You can't choose how it begins but you can choose how it ends.

Was the anybody to save at that time? Other than the loss of a rifle, which can be recovered by the appropriate authority later, is there a need to try to be a hero, esp so for a NSF who never wanted to be there in the first place? Not everybody is Bruce Lee material.

You can talk about being hero but when the circumstance presents itself, you may realise that you have an empathy gap.

A hero simply does what is right. He does not stop to calculate the risks. Doing so makes you a coward instantly. It is not about recklessness, it takes courage to do what you think is right. If everyone stops to calculate the risk, there will be no one around to defend their own country or invade another country. The reality is that there are some people willing to take huge risks to cause harm to others. Note that I am not talking about an unarmed man trying to take down someone armed with a loaded weapon.

In the 911 plane that crashed into a field, the passengers risked their lives and died for a worthy cause. Sometimes, you just need to do what is necessary to defend your own honour, like in this case, nothing to do with being a conscript. It is a joke to have a rifle taken off you by someone using a screwdriver.

You have but one life. You can't choose how it begins but you can choose how it ends.

He learn from the ex-COA and KEE CHIU when the screwdriver was pointed at him

Anyway I think the robber will kena damn jialat punishment for malu-ing the SAF like this

Jack thinks its not about being a hero or anything. its just too awkward to surrender a rifle to a screwdriver-welding man. odds are he would have done more damage had he put up even a minimal struggle...reminds jack of the 3 cowards who surrendered their wallets to a man in JB who merely muttered threats...years ago

He learn from the ex-COA and KEE CHIU when the screwdriver was pointed at him

Anyway I think the robber will kena damn jialat punishment for malu-ing the SAF like this

Oh yes, thanks to Kee Chiu

Was the anybody to save at that time? Other than the loss of a rifle, which can be recovered by the appropriate authority later, is there a need to try to be a hero, esp so for a NSF who never wanted to be there in the first place? Not everybody is Bruce Lee material.

You can talk about being hero but when the circumstance presents itself, you may realise that you have an empathy gap.

Sorry, I can't agree with you. This is exactly how an autocratic government wants you to behave. As long as there is nothing in it for you, you don't need to give a damn. Unfortunately, this thinking will extrapolate into other areas of your life. You will stop fighting for yourself little by little because you will start finding excuses for not getting involved like you are not sure what was going on when you didn't bother to find out, someone else was already helping, you were too busy to stop, you have something urgent to attend to, blah blah blah.

Even if there is no one in danger, the rifle does not belong to you, you are holding the rifle against your will, the fact remains that you let someone threaten you and get away with it in the most ridiculous manner. If you can live with that, I think you put a low value on your own self-worth.

You are typical of most SGreans I know of. They don't give a damn if they don't lose anything tangible. Sadly, they lose a lot more by behaving in that way but they don't realise it.

Sorry, I can't agree with you. This is exactly how an autocratic government wants you to behave. As long as there is nothing in it for you, you don't need to give a damn. Unfortunately, this thinking will extrapolate into other areas of your life. You will stop fighting for yourself little by little because you will start finding excuses for not getting involved like you are not sure what was going on when you didn't bother to find out, someone else was already helping, you were too busy to stop, you have something urgent to attend to, blah blah blah.

Even if there is no one in danger, the rifle does not belong to you, you are holding the rifle against your choice, the fact remains that you let someone threaten you and get away with it in the most ridiculous manner. If you can live with that, I think you put a low value on your own self-worth.

You are typical of most SGreans I know of. They don't give a damn if they don't lose anything tangible. Sadly, they lose a lot more by behaving in that way but they don't realise it.

In my time I loose that rifle to a screw driver bearing person, I will find myself in the company Detention & the encik with make a 'mincement' out of me! What is happening now? the best part that everyone missed, PASIR LABA, doesn't that raise any eyebrows??

Very much "Count on me Singapore, to do my best--handing over my rifle"

The only saving grace is the NSF's youth, so it can be put down to inexperience in life. That is why I will not come down too hard on him.

But there has been this brainwashing going on in SG where the young are taught not to be heroes. This is wrong because everyone aspires to be a hero and this teaching screws up their minds. It works well to keep the population subservient and docile.

How does do a rifle cost? As i said, unless you are Bruce Lee material, if you mess it up while struggling with the screw-driver holder, you may end up injured or even worse killed. There are more ridiculous things than losing a rifle to a armed personnel. (Don't forget 911. Those terrorists were armed with nothing than paper cutters).

To paraprase your statement, you are typical of the 60.1% who are still dreaming. A lot of your assets have been have been co-opted (CPF etc..). You don't give a damn because other people also lose with you. It is tragic that you rather quarrel over a cheap rifle than all the millions and billions that have been lost.

Even if there is no one in danger, the rifle does not belong to you, you are holding the rifle against your will, the fact remains that you let someone threaten you and get away with it in the most ridiculous manner. If you can live with that, I think you put a low value on your own self-worth.

How does do a rifle cost? As i said, unless you are Bruce Lee material, if you mess it up while struggling with the screw-driver holder, you may end up injured or even worse killed. There are more ridiculous things than losing a rifle to a armed personnel. (Don't forget 911. Those terrorists were armed with nothing than paper cutters).

To paraprase your statement, you are typical of the 60.1% who are still dreaming. A lot of your assets have been have been co-opted (CPF etc..). You don't give a damn because other people also lose with you. It is tragic that you rather quarrel over a cheap rifle than all the millions and billions that have been lost.

You seem to have the impression that every confrontation needs to end in violence. You have forgotten about the deterrence factor. If the soldier had at least tried to talk to the guy with the screwdriver and shown some resolve about not surrendering his rifle, the incident may not get blown up into the farce that it is. Aren't soldiers supposedly trained to be mentally tough to handle confrontations anyway?

Precisely, in 911, the terrorists were lightly armed and the other passengers decided to fight back.

I did not say anything about the value of the rifle. I was talking about your own self-esteem. You are free to do whatever you want to do in a situation like this. But I will not find excuses for myself when deciding to avoid confrontations. If the other party has a gun or is a group of thugs, I will just say I am scared. I just don't feel very scared when it is just a screwdriver-wielding man with me holding a rifle. By all means, if you felt scared, just say so but don't forget that the most important thing is how you will think of yourself even if you don't care what others think of you.

I am imagining, that the robber had his arm around the guy's neck, screwdriver pointing to his neck from behind, demanding for the rifle.

how to fight? Unless he is trained in unarmed combat, likelihood that he will surrender his rifle.

I am imagining, that the robber had his arm around the guy's neck, screwdriver pointing to his neck from behind, demanding for the rifle.

how to fight? Unless he is trained in unarmed combat, likelihood that he will surrender his rifle.

If one arm around the neck and the other hand holding the screwdriver, how is he going to grab hold of the rifle securely? I will give the benefit of doubt that maybe the soldier couldn't see it was a screwdriver and thought it was a knife or ice-pick held up against him.