Soldier praised for handing over rifle to screwdriver-armed robber

Unlike the situation in the past, nowadays NS men no longer know what they are defending for? So it could well be a hairpin that's pointed at him and he would have also surrender the rifle.

What happened if the guy already stole some bullet rounds from armoury:confused:

Never never ever give up your rifle, dumb dumb:mad:

Last month, Mohammad Ridzuan Jamari, 30, robbed a full-time national serviceman (NSF) of a SAR-21 assault rifle while in Pasir Laba Camp. NSF Kang Tai, 21, gave up his SAR 21 rifle without a fight when threaten with a…screwdriver?

WTF? A screwdriver? Whatever happened to “your rifle is your wife”, or “do not lose your rifle no matter what”? A 20cm-long screwdriver? He gave up when faced with a 20cm screwdriver? I don’t care if the rifle wasn’t loaded, that he don’t have any bullets, that he never sign up for the SAF, or that the idiot never got out of the camp with the rifle; you do NOT give up your rifle! Especially when the other guy has nothing but a bloody screwdriver! If it was a knife, it still would be bad, but at least that will be understandable. A screwdriver?

What’s worse is that this NSF was actually praised by the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) for “diffusing a potentially violent conflict”. WTF is the SAF coming to? If this would have happened when I was in the SAF, this NSF would have been crucified for giving up his rifle without a fight!

AND THAT'S THE WAY IT SHOULD BE! What a sorry joke of an armed forces we have when we praise soldiers for giving up their rifles when threaten with a screwdriver?

- http://hardhitting-nobs.blogspot.sg/2012/06/are-you-kidding-me.html

SOF ninja training never teach to take out a sentry meh:confused: One can even kill with a toothpick.

Just break any small twig the size of a toothpick from a tree branch, sandwich it between the fore and middle finger with protuding end facing inwards towards the palm. Sneak behind a sentry, grab chin and cover mouth with left hand and slap the twig into the eye. The twig will poke thru the eye and into the brain.

Next time anybody threaten NSmen with a toothpick, better hand over your rifle.:(

Unlike the situation in the past, nowadays NS men no longer know what they are defending for? So it could well be a hairpin that's pointed at him and he would have also surrender the rifle.

This is not wartime. No conscript should be obliged to put his personal safety at risk for the sake of some jingoistic patriotic duty.

Similarly, if someone holds you up at knife point inside a lift, it is probably not a good idea to resist or struggle. CrimeWatch advises against it. Even martial arts teachers advise against it.

There is no point in trying to be a hero. You have nothing to prove, and have nothing to gain.

CrimeWatch advises against it. Even martial arts teachers advise against it.

There is no point in trying to be a hero. You have nothing to prove, and have nothing to gain.

During my NS days, the units taekwondo instructor was robbed :eek:
We all had a good laugh when we heard this. :o

The old saying "The pen is mightier than the sword"

The new saying "The screwdriver is mightier than the SAR 21"

Last month, Mohammad Ridzuan Jamari, 30, robbed a full-time national serviceman (NSF) of a SAR-21 assault rifle while in Pasir Laba Camp. NSF Kang Tai, 21, gave up his SAR 21 rifle without a fight when threaten with a…screwdriver?

WTF? A screwdriver? Whatever happened to “your rifle is your wife”, or “do not lose your rifle no matter what”? A 20cm-long screwdriver? He gave up when faced with a 20cm screwdriver? I don’t care if the rifle wasn’t loaded, that he don’t have any bullets, that he never sign up for the SAF, or that the idiot never got out of the camp with the rifle; you do NOT give up your rifle! Especially when the other guy has nothing but a bloody screwdriver! If it was a knife, it still would be bad, but at least that will be understandable. A screwdriver?

What’s worse is that this NSF was actually praised by the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) for “diffusing a potentially violent conflict”. WTF is the SAF coming to? If this would have happened when I was in the SAF, this NSF would have been crucified for giving up his rifle without a fight!

AND THAT'S THE WAY IT SHOULD BE! What a sorry joke of an armed forces we have when we praise soldiers for giving up their rifles when threaten with a screwdriver?

- http://hardhitting-nobs.blogspot.sg/2012/06/are-you-kidding-me.html

They are sinkies. You keep asking why ? the answer is : THEY ARE THE BLOODLY SINKIE, THAT IS HOW SINKIE BEHAVES.

I wonder why are you still staying in sinkieland.

Sinkies no need to go to war one. The enemy just ask them to run the sinkified 2.4km, and they will all drop dead before finishing it. Saving the enemy the bullets and energy to fight these sinkie losers. How many have died while running 2.4km. You go and count.

According to brainwashed Singaporeans, NS turns boys into men. :rolleyes: :D

1. aiyoh!
2. what do you expect from some daft toyboy soldier leh?
3. do you think the boy in question can shoot straight too?
4. remember some specimen even got its maid carrying its load hoh.
5. what it can do best: shooting at computer games hoh!
6. expect such specimen to protect & fight!
7. no way, first to run too.

this specimen may not even shoot if brought to geylang

2. what do you expect from some daft toyboy soldier leh?
3. do you think the boy in question can shoot straight too?
4. remember some specimen even got its maid carrying its load hoh.
5. what it can do best: shooting at computer games hoh!

SAF doctrine. You can only engage the enemy if you outnumber them 3 to 1.

It is better to die as a hero than to live as a coward. Anyone can live like cowards. No one aspires to be cowards but everyone wants to be a hero. I would never tell my children to not be a hero.

Words have got out!
Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and all neighbours eyeing on the prosperous Singapore has begun arming their armies with screwdrivers!

must ask joetys to start supplying screwdrivers to the militaries of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia etc.

since he already supplying screws, supply screwdrivers no problem mah. :D

[video=youtube;ysvfQNhPfeQ]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysvfQNhPfeQ&feature=related[/video]

this one should be more suitable.

but unfortunately these bunch of people have already forgotten the core values that they are supposed to uphold.

This episode confirms that NS is all wayang. Its a smokescreen for the procurement of expensive military gadgets. We all know defence procurements are highly lucrative & rewarding.

The NSF was praised for surrendering his rifle? Lim Beh kena tekan and confinement during my BMT when i "lost" my M16 decades ago. Chee bye!

I lost my bayonet, which was suposedly to be clipped tight to my SBO ( not the $8 cow SBO), in Amakeng ( not Ang mo kio), luckily I remember which tree, my unimog was last parked, it was hanging on to a low branch...boy! I sweated like mad!. I should have told my CO that, a man with a screw driver, stole my bayonet..why didn't I think of it. My CO would have commended me with a 30 days stay in Detention!:D