• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

So SIngtel throw treat for siporean, what after 1 year?

Naturefarm2

Seem that all singaporean company follow the golden rule and will miss led for the customer...

1. tell u nice story
2. increase the price
3. let you complaint
4. increase after 1 year
5. repeat from point 1

SingTel charges just S$23 for all EPL games on mio TV
By Patwant Singh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 10 October 2009 1535 hrs

Related News

• SingTel should provide clarity on pricing of its sports packages: MDA

• MDA considering intervention in local pay TV market

• SingTel, Starhub submit bids for rights to broadcast EPL matches

SingTel charges just S$23 for all EPL games on mio TV

SINGAPORE: SingTel unveiled on Saturday football fans need to pay just S$23 to watch the Barclays English Premier League (EPL) on mio TV starting next year.

The telco on October 1 announced it had won the rights to the popular EPL for three years, starting from the 2010 season, after out-bidding rivals StarHub.

Fans had earlier expressed reservations it could cost more to switch from the current provider to SingTel.

However, the company has slashed the price by some 60 per cent from the current S$53 charged by StarHub.

StarHub's S$53 charge comprises S$24 for a basic package, S$25 for the sports package and S$4 for rental of the set-top box.

To catch EPL on mio TV, subscribers will only pay S$23, which covers all 380 Premier League Games, and comes inclusive of a set-top box and without the need for a basic plan.

Subscribers who sign up for a year will get the UEFA Champions League for free.

Said Allen Lew, chief executive officer of SingTel: "We have a total sports package that will be sold at S$25, again unbundled and that S$25 would include the Barclay's Premier League, ESPN, Star Sports and ESS News, which is a new 24-hour (sports) news channel."

SingTel said it is rolling out the pricing now because of media feedback, and it plans to monetise its huge investment with innovative content on various platforms.

Pricing for multi-media channels will be announced later.

SingTel also said pricing for non-household users such as pubs and hotels will also be competitive.

The telco said technology will also be enhanced to make the connection in homes more user-friendly and seamless with two set-top boxes.
This will be done by bringing in audio-visual experts to fine-tune the system.

SingTel is confident the lower pricing will attract existing pay-TV customers, and even those who currently do not use such services.

SingTel said it was under no pressure from the authorities to come up with its current pricing strategy.

However, the prices will be maintained for only one season until May 2011, after which they will be reviewed.

The company added that all households will be able to receive the channel by July next year

Actually if you count properly, SingTel do charge higher than SH, they charging $25 for BPL and Champions League only, the rest of the sports like Golf, Tennis etc etc, you have to pay additional $24.

No doubt its a so so news to soccer fans, but in general, SingTel still charge higher.

After 1 year? they will be charging higher lah of cox, faster speed internet will be the main reason :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

In this age of mobile phones, I believe that many households have terminated their fixed residential phone lines (including me and some of my relatives and friends). I believe that MIO TV requires a fixed residential phone line.

Another problem is for the pubs and coffeeshops counting on business from football fans. They have to subscribe or be out of the market.

I'm one of those NOT interested in MIO.

I just want decent internet connection, without any TV or phone services.

Is this too much to ask from our highly paid Superpowered GLCs :confused:

alvin36

Actually if you count properly, SingTel do charge higher than SH, they charging $25 for BPL and Champions League only, the rest of the sports like Golf, Tennis etc etc, you have to pay additional $24.

No doubt its a so so news to soccer fans, but in general, SingTel still charge higher.

After 1 year? they will be charging higher lah of cox, faster speed internet will be the main reason :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

KNN.. sickening.. the comparison they made is a joke.
SH sport package is not just about BPL, there is alot of other sports too.

How can Singtel just compare BPL price ?
trying to con kids ??

hairylee

However, the prices will be maintained for only one season until May 2011, after which they will be reviewed.

Bastard business practice. Once you subcribed you are at their mercy.

ahleebabasingaporethief

The AhLun CEO very yaya looking.

Fuck him if he thinks I am stupid enough to subscribe.

It's a FUCKING TRAP. They WILL RAISE PRICES after one year.

Watchman

Stay at home more if nothing don't roam the streets .

All enforcements agents are working harder than before !

roaringlion

Get your facts right! Additional ESPN, Star Sports and ESS News cost just $2 extra if you already subscribed to BPL.

roaringlion

For those who hated Singtel Mio to the core, there is nothing that Singtel can do to pleased you, even if they offer BPL for free, you would still doubt their intention. Whatever happen after 1 year, let's reserve our critics till then. If they raise prices after a year, shame on them.

This is certainly good news for BPL fans who do not wish to pay any bit more for any "basic" packages that they do not need.

If you want BPL, pure and simple, get Mio with BPL and pay just $23++.

If you want ESPN + Start Sports + ESS News, pay $2 more with Mio.

If you want other packages from StarHub, get the StarHub Box, pay for basic packages + pay for the package you want.

The only shortfall (IMHO) is that there is a certain market segment that has to get multiple cable box. :-(

For those who hated Singtel Mio to the core, there is nothing that Singtel can do to pleased you, even if they offer BPL for free, you would still doubt their intention. Whatever happen after 1 year, let's reserve our critics till then. If they raise prices after a year, shame on them.

....(

:p:p:p

For those who think GLCs will improve, dream on. :smile:

Singtel is a GLC & eventually they will increase their prices. Only have to look at past practises of all GLCs. This is what happens when you have monopolies. In this case there is no true competition between Singtel & Starhub. If you doubt this just look at the high pricee.

Starhub used to have various packages which they have dscontinued. In other words it now costs more.

Singtel broadband prices have been creeping up and service reliability is down. While Starhib prices have remained high.

Compare Sing prices to the Astro prices in Malaysia & you'll notice its cheaper. However Satellites are illegal in Spore. Most Sporean households can't even receive free Malaysian channels because HDB removed the TV antennas:eek:

Naturefarm2

Well, since Goverment had % share in both company, i think this is just another business plan in a master plan few years back.
first as Starhub is new in the market while singtel is already long in the market, let the new " Subsi" get the share for the cable TV. While they get the maximum customer that signed on over a long contract, its time to passed on. So " HQ " , singtel start to intro new cable TV biz and Starhub had to give way to them. Its just a business plan inside the company. In the end, both get maximum memberships and customer will stop complaint as they think that they will think that singtel price is lower.

if you are starhub, you jollywell know the EPL is the core of your business, will you just let go like that? M1 know what going on and never get involved with it.

alvin36

the singtel mio set top box is free ?

but the question is can we have more than 1 set top box per phone line ?
how can we watch mio tv in bed room and living room ?

the last time i asked singtel, they say only 1 box per line !!

can someone clarify this ? thanks

postnew

sounds familiar:biggrin: is like once you 'vote' for them you are at their mercy.:biggrin: